I think I’ll bring a basket.

dsc_0021

We’re having a chilly but sunny morning today. It isn’t colder than it is during summer to be honest but it is clear that the sun doesn’t heat up the air the same now as it did during summer. I would most likely have been out walking without a fleece jacket during July but today I would have been freezing like crazy without it on πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0020

dsc_0024

I've always wondered how high those trees are, they are clearly visible from where I live even though it is several kilometers away (lots of miles :-)).
I’ve always wondered how high those trees are, they are clearly visible from where I live even though it is several kilometers away (lots of miles πŸ™‚ ).

dsc_0028

It is just above 10C (50F) and I have the kitchen door open even though I really would like to have it shut, Albin however behaves much like a cat this morning and as soon as the door is shut he either wants to go in or out again πŸ™‚ It won’t be much warmer today even if we mostly will have sunshine but that’s how it is in autumn.

 

The ground fog tried to build up but gave up after just a few minutes.
The ground fog tried to build up but gave up after just a few minutes.
I couldn't find a single spider web today! I think the spiders waits for the wind to calm down again.
I couldn’t find a single spider web today! I think the spiders waits for the wind to calm down again.

dsc_0035

dsc_0038

The birds started to sing like crazy yesterday when the rain had stopped falling. They haven’t been able to take and baths in water for a long time now so I guess this was just what they wanted. They sing a lot now too but now it’s more like the normal chirping they do all winter. They seem to like the chilly air too, I guess they look forward to rest until they get new families next spring πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0039

She just stood there calmly looking at Sune when she suddenly snaps and starts to chase him :-)
She just stood there calmly looking at Sune when she suddenly snaps and starts to chase him πŸ™‚ How fun it can be to just run around chasing each other πŸ™‚

dsc_0041

She's much faster than him but he has a lower center of gravity so he can turn much faster than she can.
She’s much faster than him but he has a lower center of gravity so he can turn much faster than she can.

dsc_0043

In the end though he doesn't stand a chanse :-)
In the end though he doesn’t stand a chance πŸ™‚

It is time to bring down the potted plants to the cool cellar but I need a new timer for the lights down there. The one I have now works a bit like it chooses itself πŸ™‚ Sometimes it turns on and off as it should but sometimes it just stays the same for a day or two, hopefully on since it also is the only source of heat down there. For years I’ve planned to stop having plants that needs to spend winter in temperatures slightly above 0C (32F) and not warmer than 10C (50F), still I seem to get more and more of those plants πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0050

dsc_0051

dsc_0053

dsc_0056

I have four Shagbark hickories and I plant to have three in the cellar just in case we actually will get a long and cold winter and the fourth will be planted outside. I think they recommend to have them frost-free for three years but I can just as well try it. I also have two hazelnut plants to plant in the garden but I still haven’t figured out where (and of course all the Frost (or River) grape vines and the quince and so on πŸ™‚ ).

 

dsc_0064

dsc_0065

dsc_0067

Last week they were glowing in the morning sunshine. The wind was quite strong and blew almost all leafs away.
Last week they were glowing in the morning sunshine. The wind was quite strong and blew almost all leafs away.

It is time to take another walk with the dogs. I think I’ll bring a basket or bag so I can pick some mushrooms, I’ve seen a few already and since it has rained I’ll probably see even more in the forest today. The few I have seen will be enough for a warm sandwich though, with cheese and perhaps sausages πŸ™‚

 

dsc_0073

dsc_0076

dsc_0078

dsc_0080

The hazy over the mountain seems to have turned in to fog when we arrived at home.
The hazy over the mountain seems to have turned in to fog when we arrived at home.

Have a great day!

 

My little Rowan tree gives lots of berries this year. The Waxwings will be happy when they arrive :-)
My little Rowan tree gives lots of berries this year. The Waxwings will be happy when they arrive πŸ™‚
6 thoughts on “I think I’ll bring a basket.

  1. Hi Christer,
    The photo of the horses in the pasture looks so serene and peaceful.

    I think Nova was not looking exactly “calmly” at Sune. Especially in the second photo. That’s an intense, Something is about to Happen to YOU stare. πŸ™‚ Rocky does that to Piki Dog all the time. Piki usually ignores him until Rocky charges. Piki Dog doesn’t bother with intense staring. He just runs circles around Rocky and then body slams him.

