Winter has started no matter if we like it or not.

Taken yseterday when the strong winds began.
Taken yesterday when the strong winds began.

I think the wind has calmed down some and also changed directions now coming from north instead of east. Makes it much nicer indoors on the east side of the cottage. I’m not used to having the wind hitting my cottage so it always feel so much colder here when it does. The thermometer on the other hand says it isn’t colder at all ๐Ÿ™‚

 

When it all started.
When it all started.

dsc_0035-2

dsc_0041-2

dsc_0046-1

It has snowed all night and it still does but we didn’t get as much as they thought we might. I guess there is around 5-10cm (2-4 inches) of snow on the ground, the flakes falling now are tiny so even if it will continue to fall all day (and the flakes stays the same size) it won’t be that much more on the ground in the end.

 

This morning.
This morning.
Yes it is postcard pretty but I really don't like it.
Yes it is postcard pretty but I really don’t like it.

dsc_0066-2

dsc_0067-2

We walked out to the bog this morning and as long as we were out of winds reach it actually was quite nice out there. It isn’t that cold, just a degree or so below freezing point and it will stay like this for a while so the snow will stay too. Even I must admit that it looks pretty out there but that doesn’t mean I like it. Driving to work tomorrow will be no fun at all.

 

dsc_0068-2

dsc_0069-2

dsc_0070-2

dsc_0071-2

I was a bit worried that Albin easily would be cold in this weather but I don’t think I have to worry about that at all. He has been outside playing with Sune for quite some time and he wants to go outside again but only if Sune follows him ๐Ÿ™‚ I do hope he understands when he needs to go inside because his ears are really thin and they were freezing cold when he just came in. No problems now but during the time I’m at work. I do hope he goes inside the doghouse when it starts to get really cold.

 

Not often I see him run after us like this :-)
Not often I see him run after us like this ๐Ÿ™‚

dsc_0074-2

dsc_0075-2

dsc_0076-2

Today will be a day filled with rose-hip soup. I would have liked to say that it also would be filled with hot cocoa but I’m out of cocoa today. I guess we’ll take several walks too since the weather doesn’t bother any of the dogs (or cats for that matter. Bertil followed us on our walk this morning). I do hope that the weather sites are wrong about next week and that it instead will be warm and nice ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0079-2

dsc_0080-2

dsc_0081-2

dsc_0083-1

Have a great day!

 

dsc_0112

12 thoughts on “Winter has started no matter if we like it or not.

    1. Hi Laurie!

      I’m not either but here it is ๐Ÿ™‚ I just had to clean my car from thick ice today so I can go to work tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  1. Hi Christer,
    Wow. It blew his ears right back. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Actually, as I was scrolling down from the Winter title, all I saw was black and white and thought “OMG, he’s got penguins!” But no. Albin. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m not enamored of the wintry scenes. Too soon. They are predicting very cold weather for us next weekend and maybe even some snow. No accumulation but still…

    I had to look closely to see if those last photos (right before Bertil) were color or black and white. There are a couple that I still can’t tell which they are. It was a grey day, I guess.

    Today is cloudy with a peek of sun here and there. It rained earlier. It’s not really cold but it’s damp so it feels cold.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I actually would have liked winter if we did have penguins ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      It has blown really hard here and I just laugfhed when I saw his ears like that ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think I would have liked snowy photos if I hadn’t had the garbage here ๐Ÿ™‚ This is however quite normal to get some snow now but it’s isn’t that long staying mostly. Well I think it was six years ago when winter started in late October and stayed untl late April. I really hope this isn’t a winter like that!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Only color photographs today, it is odd how colors just seems to die when snow comes. I think it has to do from what angle the light comes toward the camera because some photos do show colors even if they are taken the same day.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Today has turned even darker and colder. A Boy Scout selling Xmas wreaths came to the door and mentioned that it had hailed only a few minutes before. I missed it. Probably thought it was more walnuts falling on the roof. ๐Ÿ™‚
        I has snowed here in October. Apparently 2 years ago and 5 years ago it snowed a fair amount for the end of October and early November. I took photographs. They’ve been popping up in Google’s This Day and Facebook’s Memories for the last week or so. I’m not sure I want to be reminded. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

  2. Hi Christer!! OMG Albin’s ears!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I laughed hard when I saw that – and then when I read it was really windy. That’s just so funny.

    We reached 18 on Saturday and yesterday was about the same but it was super windy so it didn’t seem as warm. Today is right up there too but windy again. It is supposed to be like this all week – not as warm but for November on the middle of the Canadian prairies this is not too shabby!!!! We could be having 4 feet of snow and -20! ๐Ÿ™‚ I shan’t complain.

    I hope your Monday went well enough. Almost time for me to go home!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      They are actually a bit pig like those ears ๐Ÿ™‚

      I wouldn’t mind if we too got it that warm, most of us are already tiredf of the winter iand it just started ๐Ÿ™‚
      Most people don’t remember far back but snow tis time of year is pretty normal, I really need to move to some place warmer ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    I find once winter rears its ugly head it is difficult to get rid of him. Your snow pictures really are lovely, but it is snow!!

    Poor Albin with those big ears of his. Gracie has a coat as she has so little body hair. It is white wool with two stripes. It resembles a Pendleton blanket which is rather expensive if you get a true sized one.

    I do not want snow. Luckily, though, I just wait until my path gets shoveled and my car is out. I watch out the window. The worst is when my back door won’t open or the stairs are covered so Gracie can’t get into the yard.

    Have a wonderful evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      According to weather predictions it will get warm and rainy next week, quite normal here but I’m not sure that’s any better ๐Ÿ™‚

      Gracie and Albin have the same kind of fur, very short and on teh stomach even shorter, more or less just fuzz ๐Ÿ™‚ but he doesn’t seem to feel cold at all.

      I’m lucky here with the snow because the plow guy usually remove any snow that would make it hard for me to get my car out of my parking place. If he plows while I’m at work he plows the entire space so I don’t have to walk in the snow to get in to my car! Can’t be much better ๐Ÿ™‚ So far I’ve never had any problems opening any of my doors because of snow, they are a bit up from the ground so it would need to fall insanely much ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

