The unpredicted is predicted again :-)

I took this photo onmy way to the mailbox today (all the other photos are older though). Not the nicest of weathers.
I took this photo on my way to the mailbox today (all the other photos are older though). Not the nicest of weathers.

The snow the Swedish weather site unpredicted yesterday seems now predicted again but the Norwegian still says only rain. I do trust the Norwegian more than the Swedish so I hope they are right. Today however have been mostly rainy but it has been misty rain most of the time so I doubt we’ve gotten especially much. It is a weather that doesn’t want You to go outside but rather sit indoors reading a good book or watching a movie.

 

Albin wasn't old here :-)
Albin wasn’t old here πŸ™‚

b-10

b-11

b-12

I felt the smell of a burning candlestick at work the other week and suddenly I was back in school sitting by my bench listening to my teacher reading a book. The teacher I had from grade 4 to grade 6 always read from a book every school day in December. As soon as we had come in to the classroom we sat down lit a small candle we placed on our desks. She turned of the lamps except for a small one she had at her desk and started to read. I especially remember one book she read, it was about a Jewish family hiding during WW2 and it was awfully exiting.

 

a-17

b-1

b-2

While she was reading a chapter or two from the book we all had something to eat, like ginger bread or a bun and I think we all drank a soda we call Julmust. She sometimes managed to read two books during that month if they were the shorter kinds. She was a smart woman because after we had been listening to her and had that gingerbread we all had calmed down and had no problems with starting with what ever was the first subject for the day πŸ™‚

 

i-8

i-9

i-10

There’s nothing good with November. The days just get shorter and shorter and we have no holiday to look forward to. The only good thing this year is that the first of advent is on the 27th. Christmas more or less starts then and it won’t be that long until it turns towards longer days again. The closer to christ,as the better the tv programs get πŸ™‚ and we have Lucia on December 13th, the only catholic saint we Swedes celebrates πŸ™‚

 

j-3

j-4

j-5

It is time for a pot of tea and something to eat I think. All animals are sleeping and I feel I perhaps should take a nap too πŸ™‚

 

a19457_036a

From the Nikon F 401s.
From the Nikon F 401s.

a19457_032a

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “The unpredicted is predicted again :-)

  1. i always loved being read to as a child. i used to read to my kids each day before they left for school. we are going to be almost 80 degrees here today and tomorrow…november 1st! amazing!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      It never happened in my home so I really liked when our teacher read to us and it was heavy subjects she read about too, I can’t remember a funny book at all πŸ™‚

      80! Well I wouldn’t mind some of that heat these coming days πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! Happy 1St of November! Halloween has come and gone and it rained all day and night. We still managed to have 40 kids come to the door. More than last year but not as much as prior years. Now we start thinking Christmas! πŸ™‚

    Today the sun is trying to make an appearance and as the week wears on it will get sunnier and warmer. We will put up our Christmas lights this weekend so I am glad for sun.

    Isn’t the power of smell amazing? Just a quick smell of something can take you back. I just love that!

    I have today off as well to clean up post Halloween. I have a chicken soup in the crockpot so there’s dinner done!

    Have a good day and I hope the snow stays away!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Too early for christmas πŸ™‚ but I think I will too since it will be so dreary here πŸ™‚

      I never took down my christmas lights on the garage wall πŸ™‚ but now I have problems with the electricity, the fuse pops every time I change to a new one, I think it has to do from when wasps nested in my electrical cabinette. I’ll see if I can find the problem myself before calling for someone who actually knows what he’s doing πŸ™‚ I won’t touch anything, just look πŸ™‚

      It is! I realy liked when she read for us so it was a very pleasant memory.

      I had french fries and meatballs today πŸ™‚ Easy to do and the dogs got some of it too of course πŸ™‚

      I do hope that it stays away! I realy don’t want to drive on slippery roads but I guess I must sooner or later since it is that season πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    Albin still isn’t old. πŸ™‚

    Your teacher was indeed very smart. She figured out a great way to get you all settled down and ready to learn. It was also probably a good way to get some of you interested in reading.

    That first photo does look like rotten weather is about to happen to you. Mine was pretty good yesterday. There was enough sun to recharge the solar house numbers. It was cold, though, and the few Halloween trick-or-treaters were bundled up in their costumes. I had two small ones in the same lion costume. I thought it was the same kid twice but it wasn’t. No problem as there weren’t very many kids out. I shut off the porch light at 9PM but I could have done it earlier. Now I have a crapton of candy and those colored finger lights. The finger lights will be useful. For something. Probably. I wonder if I can freeze the candy for next year. πŸ™‚
    Apparently it was cold enough last night to prompt the walnut tree again. Today it is dropping the rest of its crop. They’ve been rumbling off the roof all day and there are still plenty up there.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      True, he’s just so much bigger πŸ™‚

      She was smart and I guess some did start to read after that. I already did since my mother never read to us children. Strange really since she herself always have read a lot.

      I actually saw a few gaps in the clouds showing a blue sky but none was in the right place to give me any sunshine. The clouds did get thicker before it went dark though and I’m hoping rain but no snow πŸ™‚

      Freezing candy doesn’t work I’m afraid πŸ™‚ I forgot some in my car a few wintry days and it sort of melts when it thaws πŸ™‚ Tasted just as good but was very sticky and messy πŸ™‚ Chocolat on the other hand can freeze rather well πŸ™‚

      I have never seen those colored finger light but found them on the net. I guess they can work as mini flashlights πŸ™‚ and so easy it will be to shine towards the sides of You by just bending a finger πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I long for the day I can see and hear walnuts falling down πŸ™‚ I guess it’s just ten or so years left tillthat can happen here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I was using it for a flashlight last night. It fit in my pajama pocket very easily. Only problem is that it is now missing so I guess it also falls out of pockets very easily. I have many dozen more so it’ll take a few months to lose them all. πŸ™‚

        If it gets windy again, maybe I can make a recording for you of walnuts bouncing off the roof. There are still some walnuts up there.

        Like

  4. It’s hard to believe that snow is in your forecast, Christer, after looking at some of these photos. we have not had any here in nashua, NH, although some parts of the state did get a dusting of snow. The temperatures are still rather mild here, and I am not happy about that. I would like some autumn weather because I have already put away most of the short sleeve shirts. The dogs looked like they were having a good time.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      It has been snowing during the night but it has all melted away, most likely as soon as it hit the ground. It’s getting colder though so we might soon have icy roads instead.

      It could have been nice outside anyway but the wind is nasty and Albin refused to go outside until he really had to πŸ™‚
      They predict below 32F from the weekend and at least the beginning of next week, I’m not happy.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Christer,
    Albin is so much bigger now. He is also a great looking dog. I love his fur colors. Gracie has somewhat the same brindle color.

    It is too early for snow. Fall will last longer here to make up for our lack of a spring. North of us will get colder weather sooner. The leaves all change earlier there too. We are usually a few weeks behind their changes in weather.

    I hope that cold you’re getting is nothing like the last time you were sick. I hope this is short lasting.

    Have a great Thursday!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      He is πŸ™‚ His mother is all brindle but he got some whitye too. His nose was almost totally pink when he came here but now there’s just a few spots of pink left.

      It snowed on my way to work today but it melted away as soon as it hit the ground. We’ll most likely get more tomorrow evening they say. This is actually a bit late for us πŸ™‚ We normally get snow in October even though it usually don’t stay for long. Still now people have panic on gettinmg their winter tires on, if the don’t they will get problems if the police stops them. Here we have early autumn and late spring if thge climate behaves like it used to.

      I feel much better today so I hope it doesn’t come back again like the last one did, over and over again! So far so good though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