    I smiled at the bit about the birds singing after rain. That was something I noticed during the first decent rainfall after the long dry spell. The birds were singing in the rain. Afterwards, there were groups of birds bathing in the puddle that always forms at the end of my driveway. They like that spot for some reason and will choose it over other puddles or the bird bath.
    At the moment, it is cold, overcast, and raining. It rained all night, too. The weather says showers off and on today. It’s okay. We need the rain.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      It was and always is here. Always quiet, always calm.

      The second one really shows what she was about to do πŸ™‚ I have to say I was surprised because she hadn’t cared about what Sune had been doing at all before that moment :-)Sune really like when it happens though πŸ™‚ Albin understood that he wouldn’t stand a chance so he just stood there and looked πŸ™‚

      They do have their sand baths but I guess a nice water bath feels better πŸ™‚ I have to admit that I do long after a bath tub, it is more relaxing than a shower so I can understand them πŸ™‚

      They didn’t predict rain for today so I wasn’t the least surprised when it started πŸ™‚ but it has been much warmer than predicted today, 59F so I really can’t complain.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I have one of those big old fashioned ball-and-claw foot tubs. It’s long and deep and takes a lot of water to fill. The faucet has a shower attachment with a hand held sprayer so I use it as a shower and never as a tub. The tub is positioned underneath a standard size window on the north wall of the bathroom. I remember bathing in it as a child. It was bloody freezing in there most of the fall, winter and early spring. I spent a lot of time shivering in the bath. Not relaxing at all. πŸ™‚ It’s not as cold in there now but old habits die hard.

        Like

      2. I don’t think the floor can take the weight of a bath tub here πŸ™‚ Besides my bathroom is so small that I wouldn’t be able to fit it in πŸ™‚

        It feels like wr’re going to get a frosty night here, the temperatrure is falling fast and if it doesn’t get cloudy it will be cold tonight.

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! Happy October πŸ™‚ I wait 11 months for this month to finally arrive πŸ™‚

    Today it was HOT. Tomorrow will be hotter. How ridiculous is this. We will even have a humidex value of 27. Just crazy. Not really looking forward to that. The house got hot today but there is no way I am putting the air on. It will cool down nicely this evening. Its almost 7 pm and we still have sun so I am happy about that. Just about heading out the door for the Nuit Blanche. πŸ™‚

    I hope you found some mushrooms. I think I have asked this before, but you do know which ones to pick right? πŸ™‚ The only mushrooms I get are from the store. I can’t chance mushroom picking. I love mushrooms except morels. I dislike those ones. They look gross too! πŸ™‚

    Great action shots of Sune and Nova today! πŸ™‚ There is one that looks like they are coming around the racetrack! πŸ™‚

    Last evening when I was walking Karma I passed a neighboring Rowan tree. Did it ever have a TON of berries on it. It looked heavy it was so full. I am sure we will get a nasty winter. Great 😦

    I hope your Saturday went well!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Unfortunately I don’t share Your enthusiasm for this month πŸ™‚ October and November are just the long dreary wait for December. We have nothing to look forward too here until Advent first and it will just get darker and darker. Soon I won’t see the daylight at all on working days.

      Yesterday actuallybturned out quite nice and much warmer than predicted, today will be just as warm but we might not see the sun especially much. I’m happy as long as it doesn’t rain.

      Most of the mushrooms were destroyed by larvae but I got a few very small ones. I know quite a lot of mushrooms that I can pick so the forest is full of them for me, too dry this autumn though so we don’t have that many around. Morels aren’t that bad but it is important to boil them several times and to make sure to have cleaned them properly. We don’t have them in this area though.

      I do like that photo πŸ™‚

      I can’t remember when we had this much roiwan berries in the trees. Thankfully that only means the spring was perfect. There were enough pollinators around and the temperature was just right. The trees have no idea what winter will be like thankfully πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Chriuster.

      Like

Leave a Reply

