We didn’t reach it.

dsc_0025-13

It’s Advent first and the Jul season has started (Jul is our word for christmas). The hope for longer days has started to glow in my mind and that’s always nice 🙂 Today might not be a long day but it has mostly been sunny and very, very windy. Thankfully the wind blows from north so I don’t notice it much here by the cottage. It is a bit chilly too and it looks like we’re going to have a few days with below 0C (32F) next week. I don’t mind as long as it doesn’t snow 🙂

 

dsc_0026-13

dsc_0027-12

dsc_0029-13

dsc_0030-14

I had planned on walking to the lake in the bog today but we never reached it. There are plenty of smaller wooden bridges that can be used to pass the creek but most are in ver bad shape. One is made from several Birch trunks and that one works really good for me but the dogs have huge problems with it. There are open spaces between the trunks and it looks like the dogs can’t understand that it is impossible to walk between the trunks. They just get stuck and risk breaking a leg if they panic half way over.

 

I like how the moss sort of glows in the morning light.
I like how the moss sort of glows in the morning light.

dsc_0032-14

Small spruces are now hiding most of the badger/ fox burrow.
Small spruces are now hiding most of the badger/ fox burrow.
The white trunks You can see over the creek is where I can pass but not the dogs.
The white trunks You can see over the creek is where I can pass but not the dogs.

Then we have the one we used to walk over but it is now so rotten that I don’t dare using it and when Nova tried to walk across it it started to wobble so bad that she just backed back. There is however one that seems to work for us all but I couldn’t find it today (I did on our way back home though), I had walked further in to the forest than usual because I tought the ground closer to the creek would be too swampy, it wasn’t but since we already were almost half way home I just skipped it. Now I know better till next time. We were out for more than two hours even if we didn’t reach the lake.

 

dsc_0037-12

dsc_0038-11

dsc_0041-11

Here is one bridge that none of us dare to use :-)
Here is one bridge that none of us dare to use 🙂

This is the time of Year when our beings are out and about a lot, days are short and nights long so they do have a lot of time to walk around undisturbed. From what I have read none of our beings die if they are hit by sunlight like trolls in other parts of the world, so my guess is that they still are out a lot the rest of the year as well but perhaps in less populated areas 🙂 It is always best to stay out of their way because they can punish us badly if they get annoyed at us. If one on the other hand can help them with something the reward usually is very big. It is always a good thing to bring some silver in ones pockets that one can give to them, they do like their silver 🙂

 

This is the one the dogs can use but not I.
This is the one the dogs can use but not I.

dsc_0047-11

dsc_0048-10

dsc_0053-8

If one is out of silver, that can of course happen to the best of us 🙂 steel is a good thing to bring instead because it seems they can’t stand it, I guess it’s like a really bad allergy for them. I’m at the moment out of silver so I think the steel knife I always have in my pocket (besides angry beings a knife can be very useful if anything happens while walking in the forest or a bog and something happens) do keep them on a safe distance 🙂 A friend of mine gave me a text about a being in this area, the lake where all the cranes rest and I’ll translate it (it is in an old dialect so it isn’t the easiest thing to do 🙂 ) and write it here some time during this month.

 

dsc_0062-5

dsc_0063-5

We walked back to our usual spot by the bog instead and Sune took the chance to take a bath :-)
We walked back to our usual spot by the bog instead and Sune took the chance to take a bath 🙂

dsc_0067-5

All animals are sleeping and Albin sleeps close to the radiator here in the kitchen. He has unfortunately eaten some apples today and good knows what else he ate in the forest, so he farts something really nasty and the heat from the radiator helps to spread it fast here in the kitchen 🙂

 

Three photos taken with the Zeiss Ikon Ikonta 531.
Three photos taken with the Zeiss Ikon Ikonta 531. Not a busy Saturday morning.
This is a vintage shop in Falköping, they were just about to put out some of the things they were selling. No they didn't sell the old lady :-) she was just like I curious to what they were placing outside the shop.
This is a vintage shop in Falköping, they were just about to put out some of the things they were selling. No they didn’t sell the old lady 🙂 she was just like I curious to what they were placing outside the shop.

a20115_012

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “We didn’t reach it.

  1. Hi Christer,
    That last photo has got to be the weirdest push chair I have ever seen.
    I have to stay out of junk shops. I’m attracted to other people’s stuff like a magpie to shiny objects. In my very much younger days I used to frequent the town dump and I picked up all kinds of interesting cast-off things that I was able to rehab and use. Later on, when I had a truck, I would find cool furniture on the side of the road that people were putting out for Big Trash Day Collection. I’d fix and refinish them and give them away to friends that were in need of a settee or table. Even now, I’m always seeing things that I could fix or refinish and my fingers start to twitch. 🙂 Then I thank my stars that I drive a Jeep Wrangler and there’s no room for anything except me and my dogs. 🙂 🙂

    I love the photo of the reflections in the creek. What’s the orange blob? Sun on trees?

    Farty Albin and the Warm Stove. 😀 😀 😀

    It’s finally sunny here but it’s not warm. There’s a strong breeze so the wind chill is cold.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I’ve never seen anything like it either, very odd 🙂 It must have been made for a toddler I guess but why?

      I’ve never touched anything outside a store if I didn’t know where it came from, I think my mother was very successful in brain washing me that way :-)Rats, germs and deadly diseases was used to keep me away from them 🙂 Even today I have problems buying things in second hand stores because of that and the fact that bedbugs now days spread like insane vis those stores 🙂 The odd thing is that I don’t see it that way when it comes tocameras 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is the sun shining on trees and I think it is a yellowish spruce or perhaps a Siberian larch. The larch isn’t indigenous in this country so it would be surprising to see it inthe nature reserve since they tend to cut down trees which aren’t.

