I’ve finally ordered them.

dsc_0071-4

I looked out the window a few minutes ago and I thought I saw a small aeroplane burning up in the sky. It wasn’t but it was a meteorite that were passing above us in the sky. It looked like it died out just above the mountain but I guess that it must have been much higher up in the sky. I couldn’t hear any sound from it here in the cottage so I don’t think it went out with a bang.

 

dsc_0069-5

dsc_0070-5

dsc_0073-4

I have now ordered my christmas cards. I found one of the two I was looking for yesterday evening and ordered the cards from the place which develop my films. I actually think it was cheaper than last year, odd since this is a much smaller business. So it looks like I will have a chance to get them in time to those living on the other side of the ocean, at least some of them 🙂 I haven’t been too lucky with those cards, lots seems to vanish on their way over the ocean. They could of course get lost here too, our postal service is in chaos and very much of what we mail never reach their destination, bills and packages included. They are actually so bad here now days that I rather use other businesses than our regular postal service.

 

dsc_0061-5

dsc_0075-4
Salmiak.
dsc_0076-4
Sally trying to hide 🙂

The sky is clear and it will be a cold night. The radiator is on in the dog house and the star of advent and the advent candlestick is shining in my windows. My little plastic christmas tree is ready to be lit, it looks a bit sad at the moment because a certain puppy found it so interesting that he had to chew on it for a while. A quiet puppy is always up to something 🙂 My favorite radio channel only plays christmas songs now which is very unusual in this country, normally all channels won’t start with them until a day or two before christmas eve. So on my way to and from work I’ve heard christmas songs from the 50’s to early 2000 and I like it 🙂

 

Taken with the Ambi Silette at the pilgrimage.
Taken with the Ambi Silette at the pilgrimage.

a20113_026

a20113_027

It is time to pour a glass of milk and bring a few gingerbread and to sit down in front of the tv to doze off for a while 🙂

Have a great day!

 

a20113_024

a20113_028

a20113_029

10 thoughts on “I’ve finally ordered them.

  1. Hi Christer! I bet you were surprised when you saw the thing in the sky burning! It would have taken me a minute for sure to establish what it was. I am glad it was a meteorite and nothing else!

    I have given up on sending cards this year. From your last post about them to this one I completely forgot again…..its too late now. Our post office is ridiculous too. Things get lost, get delivered wrong, etc, etc. Its all very ridiculous not to mention the prices they charge!!!! Highway robbery!

    I play music through my computer at work – for the past few days there have been carols softly playing in the background 🙂 Quite pleasant to be sure! But once Boxing Day hits I am so over them!! 🙂

    I hope your gingerbread and milk was good – as well as the doze in front of the TV 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Yes I really was and especially since I thought it was a small plane 🙂 We have a tiny airport on the other side of the mountain so a small plane was my first guess 🙂

      My cards came today! and I got a bit surprised when I looked at them 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ll tell You in todays post why 🙂

      They are really bad at playing christmas music on our radio stations so I was pleasant surprised that this station will only play christmas songs until christmas eve 🙂

      Gingerbread and milk is always good 🙂 The dozing wasn’t bad either 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    Better that it was a meteor and not a burning plane.
    I saw a meteor a few years ago. It went across the sky quietly and smoothly and in a very un-aeroplane-like manner. And then it was gone. Pffft. 🙂

    You inspired me to go through my photo library and find one for my xmas card. I found one but now I think I already did it last year or the year before. Too bad. It was cute. I’ll continue to look.

    Of course Sally is hidden. She’s behind a bush. 🙂

    Yesterday I spent 15 minutes outside in the cold winding a string of solar lights around my newly delivered Christmas wreath. I hung it on the very sunny, south-facing door where it could get all the sun it needed. Come nightfall, no lights. I did think, while winding, that I should charge the string first to see if it worked. But I didn’t.
    Yesterday was partly cloudy but today has been very sunny all day long. Maybe I’ll wait until tomorrow before I rip the thing apart.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      So true!
      This one probably flew very fast but it didn’t look like it. I have no idea how a burning plane would fly but I must have figured since there is a tiny airport on the other side of the mountain the pilot must have tried to fly as straight as possible to get there. As You say, suddenly it just was gone 🙂

      I got my cards today and I was rather surprised when I looked at them 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ll tell You what in todays post 🙂

      That is so annoying and I think I just would tossed it all away in anger 🙂 🙂 If I buy new things I would most likely find out that I had forgotten to turn on a switch or something like that 🙂 🙂 I hope the next string works!

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. These weren’t new strings of lights. I’ve had them for a couple of years but didn’t use them so they were in the box all that time. I guess they died from lack of sun. 🙂 The individual lights are shaped like little pale purple flowers so it looks fine even if they don’t light up.

        Like

  3. Den första bilden var jättesnygg! Fast det var inget fel på dom andra heller….. 🙂
    Igår beställde jag också julkort, blev faktiskt något helt annat än jag tänkt mig från början – men det var bara kul. Mina blev också MYCKET billigare än förra året, det hade något med Black Friday att göra. Folk klagar över att vi tar över så många saker från USA, men just det här med billig fredag (+ några dagar till) tycker jag är rätt bra. Köpte nämligen ett HP-dator för näsan halva priset förra året!
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Gillar den också, så den fick sitta först 🙂

      Jag fick mina kort idag och blev redigt överraskad när jag såg dem 🙂 🙂 🙂 Berättar i dagen post vad som blev lite fel 🙂

      Jag tror inte att de hade lägre pris, för jag kunde fylla i en rabattkod om jag hade någon. Det ända som egentligen är dumt med dessa readagar är ju att många små företag kan drabbas illa eftersom ingen köper till fullpris till jul. Annars får de gärna rea hur mycket som helst 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    When I lived in Ghana, there were so many stars I saw at least one meteor every night. During the dry season, I’d sleep in the backyard and the night was so bright with stars I could have read by them.

    My outside lights would be up and lit now except for the rain. It is a bit difficult to get them strung when it is so chilly and damp. I also have to buy my wreaths for the gate and the fence. I’ll probably get my tree this weekend.

    I always buy Edward Gorey cards. He was a marvelous illustrator with the most amazing view of the world. He lived in Yarmouth and his house is open to the public.

    The snow is pretty but even prettier because it is there, not here.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      It is so dark here too that I can see one every night but this one was really big, that’s why I thought it was a small plane. Even if it is dark around the house it is even darker in the forest and it is amazing how many more stars I can see there!

      I’m late with the lights too and I can’t blame any rain 🙂 On the other hand, I was early with the indoors things instead 🙂 I have my small tree in the livingroom now but since Orvar isn’t around I might buy a bigger plastic one for next year so I can use all the decorations I have in an old suitcase.

      I do like Edward Gorey’s drawings! He was one of a kind!

      I prefer the snow in photographs as well 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

