I’ve started the radiators.

DSC_0052 (12)

 

Two days ago it was almost 30C (86F) and sunshine. Yesterday it was around 25C (77F), sunshine and a strong wind. Today we won’t get it warmer than 15C (59F). The wind is gone though but it is raining instead. I do like the sound of rain against my windows but the chilly air outside is going through the walls so I started the radiators here on the bottom floor.

 

DSC_0044 (14)

DSC_0048 (12)

DSC_0049 (11)

DSC_0050 (11)

DSC_0054 (9)

Yesterday I visited a friend and we sat outside on the patio all day looking out over the lake Anten. Every now and again we could hear the whistle from an old locomotive going on the other side of the lake. Unfortunately it couldn’t be seen from where we sat but just the sound is rather nice. I got stuffed cabbage for dinner and we tried my own potatoes. They are read inside and after being boiled they had the somewhat unpleasant look of cooked tongue ๐Ÿ™‚ They did taste quite ok though and it can be fun to have pink mashed potatoes too ๐Ÿ™‚ As dessert I got one of the most delicious blueberry pies I’ve ever tasted.

 

DSC_0057 (8)

DSC_0058 (7)

The trees are changing colors now. I think it mostly has to do with it being so dry because it is way too early to happen now.
The trees are changing colors now. I think it mostly has to do with it being so dry because it is way too early to happen now.

DSC_0064 (6)

DSC_0065 (6)

Today didn’t start as rainy though, I could see the sun rise and before it rose the fog was really thick but it evaporated so fast that almost nothing was left when the sun finally showed itself above the trees. We walked in to the village for the first time since Albin came here and everything went well until we met the big kind brown horse whoย lives there. Albin likes cows but that horse was obviously dangerous and he growled?! He didn’t react at all towards the white horse though, very odd. The brown one always comes to greet us when we pass by and is so kind that even I like him so I do wonder what it was about him Albin didn’t like.

 

Yesterday morning.
Yesterday morning.

DSC_0035 (15)

DSC_0036 (16)

DSC_0037 (15)

DSC_0038 (14)

Suddenly Nova decided to join and it went really wild :-)
Suddenly Nova decided to join and it went really wild ๐Ÿ™‚

There will be very little activity here today. I must do the laundry but I’ve already done most of it so that won’t take long. Albin refuses to take walks as long as it is raining so I better be prepared to get out as soon as it stops for a while ๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps I’ll bake an apple pie because I now have custard at home ๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps I should start preparing for the arrival of autumn too, next week is normally the one we get our first night with frost (not this year though since we already have had that) so perhaps I should bring in some of the more sensitive potted plants I have outside. It will get warmer again already on Tuesday but one never knows what nature comes up with.

 

A few photographs from when we were out walking at my friends home.
A few photographs from when we were out walking at my friend’s home.

DSC_0022 (16)

DSC_0028 (16)

DSC_0030 (18)

DSC_0031 (18)

DSC_0032 (16)

DSC_0033 (17)

DSC_0035 (16)

DSC_0036 (17)

DSC_0041 (14)

DSC_0042 (15)

Have a great day!

 

 

From yesterday morning again.
From yesterday morning again.

DSC_0026 (13)

DSC_0031 (17)

DSC_0045 (10)

Here's the photo with the dragonfly :-)
Here’s the photo with the dragonfly ๐Ÿ™‚
6 thoughts on “I’ve started the radiators.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Radiators on and rain. I’ll take the rain part. Way too early for radiators.

    Of course Albin barked. That big hairy thing had no eyes. How could it be kindly? Or maybe Albin just doesn’t approve of abundant manes and forelocks. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I had no trouble finding the dragonfly yesterday but today I was trying to figure out what the circle in the photo was. Good thing you captioned it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Your friend lives in a lovely place. I agree that train whistles are a nice sound but only if they are far off. Close up not so much.
    Are those mushrooms edible? They look like shiitake.

    Today is sunny. The windows are all open and the fans are all on. I might have to put the AC on later if the humidity goes up any more.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I don’t mind the rainy part so much either but it hurt in my soul when I had to turn on the radiators ๐Ÿ™‚ It’ll get warm again on Tuesday so I guess two days with radiators on isn’t that bad.

