They are still there, the moose flies.

dsc_0022-20

Today was slow as molasses, mostly because I had to paint by hand almost all day and the heat from the oven was a bit too much. I talked to our handyman about putting up a wall or something between me and the oven so that most of the heat wouldn’t reach me (or the one having to stand and paint there all day).

 

dsc_0024-24

dsc_0025-20

dsc_0026-24

I’ll start by making something temporarily by using big cardboard sheets later, I’ll mostly be in the neighbor factory from tomorrow and the rest of this week and most likely in the beginning of the next one. I have really big things to paint there so time will most likely fly away ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0028-24

dsc_0023-22

dsc_0027-24

We went to the bog on our walk after work and it was so nice, a weak wind, sunshine and just enough warm. Too bad the moose flies also thought it was a nice day to fly around and make life hard for both humans and animals. I must have killed ten or so but that’s nothing to what it is like in many other places. I guess I should be thankful for that ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0029-18

dsc_0031-19

dsc_0033-19

It is time for something to eat and then to doze off in front of the tv ๐Ÿ™‚ I wanted to yesterday but Albin decided we should play instead ๐Ÿ™‚ Albin got his first shower today, that’s what happens when one roll around in something dead. He wasn’t too happy about it ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a great day!

 

dsc_0039-19

dsc_0040-19

10 thoughts on “They are still there, the moose flies.

  1. Hi Christer! I think we are safe to say around here that no more mosquitoes or flies are still living. We have had a few cool, windy and cloudy days so I think all those that are really pesty have gone into hibernation. At least that is what I am hoping for!

    They are calling for temps in the mid 20’s for the weekend. I really can’t believe it but will be happy if it happens. This weekend in our city is something called Culture Days – and part of these Culture Days is something called Nuit Blanche. It has its own website if you feel like taking a peek. Its essentially a dusk until dawn arts and entertainment party in parts of our city. I plan on going but only at around 8 pm!! I should be safely snuggled in bed by 10 p.m. for sure! ๐Ÿ™‚ Something fun to do if the weather holds.

    Poor Albin! Do you know what he rolled in? I am sure he was in sensory delight while rolling in it though ๐Ÿ™‚ Stinky dog!!

    Have a good TV evening! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Windy, cool and cloudy days won’t stopour mosquitos ๐Ÿ™‚ We need a few days with below freezing temperatrures for that ๐Ÿ™‚ but to be honest, we haven’t had many mosquitos this year, it has been too dry thankfully ๐Ÿ™‚

      It will cool down even more here, we’ll actually get autumn temperatures from now on, at least for a while.

      WE had something like that last Saturday here but since I was working I couldn’t go and see anything.

      I have no idea what it was, I just saw him doing it from a distance and I did feel the smell ๐Ÿ™‚ He’s a quick learner so I hope he won’t do it again but I’m pretty sure he will ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    I expect moose flies would have to be tough little so-and-so’s. A bit of cold weather is probably nothing to them.

    Dogs that roll in dead things deserve the showers they get. Dogs that roll in deer or coyote poo also deserve to be showered. And blow dried. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think Piki Dog has learned that rolling in stinky things results in an immediate shower because he hasn’t done it in a while. Could be wishful thinking, though, or a lack of suitably stinky things to roll in. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Today was a little warm, mostly cloudy with bits of sun. There might be more rain, too, which is no bad thing.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      We need a week with below 32F at nights to at least slow them down. I hope this dry summer has killed off a lot of them because they need wet soild for their larvae. Unfortunately it poured down all night so I guess it’s just stupid to even hope that ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nove loves to roll in everything so she knows what it is like to be showered ๐Ÿ™‚ Albin is a quick learner so I hope he got the message ๐Ÿ™‚ Smell bad and You’ll shower ๐Ÿ™‚

      Cool but nice when the rain finally stopped falling, tonight they sat we’ll get more.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. ugh…i would hate having those flies around. i am very lucky that i don’t have many bugs and since i seem to be this cities aviary, the birds eat all the ones i have.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Yes You would ๐Ÿ™‚ They don’t die only because one hits them, they need to be crushed bewteen fingers to finally give up! It is the bog that gives us all these flies, not even all the birds have a chanse to eat them all. There were hardly any around when I lived in the big city.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. No moose flies around that I know of around here, Christer. Hope you get some cooler weather which hopefully will kill them off like happens to mosquitoes. It looks like you are starting to get some nice colors, but we don’t have as many here…lots of green still in the park where we go walking. There wasn’t a lot of rain this spring and summer which might be causing these no color shows, but once the temps drop we should see some big changes. Maybe Albin won’t roll in dead things any more, but probably not. Hope you get some heat relief at work.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      We need very cold weather to kill them I’m afraid, below 32 for a week at night usually take almost all of them. I’m not sure I want those temperatures yet ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes lots of colors now but it has been dry here too so many trees only get brown abd let the leafs go after a day or so. It doesn’t help that we now have a strong wind blowing so lots of trees are almost leaf free now ๐Ÿ™‚

      I do hope he’ll get it but I’m pretty sure he’ll roll in something nasty again ๐Ÿ™‚
      We’ll figure out something to stop the heat from ther oven ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Albin is a beauty! I think we have similar flies, we call them horse flies ( huge ) and they have a biting cousin of a smaller size ( about the size of a house fly ) we call deer flies, they take a chunk out when they bit!!!!
    I have a lot of catching to to do!

    Like

    1. Hi Laurie!

      He is ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think ours are like Your deer flies, ours are rather small and some also call them deer tics but ours don’t bite chunks out of us, they behave like tics! The female need blood for the eggs and she bites her way in and drops her wings. When she has had enough she let go and fall down to the ground, dig down if it is wet enough and lay the eggs before she dies. Nasty, nasty, nasty! They can give us the same diseases the tics do.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

