I think summer is over for this time.

DSC_0029 (17)

Today was really an autumn day, the rain just poured down (as it seems to have done all night too and some say we had thunder too) and it was only 12C (53,6F) when I came home from work. It had thankfully stopped raining by then so we were able to tale a walk.

 

Doesn't it look a bit self-righteous :-)
Doesn’t it look a bit self-righteous πŸ™‚

DSC_0026 (15)

DSC_0028 (17)

DSC_0030 (19)

It looked like the clouds would start to break up for a while because I could see that the sun shone on some trees but now it’s just as grey and dull as before. Tomorrow will be much nicer and the temperature will start to rise again. I think however that the summer is over for this time.

 

DSC_0033 (18)

DSC_0035 (17)

DSC_0036 (18)

DSC_0037 (17)

It has been a rather uneventful day here, the work has gone smoothly and time has passed fairly quickly. Albin is annoyed since none of the cats or dogs wants to play with him. I’ve tried to explain that they most likely would play much more with him if he didn’t chew on them all the time but he doesn’t seem to listen to me πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0038 (16)

DSC_0040 (15)

DSC_0041 (15)

DSC_0045 (12)

He talks a lot that dog, different sounds for what every he wants to talk about πŸ™‚ He’s actually almost never quiet πŸ™‚ Hector used to talk a lot too but nothing compared to how Albin does πŸ™‚ My neighbors say they never hear him barking during the day but he sure does when he gets upset by something, like a toy get stuck somewhere and he can’t figure out to fix it πŸ™‚

 

The insect You can see on the thistle to the right is a bumblebee that has more or less drowned in todays rain.
The insect You can see on the thistle to the right is a bumblebee that has more or less drowned in todays rain.

DSC_0048 (13)

I don't think I've shown these two spider webs before, they are a bit older photos.
I don’t think I’ve shown these two spider webs before, they are a bit older photos.

DSC_0071 (3)

It is time for something to eat and after that I’ll most likely doze off in front of the tv πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I think summer is over for this time.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Surely you know that if you bark at something long enough, it will do what you want it to do. πŸ™‚

    That cow looks very disapproving and superior. What were you all doing? πŸ™‚

    Still summer here. The day started out very overcast but now it’s blue sky and puffy white clouds. It’s hot and breezy but I haven’t had to put the AC on. Maybe in an hour or so when the sun gets over to the west side of the house and shines in the windows. Send that cool and rain back this way, could you? We’re parched.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Oh, I didn’t understand that so he didn’t get what he wanted πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It looked like that when we came, at first it looked like he was basking but since there was no sunshine I think it just felt superior to everything πŸ™‚

      I’m trying every day to send back that rain but it seems I don’t have the right spell πŸ™‚ I’ll keep on trying though πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! What a great picture of Bertil! I chose a good day to drop by. About the cow..no one likes to be stared at… πŸ™‚ No end to summer yet in Southern California. It was 102 yesterday. We have the four seasons, even though many think we don’t..but they are not quite as distinctive ..but..the leaves fall..and certain types of grass does turn brown if one does not over seed with Winter Rye.

    Did I tell you that the old saying “be careful what you wish for, you might just get it?” has new meaning for me? Yep. One day a large black cat with huge green eyes sat on our fence and Mele’ did her usual barking until I ordered her to stop..but this time I walked out and looked to see what all the noise was about and saw. The cat and I stared at one another..and I saw how thin she was. Then suddenly along the wall came a tiny black replica and then following that one a little “Bertil” and next a black and snow white kitten, all looking rather thin.. I rushed in the house and looked for ANYTHING to feed cats and all I had was cans of tuna..so I opened those and filled a bowl…they gobbled it down. Later I learned they were still nursing and were being weaned.
    Well…that was over two months ago and even though they are feral cats..they have attached themselves to us…and seldom leave our yard or patio. They are now nearly grown with beautiful glossy coats and clear eyes. Howard buys them the best cat food there is and they get fed three times a day with a dry snack in between.
    I had thought for a long time I wanted a cat but it didn’t seem a good idea with Mele’ but..in these past two months…she is totally trained and never even looks at them as she passes.. they are now beginning to want to play with her..but so far..it’s no go.
    However ..apparently they are now welcome. But FOUR CATS?
    With this comes a problem of trapping them and having them fixed so there are no more…but…but..but…the mom is pregnant again and due any moment.
    I MUST do something and quick. Trap and release seems the only answer.
    Have a wonderful day, Christer.
    Mona
    p.s. I think I have opened a large can of worms…

    Like

    1. Hi Mona!

      I’m so glad that we never reach thgose temperatures up here in the north πŸ™‚ We’ll get it warmer again but it will most likely not pass 68F πŸ™‚

      I’m pretty sure those cats saw the tuna as a luxurious dinner πŸ™‚ They sure picked the right home to come too πŸ™‚ I have always like green eyes in cats but rarely seen any. There are organisations that catch and release in Florida so I’m pretty sure there must be in California too and since she due and day now it would be best if You found them soon. Hopefully she now knows that Your garden is a safe place so if she get the kittens before she’s been caught she will come to You when tey are big enough.

      Wasn’t howard a bit against getting a cat πŸ™‚ He sure has fallen for these though πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They get better treatment than my cats and my cats are spoiled πŸ™‚ You might have open a big can of worms but it is a nice can πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. p.s. They still will not let us touch them..but come very close and even ventured into the house for a quick peek. They do let me touch their noses briefly but then they leap away. Probably will always be wild. 😦

    Like

    1. It won’t take long till You are allowed to pat them and not too longf after they might want to stay in Your lap as well πŸ™‚ Feral cats that get help like these are often very grateful and loving cats.

      Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      Even though I would like to ahve summer for a bit longer than we do I do know I never want to have those kind of temperatures!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