      That could be a really good title for a childrens book 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Still blowing hard here and it is kind of nasty outside now, temperature is dropping so I do hope the wind will calm down soon.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Christer,
    Gracie would not have walked over those trucks either. Dogs are afraid of open stairs except Gracie will go down the open deck stairs but not the ones to the cellar which are actually the same.

    I used to take Maggie on a trail near the water, but she never ran from me. Gracie makes me nervous but not as much as she did. Her run away urges seem to have lessened over time.

    I love shopping in junk stores. Sometimes I get lucky and find the most wonderful stuff. Other times I am disappointed by what the stores have.

    I hope you have a good Monday!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      They do have problems with that, I guess they can’t see that there are holes between the trunks, it probably look just like a dark surface between the white trunks. Too bad the bridges aren’t closer because then I could let them walk over the one that fit them be´st.

      The dogs always stay close when we’re out walking but it has been a totally different thing when we have been at home 🙂 I think all my dogs have taken walks to visit neighbors every now and again and thankfully they have always been welcome and gotten lots of treats 🙂 Orvar usually visited every horse he could find here and they all seemed to like him back 🙂

      I do like to walk around in those stores but my mother did a god job in brainwashing me. As soon as I see something I like I usually never buy it, I strt to think of diseases and bedbugs 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Det där med “hundsläppar” har vi haft lite problem med sista dagarna eftersom Santos blev dålig i magen för ett tag sen. Det började med att han kräktes – ordentligt – en kväll, sen på natten väckte han mig (som tur var) genom att hysteriskt slicka mig i ansikten och gnälla samtidigt. Så det var bara att rusa upp och släppa ut honom och då hade han en hemsk diarre.
    Efter en halvtimme trodde jag det var över för Santos somnade men jag hann precis bara somna så var det dags igen och då kräktes han också. Som tur var så drack han massor av vatten efter både sejourerna. Efter det så har han fått ta det lite lugnt med mat, men släppa sig har han lyckas med ändå. *fniss*

    Här har vi haft en förskräckligt väder. Igår kväll blev vi nästan insnöade så när Santos skulle ut och kissa sista gången, så vände han i dörren. Det snöade på tvären och blåste så hemskt så jag såg inte var han tog vägen trots ficklampa, utan stod och ropade i dörren på honom – tills jag hörde nåt bakom mig. Han hade aldrig gått ut…..
    Så jag fick vänta en timme till, då tvingade jag ut honom på tomten och han gick 5 steg, kissade och sprang tillbaka in. Det var alltså ett jäkla “hundväder” och idag är det 2-3 dm snö överallt. Usch! Men då är det husses tur att gå ut ….. *fniss*

    KRAM – Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Albin har det ju visat sig är mat allergiker så när han äter något han inte tål, vilket verkar vara det mesta, sätter han igång och fjärtar redigt illa. Han älskar att äta äpplen men han blir så fruktansvärt dålig i magen av dem. Han har trevlig andedräkt men fjärtar illa 🙂

      Ingen snö här, bara redig blåst och på natten blev det -6. Det verkar gå åt det hållet igen fast utan vind.Bara jag slipper snö är jag glad 🙂 Ingen av hundarna verkar bry sig om kylan heller och de två äldre gillar snö men Albin reagerar inte direkt på den alls 🙂 Regn däremot är han inte glad i.

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Hi Christer! I too am thinking of longer days. We don’t see a change with that until the end of January. We have a bit of way to go 🙂 🙂

    Good thing to always carry something with you when you are out in the forest. You never know if you will need to fix or cut something. Plus its a bonus against all beings that wander the forest 🙂

    Great pictures of the forest!!! Forest bathing is my favorite thing to do nowadays! 🙂

    We are raining and snowing today. It was slippery out and terrible driving. Apparently its only going to get worse. 😦

    Have a good Monday!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      It takes a bit longer before I notce any bigger difference here but after that we’ll pass You and suddenly we have daylight all day long 🙂

      One never knows when one needs a knife out there and if it helsp against angry beings who can complain 🙂 🙂 So You like to bathe in the forest? I rather stay dry but Sune loves it 🙂 He knows he is allowed to bathe in that creek because the water is always clean and rust free in it. It is worse when he decides to bathe in muddy and rusty water, he really smells nasty after that 🙂

      Sunshine all day here and a bit chilly, they say it will be like that the entire week 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Christer,
    I don’t take Gracie into the woods. I could take my other dogs as they stayed only a bit ahead of me and kept checking to see where I was. Gracie just takes off, but she may be better now because she doesn’t try to sneak behind me at the front door to escape. The other day her collar came off and she didn’t run. It only took 12 years for her to behave.

    I love vintage stores. When I was in Iceland, I even shopped at a few there. Around here the vintage shops are expensive as they price for tourists, not people who live here. There used to be some vintage shops near my mother, and I loved shopping there. The prices were all within my range.

    It was 50˚ today but the dampness made it feel colder. I was lucky as the rain held off until I drove up to my house.

    It still gets dark too early. I can hardly wait until the days start to get longer again.

    Enjoy your evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      We have nowhere else to go 🙂 Nova was like that in the beginning but she seems to have understood that since none of the others did like that they always were unleashed so she stopped and has always been close since then. She was close that evening too even if I couldn’t see her in the dark 🙂

      I like going in to those stores but as soon as I do my mothers braiwashing of me sets in and I only look. It is odd that I never think like that when it comes to cameras 🙂 That I can buy from total strangers without a doubt 🙂 Most vintage stores here are cheap since this isn’t a place tourists goes to.

      Just above on my way home but it will drop from now on.

      Is it the 21st or 22nd? I’ve been longing for that day since early November.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

