Sunny but cold.

dsc_0024-13

When I looked at the weather predictions yesterday they showed cloudy for the rest of the week, am I surprised about the sunny weather we’ve had all day today? ๐Ÿ™‚ An hour ago they showed sunny weather for tomorrow morning, now they say it’ll be sunny in the afternoon. I do hope they’ll get it right when what ever weather we’ll get tomorrow is here ย ๐Ÿ™‚ They did get the temperatures right though but I have no idea if they got the wind right, I never checked that ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0021-11

dsc_0022-11

Yes I ate cat poop but I'm pretending I didn't hear You scoulding me.
Yes I ate cat poop but I’m pretending I didn’t hear You scolding me.

dsc_0026-10

It isn’t especially nice outside even though the sun shines from the sky. We have rather strong winds from east and they hit my cottage too, something I’m not used to so it is actually a bit chilly in here too. I could of course adjust the radiators but I’m hoping the wind will change direction instead ๐Ÿ™‚ I had planned on renovating my fire stove this weekend but the store that sell the special kind of cement I need is only open in the afternoons and while I’m working but on Fridays long after I’ve come home from work. They are also open every second Saturday so I’ll have to wait another week to buy what I need. A bit annoying to be honest.

 

dsc_0028-13

dsc_0030-11

dsc_0033-12

dsc_0034-11

The dogs and I met the beekeeper on our walk after work and he said the bog was so dry that it is possible to walk there with normal shoes and he also said no moose flies had been around him, so today we walked out on the bog for the first time since late spring. The trees kept the wind away so it was actually quite nice out there. We didn’t walk far out on the bog though because I don’t know where our hunter’s area stops and other groups area starts. The beekeeper had however walked on the bog all the way from the lake without seeing anyone in the hunting towers. That doesn’t mean that they aren’t out there though.

dsc_0039-9

dsc_0043-9

dsc_0044-9

dsc_0045-7ย 

They say we won’t have frost during the night but if the clouds doesn’t cover the sky we’ll most likely get it. I guess it is futile to hope for fog and even more futile to hope for frost and fog ๐Ÿ™‚ I would get nice photos if it happened though ๐Ÿ™‚ The strong winds will keep on blowing though so it will be cold no matter what happens. So our morning walk will be where trees can give us shelter. I have no idea how ell Albin can take cold weather, he has so short fur that it barely cover his body and I’ve never had a dog with such short fur before. All my other dogs have had fur that would make a polar bear proud ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0047-7

dsc_0048-4

dsc_0049-4

dsc_0051-5

It is time to get something to eat and I’ll have hot cocoa with it, the weather sort of demands that. After that I’ll cover myself with a blanket and sit myself in front of the tv, if they don’t show anything worth watching I can still doze off there ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0056-3

dsc_0059-3

Looking up to me standing in the hunting tower.
Looking up to me standing in the hunting tower.

dsc_0062-3

Have a great day!

 

dsc_0066-3

dsc_0067-2

dsc_0068-3

dsc_0069-3

8 thoughts on “Sunny but cold.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Albin might or might not need a coat depending on how he takes the cold. It almost seems like the appearance of the fur doesn’t indicate anything. I have only had one dog that needed a coat and that was Tegan. She was definitely a solar dog. Rocky looks like he should need a coat because his fur looks smooth and fine. But he’s got an undercoat that would make a musk ox proud. He can take the cold unless it is windy. He doesn’t mind wearing a coat on a windy day. Piki Dog looks like he shouldn’t need a coat with his rough, thick-looking fur but he does. There’s not much undercoat to insulate him. He hates wearing a coat and tries to scrape it off but if I put him out without one, he just stands there and shivers.

    Today is sunny and cool with a light breeze. The front door is open and the front porch is very warm. Only Rocky is taking advantage of the giant pools of sun that warm the floor out there.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      His fur is so short that I don’t think that he has an under coat. The fur on his stomach is so short it’s more like dust ๐Ÿ™‚ It is the same around his nose, it’s so short that the pink skin shines through. I think I’ll see if I can find a sweater in his size. If he likes it I might even get Nova to wear one really cold days ๐Ÿ™‚ She looks like she wants to die if I put on a coat ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is pitch black outside yet and I can’t see if it is very cloudy or just a little. The wind blows just as stromng though but has changed directions just a little so it doesn’t feel that chilly in the kitchen now. I would have joined Rocky ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s a smart dog.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Albin is losing the puppy look.

