All he did was to eat some apples.

This is how it looked here last Sunday afternoon.
This is how it looked here last Sunday afternoon.

Albin was even worse than usual last night, he wasn’t quiet even for a second. Finally I gave up and let him out at around 1am, I thought perhaps he had some stomach ache. Turns out he’s just very bored, the only thing he did when going out was to go to the apple tree and eat some apples πŸ™‚ He is used to walks that are around an hour and a half long and to be able to walk as he please, so the walks when I come home after work now are so boring to him that he has all this energy left in his body that he doesn’t know what to do with.

 

This is how it looks here now.
This is how it looks here now.

dsc_0030-7

dsc_0031-7

dsc_0032-6

I’m not sure how to solve this but I really must if I want to be able to sleep a full night again before spring arrives πŸ™‚ So the first thing we did as soon as I had come home from work was to take a really long walk even though I had preferred to just go to sleep since I didn’t do much of that during the night. It was quite nice to be honest, we walked mostly where the wind couldn’t reach us and the rain had stopped falling as well. We’ve had plenty of rain this week so I could see that the water level in the creek had risen rather much now. Albin ran around like crazy and he so enjoyed this walk, his talking all the time is charming but it is also very annoying when it happens during night πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0033-5

dsc_0034-7

dsc_0035-6

dsc_0036-6

I’m boiling lots of chicken right now, well chicken breast filets Β to be honest because I just don’t have the energy to remove all bones from an entire chicken right now. His stomach seems fine now and he has no eczema any longer so I started to pour in some sunflower seed oil in his food. I can count his ribs if I look on him from above. If I don’t see any reaction to it I’ll keep on doing that but if I do see anything I’ll have to try another kind. I long for the day when I know exactly what to give him, I’m not sure I ever want to eat chicken again πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0039-7

dsc_0040-6

dsc_0041-6

dsc_0042-6

It is time to make myself something to eat and I think warm sandwiches would be the right thing today. I’ll bring out the old electric grill, I think it use more energy than all my radiators together πŸ™‚ but it doesn’t take long to heat up those sandwiches πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0043-4

dsc_0045-4

dsc_0047-6

dsc_0048-5

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “All he did was to eat some apples.

    1. Hi Cindi!

      Last night it did feel tempting to end his short life πŸ™‚

      After I wrote the post we all felΓΆl asleep on the sofa for an hour so I guess we all will be awake all night now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  1. Hi Christer! Oh the joys of puppyhood! πŸ™‚ I think once he gets a bit more meat on him and he gets a bit older things will balance out. I remember as a young teenager we got our first black labrador (have had them ever since!) and he just would not sleep during the night. Luckily it was summer when we got him so I would sleep outside with him with my blanket and pillow and he was a happy boy! πŸ™‚ I don’t think doing that now would be such a good idea.

    This weekend sees me at work for a workshop all day tomorrow so Sunday is my only free day. 😦 Today after work I am going for a hair cut and that’s the weekend. Before you know it it will be Monday.

    Have a good Saturday!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Yes the joys πŸ™‚

      This is one of the reasons I don’t like this time of year, it gets dark so early and it is impossible to let him walk without a leash in the darkness. He usually walks beside me or Sune but so many animals walk around in the dark and I think he would find it really funny to follow them instead of us πŸ™‚ He has all this energy and is used to long walks so when we can’t walk for so long he must get rid of the energy somehow and I have to pay the prise with not sleeping at night πŸ™‚
      It would be a bit chilly to sleep outdoors now, especially since the wind is really strong and it rains πŸ™‚

      Weekends pass too quickly, especially if one has to be at work one of the days!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    He’s a growing boy with lots of energy to burn off. Good luck. πŸ™‚
    My old dog Tegan spent most of her life having way more energy than was always convenient for me. She needed 2 miles per walk and preferably much more. When she got too twitchy and we couldn’t go for a long walk, I’d take her outside in the yard and blow soap bubbles for her to chase. It was best on a windy day because the bubbles flew farther and faster but any amount of running around was enough. πŸ™‚

    Do you make a bunch of Albin meals at once and freeze some? When I had to do a special diet for one of my cats, I ground up the meat and mixed in the other things I had to add and then froze it in serving sizes. It was a pain.

    Glad you have lost the white stuff for the moment.
    It’s sunny and warmish here. I threw down some more grass seed yesterday. The birds will probably get a lot of it. But some of the stuff I threw down before is growing so who knows? I have a giant bag of fine fescue seed so I may as well.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Yes he is and he has and I’ll probably not sleep well until spring πŸ™‚ Well I have this one week before cxhriatmas when he will be neutered and I’ll be at home for a week, that might be what saves me πŸ™‚

      The bubbles aren’t a bad idea at all but it is dark when I come home so he won’t see them πŸ™‚ and if I had done it today he would have had to run like crazy since the winds blow really hard πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I boil just enough for a coiple of days, so I’ll need to do it again on Monday evening I think. I decided I wouldn’t doo to much now in the beginning until I knew if he could eat chicken. I also boil rice enough for a couple of days.

      I don’t mind at all that the white garbage is gone πŸ™‚ but winter is still just a toddler.

      Strong winds and lots of rain right now I would gladely have Your weather.
      I hope the birds doesn’t eat too much of the seeds πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    Puppies have boundless energy. Maybe once he starts to fill out he won’t need or crave as much exercise. I know you can’t ignore the bells just in case he really has to go out. Gracie does that to me. She really wants a treat so she rings the bells to get my attention. She knows how to get to me.

    I don’t think Gracie would eat apples. I let her sniff a slice a couple of times but she wasn’t tempted to taste it. She also doesn’t like peas.

    Gracie does prefer the cold to the heat. It has mostly to do with her breed.

    Enjoy your evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      They sure have πŸ™‚ but I guess it’ll take a year or so until he calmes down. As soon as the days get longer we will have time to go on long walks after work and then he’ll sleep all night again πŸ™‚ Albin doesn’t get any treat when he use the bells, going out is the treat he’ll get πŸ™‚

      All my dogs have loved apples and all have farted really badly when they’ve eaten a few πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure what Albin prefers, he does like to be outside in the cold but loves to sleep close t a radiator when he’s indoors πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

