So nice.

dsc_0029-16

It’s hard to miss the sun today, it shines from an almost totally cloud free sky. It’s fairly warm and we have a weak wind that neither chill us down or nor warm us up, to be honest it’s a perfect autumn day. Time just flew away at work and unfortunately is does so here at home too 🙂 Too bad days like these can’t be made to last longer 🙂

 

dsc_0031-17

dsc_0032-18

dsc_0033-20

We walked out on the bog as soon as I had come home, I wasn’t sure if we would be able to walk there now after all the rain that have fallen and when I saw that the creeks finally had some water in them I doubted it even more but I was wrong, most of the ground was almost as dry and hard as before. A few places however and I guess those were close to the deep holes that always are hard to see, were quite wet and soft.

 

dsc_0038-17

dsc_0040-19

The ground is always very wet where this grass grows but summer has been unusually dry this year so we could walk there without any problems.
The ground is always very wet where this grass grows but summer has been unusually dry this year so we could walk there without any problems.

There’s an island where we usually walk out on the bog (it is an old lake so only because the water is gone I won’t stop calling it an island) and normally we walk on either side of it. One side is more shadowy with mossy trees and the other is more sunny with the huge open space where old pines grow. Today we walked around it. That was what I tried to do last winter when I got a bit lost and almost ended up on the other side of the bog 🙂 This time I knew where to turn so no risk of getting lost today 🙂

 

dsc_0044-16

dsc_0046-12

dsc_0047-13

It was a bit shorter to walk than I thought but we were still out walking for an hour and a half. I saw absolutely fresh moose tracks and steaming warm moose poop but today I never heard it nor did the dogs. Too bad I couldn’t photograph it out on the bog (from a safe distance 🙂 ) but I hope I’ll be lucky one day. I really like walking out there and even if most leafs now have fallen down no sounds from the outside world can reach us there. Today all we could hear was the wind and some ravens.

 

dsc_0050-9
The forest on the island is mostly very thick and dark.

dsc_0052-9

dsc_0053-9

It is time to make myself a few sandwiches. I’ve beetroot salad, meatballs, prince sausages, tomatoes, ham, blue cheese, regular cheese and  pickled cucumbers, I think I may be able to do something nice from that 🙂 I’ll still have all those things tomorrow plus I’m planning on baking a bread and home-baked bread is always much yummier 🙂

 

dsc_0056-7

dsc_0057-8

dsc_0059-8

Have a great day!

 

This and the next photos is the same one. This with full zoom and the other one without any zoom at all. Next photo shows better how big the bog really is even if it's just a small part of it thet the photo shows.
This and the next photos is the same one. This with full zoom and the other one without any zoom at all. Next photo shows better how big the bog really is even if it’s just a small part of it that the photo shows.

dsc_0062-7

dsc_0064-5

6 thoughts on “So nice.

  1. Hi Christer,
    The bog is lovely. I like how the open side looks so bare even though lots of things are growing there. It must be the gnarly old trees that gives that effect.

    Weather here today was nasty. It was warmer in the morning but still wet. Then the temperature dropped and the wind came up. Rain returned. More leaves fell and more walnuts bounced off the roof. I would think there couldn’t be any more up there but I know there still are. It looks just as bad as it did before the lawn guys vacuumed. The maple tree still has plenty to drop, too.

    I still have some home baked bread left but I think I’m going to have the rest of the shrimp cocktail for supper. Maybe I’ll have a slice of bread and butter to go with that, though. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Yes it must be those trees making it look like that. The hunters says that the trees have started to grow much faster now and are worried that it will start to be a forest out there soon. I’m pretty sure if it will continue to be this dry as it has been this year.

      The lesson to learn from that is don’t start tidying up too early 🙂 It is like me with snow, I won’t so anything until I know it won’t fall any more or I must do something to be able to get out of my home and garden 🙂

      I ws thinking of baking a bread later today, right now I’m just too tired after work 🙂 A warm slice of buttered bread is most likely the best one can eat 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! What a good day for you! And with blue cheese-one of my favorites!!! ☺ We are still under cloud cover and they are not calling for sun before Tuesday. Its a very dreicht week. My grandfather who came over from Scotland would say its dreicht which means dull. ☺

    Off to read today’s post!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I remember the first time I ate a blue cheese, it was one of the stronger kinds. The first tjought that got into my mind was why on earth does anyone eat something tasting like candles smell 🙂 🙂 Later on I tasted another kind and after that I’m stuck on blue cheese, I even like that first one now days 🙂

      The end of this week is and has been fantastic but it will change later next week towards much colder and with snow. Today however is just cold and sunny 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