    We only have the odd colored leaf here and there yet although other trees have lost their leaves and the walnuts are falling. I’m waiting until they ALL fall so I won’t get conked on the head. Always leave some for the squirrels though we don’t see many. Today is only going to get to 70 degrees F. I need a couple more 80 degree days to finish a couple small painting projects – supposed to get them next week. Seems we are seldom satisfied with the weather.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      I just read that snow has been falling half way up this country, a bit too close to feel comfortable. I really, really hope we’ll get a warm winter again!

      I do have my little walnut tree but it will take several years more before it will give any nuts. It is these last warm winters that made it possible for it to survive here so I’m not sure if it will be able to survive a normal winter here, all I can do is hope ๐Ÿ™‚

      They say we’re lucky if we reach 44,6F here today and the wind will make it feel even colder I’m afraid. I would be perfectly happy to live in a world with 68F as a constant temperature ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Here I am again ๐Ÿ™‚

    We have been cooler this week too – most of the leaves are now on the ground. I love the first photo – very autumn!!!!

    So I cannot remember if I told you that I ordered a DNA kit for Karma because she was such a mystery to me. Well. We got the results. I must say I am stumped. Picture Nova but larger and thicker across the chest and you get Karma. Mixed in with Albin’s face and there’s Karma. Apparently she’s got one parent who is purebred German Shepherd. Can you believe it!!!! She’s Level 1 GS and Level 5 Doberman Pinscher – Level 1 being the most prominent. I just can even wrap my head around it. Genetics is such a complicated thing – even with my medical background I still can’t really grasp the autosomal explanations!!! I might just get a retest with a different company – just for a second opinion if anything. I look at her and just shake my head – but that’s genetics for you. I thought she would come back 100% Lucifer ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ She’s a bit of a mischief.

    Tomorrow we are heading to a different country. ๐Ÿ™‚ We are going down to the United States to do a bit of a day trip. We are close enough to the US border so it makes for a nice quick trip. A bit of a getaway.

    I shall be back on Sunday to catch up!! Have a lovely Friday evening.

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I’m surprised that the leafs still stucks to the trees because the winds are quite strong.

      Yes You did and what an exiting result! Did any other breeds come up?
      It is amazing what they can find in our genome! Just looking at myself now knowing that I’m both a part Russian and even more Serbian ๐Ÿ™‚ She might be a mischief but then again it is those dogs we tend to remember the most ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Going abroad all the way to the US ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s like when we go to Norway, Denmark or Finland ๐Ÿ™‚ Very much alike but still very different!

      Have a fun trip!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. looks as if albin has finally grown into his halter. and he keeps getting cuter – in your usual shots of him playing with “the other kids,” they always seem happy and having fun. i’ve been on a couple of little day trips the last couple of days. it’s cool, but there’s been lots of sunshine, and the leaves are just getting to their colorful best. it’s a better year than usual for the red maples. and we’re supposed to have a few more warmish days yet this week without rain, so i still have a chance to finish yard work. –suz in ohio/usa

    Like

    1. Hi Suz!

      Yes he has and I have even had to loosen it up a bit. I do have a bigger one waiting for when he’s grown up because the one he has now should be a size too small then.
      They mostly have lots of fun but he can annoy both Nova and Sune sometimes so they sound as if they were trying to kill him ๐Ÿ™‚ Doesn’t stop him though, he just tries o annoy them from another angle ๐Ÿ™‚

      We’ve reache the peak of how colorful the trees will get here, from now on it’s only downhill. I’m surprised that there still are so many leafs on the trees because the winds have been rather strong.
      Mostly cloudy and around 46,4F here for next week. I’m happy as long as it doesn’t snow ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

