Colder than I thought it would be.

dsc_0022-2

-6C (21,1F) here this morning. I understood that it would be chilly here but not that it would be that cold. Well, now I don’t think I need to start the light down in the cool cellar πŸ™‚ I have brought in my citrus trees because they still looked quite ok but I’ve left the other plants where they are, we’ll have frost again tonight so if they still are alive I’m pretty sure they won’t be tomorrow.

 

dsc_0025-2

Sooty isn't especially black any more, now she just look dirty :-)
Sooty isn’t especially black any more, now she just look dirty πŸ™‚

dsc_0023-1

dsc_0024-3

It is amazing how difficult something can be if one never have done it before, like yesterday when I came home and wanted to remove the roof rack on the car. I looked for all kinds of different ways to loosen them up from the railings but couldn’t find anything. I have two small keys that I used but in the wrong place, turns out that if I open up a special place on the rack I’ll find an Allen key that I could use to get the grip on the rack loose enough to get it off the roof πŸ™‚ Today my car was much more quiet πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0022-1

dsc_0023

dsc_0024-2

dsc_0032-1

It has been a chilly but sunny day today and I had the chance of experience it some since I had to wait for the Thinner to arrive to the neighbor factory where I worked today. It was so nice standing outside in the cold air but in the sunshine. I also got a chance to talk to an old work friend who now works in the neighbor factory. He had moved to my old home town and worked there for a few years but longed back to his old home county. I can understand it so well, my old home town is now rather violent with gang warsΒ where also innocent people get killed. Otherwise it’s very beautiful and friendly there to be honest.

 

dsc_0034-1

dsc_0035-1

dsc_0040-2

dsc_0042-2

 

Albin is one of the most stubborn dogs I’ve met. He has decided he doesn’t want to wear the harness when we’re out walking so if I don’t catch him before I go to the leashes I’ll have to have a long discussion with him and he sure talks back πŸ™‚ It can take five to ten minutes until he comes so close that I can grab him and put on the harness πŸ™‚ He doesn’t mind it as soon as we’ve come out though πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0043-1

dsc_0044-2

dsc_0045-1

dsc_0050-1

It is time to get something to eat and after that I’ll most likely fall asleep in front of the tv πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “Colder than I thought it would be.

  1. Hi Christer,
    The sun looks warming.
    Sorry to hear about the plants you left outside. I hope there weren’t too many of them. Maybe the clouds will roll in and the frost will not happen.
    The little quince got so waterlogged in its pot that it didn’t have a chance to dry out. There’s good drainage but that one day of soaking rain got it super wet and the little bit of rain we had every night and the heavy dew kept it that way. The plant was looking very sad. I had to knock off most of the wet soil and replace it with dry. Then I put the quince on the front porch so the dry potting medium would have a chance to dry out the soggy remainder. It lost a couple of leaves. It looks a little better now but not good.
    On the up side, the small Christmas cactus is still outside and happily growing a lot of new leaves.

    What are those tiny glowing things floating in mid-air? Insects? Falling seeds?

    Piki Dog doesn’t like his harness and spends a few minutes at the beginning of a walk trying to scrape it off. Fortunately, Rocky loves to have his harness put on and Piki Dog is determined to love whatever Rocky loves because Rocky can’t be special. Sibling rivalry helps a lot. πŸ™‚ Good luck with Albin.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It looks as if the passion fruit vines have made it, they actually look quite healthy πŸ™‚ No pest they might have had could have survived that cold night πŸ™‚

      I’m pretyy sure the quince will survive a few days of drowning πŸ™‚ Just plant it in the ground somewhere and just keep an eye on it iof it needs to get some water since the ground must be very dry even if it has rained a little where You live. I don’t have any chgristmas cactus this year but I have two leaf cacti that I thankfully brought inside a few days before the frost hit πŸ™‚

      Those are insects, I think it is some kind of mayfly. The autofocus just didn’t want to focus on them πŸ™‚

      Albin isn’t bothered by the harness as soon as it is on and he always come when I need to put the leash on him too. He just doesn’t want to have to get it on πŸ™‚ Both Sune and Nove just stand and wait for me to put them on though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I used to have several Christmas cacti. I would put them out in the back mud room for the winter. It was cool out there but also had a south-facing window so it got lots of light. One February week-end it got extremely cold outside for several days. Normally in those conditions I would open the mud room door and let heat from the house into that space but I forgot. All my Christmas cacti froze (as did a couple of bottles of soda and one bottle of wine!). I brought them all in but it became apparent that three of them were very dead. The other two were in limbo. The leaves fell off but the stems stayed plump. One of them was the Old Man that I’d had since 1970. It took six months but they both finally broke new leaves on the main stems. I’ve almost killed them both a couple of times since then but they manage to survive me. πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. My christmas cacti and the one easter cactus I had met the same fate but I forgot to bring them inside at all πŸ™‚ None of them showed even the slightest chance of being alive after one really cold night πŸ™‚

        Those two are true survivors πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! Wow, it got cold where you are! We don’t normally get that until the end of October/early November. But that being said, there is nothing normal about the weather anymore.

    Oh yes, if you want to kill plants just leave them out for a frost! πŸ™‚ I have done that countless times. I need to start my yard clean up very soon. Its our Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend, so a long weekend it is and I hope the weather will cooperate. I need to get stuff done!!! πŸ™‚

    Karma is stubborn too. Not so much with her harness, but now that she has lost roaming privileges in the house (eating too many things) she almost has to be carried to her massive crate. πŸ™‚ She’s slightly spoiled and this makes it harder. I am hoping that once we get past the really troublesome “teenage” years with her she will settle enough to not eat shoes, the couch, the walls. πŸ™‚ Silly girl.

    Well, I must admit I am ready for the day to be over. I have 20 more minutes until I can go and am looking forward to it. I am back though for 6 p.m. tonight – I have signed myself up for a mindfulness/compassion course than runs for 8 weeks until the end of November and then one full day retreat as well. It sounded like a good idea at the time, but now I am wondering why I did it!! πŸ™‚ Back at work even…..oh boy. Oh well, its something to do!

    Have a good evening!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      One really cold night, last night wasn’t that cold at all but we did get frost this morning and we might get frost tonight again they say. The first frosty night is usually nasty cold, down to -10C but this year it was so early, already in August and just a few minus degrees.

      It looks like all the passion fruit vines have made it through the frost, they are actually much hardier than one might think. So I’ll bring them inside this weekend. The rest however seems to have died πŸ™‚

      Albin only chews on us now and things he is allowed to chew on. So I got just a few furnitures with bite marks before he stopped πŸ™‚ and he is allowed to chew on my old summer shoes. Oddly enough he leaves the rest alone, at least for now πŸ™‚

      I’m pretty sure You’ll love that course but it is always hard to go to that first time, especially if it takes place at the work place we are all the time anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

