He might have become dinner instead.

I stopped by the lake on my way to work, I really can't complain because it was foggy but not beautifully foggy.
I stopped by the lake on my way to work, I really can’t complain because it was foggy but not beautifully foggy.

The nights have been very warm and horribly humid, the days have been just slightly warmer but even more humid and by very warm I mean Scandinavian warm, just below 20C (68F). Yesterday we reached 99% in humidity and today only 98% ๐Ÿ™‚ Being that warm during night makes it nasty warm at work already in the morning because all the heat from the day before has stayed.

 

dsc_0023-6

dsc_0024-8

I think it was geese flying south but they were totally quiet strangely enough.
I think it was geese flying south but they were totally quiet strangely enough.

dsc_0026-7

We haven’t had much sunshine though, the fog and haze during the mornings have had problems evaporating so it has just been sunny for a few minutes every afternoon, thankfully just as we have started our walk after work ๐Ÿ™‚ The coming night will be a bit cooler and we’ll get sunshine too during the day, just long enough for me to see it when I leave work at noon ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I saw these two spiders yesterday, a male courting a female. They work slowly just in case the female one rather would have the male as dinner than the gift he had brought :-)
I saw these two spiders yesterday, a male courting a female. They work slowly just in case the female one rather would have the male as dinner than the gift he had brought ๐Ÿ™‚

dsc_0034-5

dsc_0036-4

dsc_0037-4
I never saw how it ended though.

Nothing much has happened otherwise, the wasps are still a pain in the a.. and now we have a zillion tiny little flies in the air, they look much like fruit flies and might just be that. They don’t seem to know where they are going though and suddenly they hit me in the forehead and continues to wobble around after that ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0041-5

dsc_0042-5

dsc_0043-4

dsc_0044-4

It is time for something to eat and then some tv. The apples I have aren’t especially good for pies, the wonderful taste they have sort of dies in the oven but the pie crust and custard were good enough ๐Ÿ™‚

 

dsc_0020-7

dsc_0022-6

dsc_0023-5

dsc_0024-7
Beautiful red but oh so deadly berries from the Lily of the Valley.

Have a great day!

 

dsc_0030-6

14 thoughts on “He might have become dinner instead.

  1. Christer,
    That is such a wonderful picture of Albin.

    We add cinnamon and sugar to the apples in the pie before putting them in the oven. Always choose sturdy apples as the others will get mushy when they cook. My father always added cheddar cheese on the top of his pie slice. That is a very New England way to eat apple pie.

    Tomorrow will be the return of summer. It will hang around a few days as well. It sounds as if I’ll need to have my air conditioner on all day and night.

    Today is humid and ugly. It is still dark and cloudy.

    Gracie is sitting in front of me. That is her spot when she wants something. It is early for her dinner, but I’ll feed her anyway. I eat when I’m hungry so why not Gracie?

    Have a wonderful evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I do like that one ๐Ÿ™‚

      I did that too and some cardamom. The pie was ok but nothing more so I better buy some apples next time. I can take if they get mushy as long as they taste anything ๐Ÿ™‚

      We’ll have summer here too but with our summer temperatures ๐Ÿ™‚ Up to just above 70 as warmest.I do hope the humidity will sink some though, it is rather nasty having it this high all the time.

      I always eat after the dogs so I better have fixed hours otherwise we would all eat all the time ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! Aren’t those kind of days just wretched? That’s our summers. Nonstop humidity. So gross. We have been having really good days with lovely weather. A bit of rain last night but today is sunny and pleasant.

    I am still at work ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Late meeting so I am catching up on my emails ๐Ÿ™‚

    Isn’t it disappointing about apples having not taste? One of the nurses I work with has a pear tree, so on Saturday I am going over to her house to pick pears. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wonder what I shall do with those?

    Albin is such a handsome dog!!! Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      The humidity is nasty and I should be used to it living by the bog with high humidity most of the time ๐Ÿ™‚ We were supposed to have sunshine today but that prediction failed badly ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes I had hoped they would taste at least something! They are delicious otherwise. So I better buy apples next time I’ll make a pie. Pears are tricky, they stay unripe for weeks and then suddenly ripe and are perfect for a few hours. After that they are unedible ๐Ÿ™‚ My neighbor has a pear tree! I didn’t know that they were hardy enough to grow here at all! I guess it is best to preserve them in their on juice.

      He sure is ๐Ÿ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    Obviously those apples are meant to be eaten out of hand instead of in pies. But one can only eat so many raw apples before becoming sick of them. And maybe from them, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It looks like the male spider got close enough to do his thing. Let’s hope he got away quickly afterwards.
    I haven’t checked on the arbor vitae spider since this morning. I hope she found a good spot that little dogs can’t walk through. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the picture of Albin. He is a striking looking dog.

    Today was overcast and dank for most of the time. The sun has come out and it’s getting warmer and still damp. Tomorrow will be in the 90’s F. I guess the AC will be turned on again.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. I just checked on Spidey. She put her even bigger web in the same place and she added several more lines attached to the ground right where the bunnies hop. She’s either stubborn or slow to learn. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    2. Hi Caryn!

      Yes they must be. Delicious right from the tree and useless in pies. I’m thinking of saving some in my cool cellar during the winter, I always buy lots of apples otherwise.

      It is tricky to be a male spider ๐Ÿ™‚ I found another couple where I think the male never got the chanse to get away, she really didn’t seem to like him and left several times.

      I do like that photo!

      They predicted sunshine but I have to say they failed badly ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,

    Albin is quite a handsome dog; that’s a good picture of him.

    Rained all day today, sometimes hard, sometimes just misty, and it was 79F and didn’t seem pleasant to be out! I drove to and from an out of town doctor’s appointment in the rain, but wasn’t raining so hard I couldn’t see.

    I’m going to use another of your pictures as my desktop background. Thanks.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      I do like that photo of him!

      Mostly cloudy here even if they did predict sunshine for today. I’m glad it rarely rain that hard here, I hate getting stuck on teh road when it rains that badly.

      I’m glasd You like them ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. That was quite a fascinating series of photos showing the mating spiders, Christer, but then you always have such spectacular spider webs as well. Sorrynthe wasp problem is continuing and the warm weather most likely is keeping them around longer.
    We are having a return of hot weather here in Nashua, NH this weekend.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I’ve never seen it in real before so it was quite fascinating! Too bad I had to goo, they don’t move fast ๐Ÿ™‚

      The wasp problem might actually be over now and that only the queens are left and they are more careful since they must survive till next year.

      It seems we’re having warm weather everywhere right now.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

