What apple to use?

My Passion fruit plant (Passiflora edulis) is finally flowering! I doubt there will be any fruit though, it is a bit too late in the year for that.
My Passion fruit plant (Passiflora edulis) is finally flowering! I doubt there will be any fruit though, it is a bit too late in the year for that.

I think it has been raining all night and it has been cloudy all morning, still it was a rather nice morning walk we had. Just enough cool to keep the few remaining flies calm and warm enough so I only had to wear a fleece jacket. It is very worn down so it doesn’t help a lot top keep me warm 🙂

 

DSC_0031 (1)

Mist up on the mountain.
Mist up on the mountain.

DSC_0034 (2)

I do hope these spiders takes a lot of the flies who still hang around.
I do hope these spiders takes a lot of the flies who still hang around.

They say we’ll get reasonable nice weather later today but the really good weather won’t come until Monday, I’m not surprised, why should we get that on a weekend 🙂 I would like to have the kitchen door open but there are just too many wasps outside wanting to go inside. When I do have the door open I have the spray bottle with wasp poison ready so I can spray any wasp getting indoors.

 

DSC_0041 (1)

DSC_0042 (1)

DSC_0043

DSC_0047

I’m thinking of making an apple pie later today but can’t decide what kind of apples I want to use. Even the winter apples are ripe now but I’m not sure they would be the best for pies and the summer apples that are left hang so high up in the trees that I’m not sure I can reach them. Well to be honest, it is the custard I like most anyway and if I add some cinnamon and cardamom to the pie it will be yummy enough anyway 🙂 I think I’ll try the apples from the seeds sown tree, those apples are purely delicious 🙂

 

DSC_0022 (2)

DSC_0023 (1)

I don't have many pelargoniums any more, just four different kinds and seeds for a wild species that I'll sow early next spring.
I don’t have many pelargoniums any more, just four different kinds and seeds for a wild species that I’ll sow early next spring.

DSC_0026 (2)

I planted some Jerusalem artichokes (they are perennial sunflowers) on the north side of the cottage when I moved here sixteen years ago, this is the first year they have given me some flowers! The ones growing on the south side flowers every year though. This variety is called Bianca.
I planted some Jerusalem artichokes (they are perennial sunflowers) on the north side of the cottage when I moved here sixteen years ago, this is the first year they have given me some flowers! The ones growing on the south side flowers every year though. This variety is called Bianca.

I have no coffee or tea at home!! I just realised that but I have no energy to go to the super market or any store to get some. I’ll see if cocoa is enough today and in worst case go to a store tomorrow morning instead.

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “What apple to use?

  1. Hi Christer,
    I like spider photos almost as much as troll spindle photos. I hope she eats a lot of flies and maybe even a few wasps for you.

    You’re spoiled for choice in the apple department. My apple trees died a long time ago, from old age. I sort of miss them, especially the one I used to sit in or sleep under as a child, but I think I wouldn’t like them so much as an adult who has to pick up after them. The black walnuts are enough. 🙂

    This morning is grey, cool and damp. It will warm up to 75ºF and get sunnier, they say. We are waiting on Hermine to decide what she wants to do. Looks like Kat will get most of the rain on Monday. I’m a bit north of her so I might get half an inch. Every little bit counts, I guess.

    Enjoy the day and the pie whichever apple you decide upon.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I do like spider photographs too but for some reason they are always turned so I just can photograph their under side, they can be rather beautiful on their backs like the cross spiders. We have one here that has an orangey-red cross over its back. I’ve read somewhere that they tend to lest wasps go since they know how to defend themselves and actually can kill the spider instead but I wouldn’t mind if they did eat wasps too 🙂

      I used to have even more apple tres here when I moved to this place 🙂 now I only have four and one of them only give tiny apples but they are rather delicious, first they taste very sweet and then they have a slightly bitter aftertaste. I need to pick too many for a pie though 🙂 I always let the apples lie since deer eat them. I always know when a deer has been here because lots of apples are gone from the ground 🙂

      I’ve been watching how Hermine moves too, it doesn’t look as You’ll get strong winds though. I hope You get the rain You need so much! Here the sun shines again and a strong wind blows so we could walk out to the bog and not being attacked by moose flies 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! Hmmm, I would use a mix of apples if I had lots available. However, I am rubbish at making pastry so pies are not usually on the menu here at home. Bread of any kind is no problem, pastry is my challenge. What recipe do you use for pastry? I guess I just need to keep trying – practice makes perfect!

    The wind blew strong all through the night, woke me up at 2 a.m. and I could not get back to sleep until around 5. Its still blowing but not as hard. Its hot – ridiculous hot for September. They are predicting storms coming our way. It might happen, my shoulder (and now my wrist) gave me little nudges this morning.

    I love the flower pictures today! Most of mine have all died back now. Too dry and I refuse to water any more. Too expensive and any day we might get frost so no point. 🙂

    Back to work Tuesday – I am mentally preparing 🙂 Not really ready, but since I have not won the lottery yet, I guess away I go.

    Hope your evening is going well! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I went out for the apples and took a few from two trees. I just make a standar pie crust but usually have less sugar since the fruit usually is sweet as it is and the custard is very sweet 🙂 and of course, I toss in some cinnamon and perhaps cardamom too. I never came around to make the pie today though 🙂 I’ll make it tomorrow instead.

      It’ll get warmer again here next week, they say it’ll be around or slightly warmer than 20C, not bad for september. My joints won’t start hurting until the warmer weather has arrived so I can’t predict it I’m afraid.

      I’m waiting for that frost too, the first one usually comes this week but we’ve already had our first frost morning in early August so who knows 🙂 Most plants will survive that first one anyway and my water is free so I can continue to water if I like too 🙂

      I haven’t checked if I won the lottery today, I better do so I know if I can leave work for good 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    Here the best apples for pie are called Granny Smith apples. They hold up well when baked. Some others get mushy and leak through the bottom crust.

    When I was in Ghana, I used the papaya, called a paw paw in Ghana. The Peace Corps cookbook called it the amazing paw paw. The recipe said mix the cut fruit with cinnamon and sugar then bake it. It tasted just like apple after baking.

    Not that I want you to have an early winter, but you need a few cold days and nights to get rid of all those wasps.

    I love the flowers. They are blooming late so you’ll remember come winter!!

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      We can buy Granny Smith here too but I don’t think we use it for pies. I don’t know why but they don’t have the best of reputations but personally I think it si a great apple. Not hardy enough to grow here though I did sow a few seeds and those trees lived until we got some normal winters a few years ago 🙂

      I must admit that I never would have thought of having papaya in a pie! Mango yes because it does taste a lot, the papayas we can buy here are quite bland when it comes to taste. I’m pretty sure it all has to do what kind of variety we get here.

      Yes we sure do! I’m so tired of those wasps now. We had frost yesterday morning and pretty cold this morning too but that’s not enough to kill them. No cold nights or days in any predictions though.

      I still have a few flowers in the garden and they can take the first frost nights too thankfully.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

