It took almost five hours!

dsc_0021-5

I could see some smaller cracks in the clouds when we went out for our morning walk but none of them came even close to the rising sun. It was rather chilly and windy but still quite nice. I guess it helped a lot that not even the moose flies flew around in that weather πŸ™‚ We walked down to the creek and at the end of the field there’s a sheep pasture, the sheep are long gone but all the electric vires are still there even if it looks like they are removing most of them now. I guess they still have some there because the wild hogs dig deep holes all over the field otherwise.

 

dsc_0023-4

dsc_0024-6

dsc_0025-4

dsc_0026-4

Nova just refused to walk on the right side, I guess she was looking forward to find some yummy sheep poop that she could eat. I don’t know how many time I told her not to go there and she just refused to do as I said. I had to grab the harness and pull her the right way and she was pretty p….d at me πŸ™‚ Thankfully none of us is resentful so it was over by the time we came home πŸ™‚ My computer has been acting a bit weird lately so I checked on how it has been updating lately, it has had problems with that before. Turns out it hadn’t at all so I started ordering it to do so manually.

 

dsc_0022-5

dsc_0023-5

dsc_0025-5

dsc_0028-6

It took almost five hours to get it done πŸ™‚ Still there are a few more updates to do but I thought it could wait until tomorrow, who knows how long it will take next time πŸ™‚ It is always the same with my mobile phone, every time it hasn’t downloaded an update it starts to behave odd and sometimes not behave at all πŸ™‚

 

We walked out on the bog, just a short distnace, and it is so dry now that I can walk with normal shoes without getting wet.
We walked out on the bog, just a short distance, and it is so dry now that I can walk with normal shoes without getting wet.

dsc_0030-5

dsc_0031-6

dsc_0032-3

I rarely think back in life but today when I saw all the apples on the ground something clicked in my head. In the block where I grew up we had at least 5 small grocery stores, one of them was the kind where they still had everything behind the counter and the owners were on the other side picking down the groceries from the shelves. They all had, from what I remember everything that might be needed in a home but perhaps just one brand of each item. None of them however had fresh fruit or vegetables.

 

dsc_0037-5

dsc_0038-5

dsc_0039-3

dsc_0040-5

We also had a butcher and a fish monger there. The one I remember best though is the vegetable store, it was very little in the cellar of the apartment building where I lived. I do remember the potatoes and cabbage varieties and I also have a vague memory of tomatoes but best of all I remember all the fruit she sold there. Today we only have the top quality but I remember that she sold several different quality levels of fruit. The top ones were of course most expensive but if an apple for instance had a spot it was sold for a lower price and the bottom was the second-rate fruit, more or less apples that had fallen to the ground and had their injuries.

 

dsc_0043-4

dsc_0044-5

dsc_0045-4

dsc_0046-4

This was a very poor neighborhood but this was back in the days when there was no shame in being poor, especially since all of us were poor πŸ™‚ The second-rate apples were used mostly to make apple cream and apple sauce but if that was what one could afford one just cut away the worst parts of the apple and ate it as it was (from what I can remember it was much the same with pears and bananas even though I doubt anyone did anything else than just eat the banana). I haven’t seen second-rate fruit in a store in a very long time, I doubt that anyone sell that any more even if they are good enough to make jam or marmalade. I don’t think I’ve seen a vegetable store since those days either but I wouldn’t be surprised if they came back again, younger people today are the ones daring to start such a thing again πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0048-2

dsc_0049-3

dsc_0050-2

dsc_0051-4

I have all kinds of quality on my apples in the garden right now so I really should make some apple sauce but that can wait another week or two. <Now I’ll have a cup of tea and then doze off in front of the tv πŸ™‚

 

Here comes eight photographs from the Minolta 7000.
Here comes eight photographs from the Minolta 7000.

a19937_003

a19937_004

a19937_005

Have a great day!

 

To be honest, I really don't like that camera. I can do barely nothing when it comes to adjust the camera manually byt I have to admit it is doing a good job chosing settings itself :-)
To be honest, I really don’t like that camera. I can do barely nothing when it comes to adjust the camera manually but I have to admit it is doing a good job chosing settings itself πŸ™‚

a19937_007

a19937_008

a19937_009

6 thoughts on “It took almost five hours!

  1. Hi Christer,
    It looks a lovely day even so. Nice shots of the dogs playing with each other. Three on a stick isn’t allowed, you know. πŸ™‚
    The Minolta seems to do a very good job on its own. Good thing it needs you to choose its subject matter. πŸ™‚

    I hate updates. I especially hate updates that don’t update and have to be done manually and then take five hours to complete. I’m not doing the latest Mac OS update. It doesn’t have anything I need or desire so it would be pointless.

    When I was a kid we had grocery stores with the usual array of things. They were like grocery stores today but a lot smaller. We also had the small shops. There was a butcher and across the street from that was the shop that sold Italian cheeses and cold cuts. There was a bakery. No vegetable or fruit shops, though. Those were in the regular market or you bought them at farm stands along the side of the road.

    Today is warmish and mostly cloudy but they are thin clouds that let the sun through. It’s my birthday so I’m going out to treat myself with something. I haven’t decided what yet.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It was quite nice with a fleece jacket on, especially since there were no flies around πŸ™‚

      I think they figured that out because it didn’t take long until Nova passed me without the stick πŸ™‚
      It does a good job but I do like to adjust the camera manually. So I don’t like that camera but actually use it quite often πŸ™‚

      The automatic udate has never really worked. Most times I never really understand what the updates are about πŸ™‚ This time however it started to get difficult to get out on the internet, I had to try several times until any of the both ways I know worked. Now it works fine so I guess at least one of those updates was needed πŸ™‚

      We did have bigger stores a few blocks away but these small were quite good and I guess quite expensive too. Most people had very little money so we all could have tabs that we paid off at the end of each month. The bakery were also a few blocks away and there was also a cheese shop (does that exist anywhere now days? ) not far away from home. The man owning it was called Mrs Andersson πŸ™‚ He always had a young man as an employee but they could be changed every now and again, we knew that as long as they worked there they were his present boyfriend πŸ™‚ I don’t think we’ve had farmstands here at all, our rules have always been very complicated and more or less small business hostile when it comes to anything edible.

      Around 46F today so I guess we finally have quite normal temperatures πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I think of you all having fresh food, locally grown at the neighborhood farm, because that’s what I see on New Scandinavian Cooking. Those guys are always pulling fish out of a fjord or getting cheese from the cow next door or buying something that was made out of stuff that was foraged in the forest. Then I remember that they are all cooking in Norway. πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Yes in Norway they do what they can to keep the countryside alive, here they do what they can to kill it. The environmentalists do their best to make the countryside a museum with impossible rules to follow as a farmer.

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! Apple cream sounds delicious and interesting! I have never heard of that so I am going to research this after! I found a woodtick on Tucker Saturday morning!!! So strange since they are usually done by July. It was quite embedded by I did get the whole thing out. He wasn’t happy about that but it was necessary! Like yours he forgave me almost instantly! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I do like it and besides rhubarb cream it’s my favorite. My grandmother was a master in making both πŸ™‚

      I too still fiund ticks on the dogs but they are rathger few now when it has become so cool. I think they give up when the temperature falls below 6C so the tick season shouel soon be over I hope.

      We are lucky to have such forgiving pets πŸ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