      I do wonder how he will react when he sees his first highland cattle ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ He has his ideas so I wouldn’t be surprised if it was the mane and forelkocks he didn’t like ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      The house is on the absolute right spot, the place is so beautiful and none of their neighbors has such a beautiful view from their homes. The train goes on the other side of the lake so it is just enough loud to sound beautiful. There’s also a diesel llokomotive but that one has a horn which doesn’t sound that nice even from a big distance.

      I think those mushrooms are a deadly toxic one ๐Ÿ™‚ but even if it is a kind that look similar and is delicious it wouldn’รคt be nice to eat now, they were almost dries out.

      Rainy and chilly all day here, guess if I’m happy that Albin refuse to go out in that kind of weather ๐Ÿ™‚ He must of course do it later when that weather is the dominant one ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Christer,
    I actually saw the dragonfly in the picture.

    Your picture with the geese was beautiful as were the lake pictures. I love lakes and like swimming in them even more than in the ocean.

    We desperately need rain. Many drinking water sources are dry. A small plane in trouble landed on a sandbar in a reservoir where there should be water.

    Some of the towns in the western part of the state will have temperatures as low as the high 40’s tomorrow morning. Today will be cooler than the city as there will be an ocean breeze. It should be pleasant tonight here as well.

    Enjoy your Sunday

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I myself had problems finding it even if I knew it should be there ๐Ÿ™‚

      I wish we lived closer to a lake that one can bathe in. My neighbor has bathed in the bog lake but he says one feels a bit oily afterwards and there are lots of rust in the water as well. It doesn’t really help that one can bathe in it since it takes almost 40 minutes to get there ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is dry here too, not as it is over at Yoursthough. There’s no water in the creeks or even smaller rivers and the big ones have so low water level that it is hard to see that there is a river, plants coverv most of the surfaces.

      It will probably be rather warm here tonight since it is so cloudy.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Sounds like the weather cannot make up its mind! Do I want to stay summer or turn to autumn ๐Ÿ™‚ We are pleasant here today. Yesterday was disgusting and hot. I turned the air conditioning back on. Today I turned it off. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like the visit with your friend was great! Lovely lake pictures too! ๐Ÿ™‚ I think having different color potatoes would make my brain tell my taste buds to expect something different!

    Karma is the same way with horses. We are heavily involved with polo and a couple of our friends own ranches. When we take her to see the horses, she has a fit. Very strange. Its like she can’t wrap her head around the size. She must think they are giant dogs. You should see her with motorcycles…I think she thinks they are floating dogs on wheeled things ๐Ÿ™‚

    Tomorrow we head out of this province and to our neighbor to the east, Ontario.We are headed to Rushing River Provincial Park with my brother and his family. I have never been to this one so I plan on taking lots of pictures and enjoying the time there. Back on Thursday evening. It will be interesting – Karma has never slept in a tent. Tucker knows the routine, but I wonder how things will go? ๐Ÿ™‚ Tucker doesn’t like camping of any kind, he will only stand in the camp site, never sits down or lies down unless he has blankets and mats. My neighbor gave me 2 really nice blankets she didn’t want anymore – for Tucker to take camping. He’s such a fussy dog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Today was anything but nice and realautumn but tomorrow will be nicer and so will the rest of the week they say.

      Different colored potatoes were much more common when I was little so I’m quite used to it, this one however had a nasty color as boiled ๐Ÿ™‚ I think though that it will look nicer as mashed, light pink ๐Ÿ™‚ I do like the color of mashed blue potatoes ๐Ÿ™‚

      This is the first dog I’ve had that doesn’t like horses, all the others have loved them and so do Nova and Sune. They on the other hand don’t like cows but Albin seems to have nothing against them ๐Ÿ™‚ I have no idea how they would react to motor cycles though ๐Ÿ™‚ Sune does love any machine that is loud and noisy though ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve never been a big fan of camping so I don’t know what my dogs would think of that, I think they would be awake all night becauise of all sounds they would hear so clearly ๐Ÿ™‚ I had two dogs when I had a sailing bout and they just hated it so I sold the boat.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

