I didn’t follow my plan :-)

40

I’ve been rather active this morning, again! That sort of scares me πŸ™‚ We started the day as always by looking out the window and see what kind of weather we’re having. Today we had thick fog but since the sun was rising (I slept for rather long today, almost until 5:20 am) I knew it wouldn’t last for long. So I dressed as quickly as I could, leashed the dogs and picked up the camera. I wanted one of the old with me as well but since I’ve cleaned the cottage I had no idea where I had put the camera I wanted πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041 (8)

42

DSC_0044 (10)

DSC_0045 (9)

So I loaded the old Zeiss with some B&W film and out we went. It was so nice outside, rather cool, lots of fog and very few flies around πŸ™‚ The dogs walked around as they pleased and Albin was either right behind me or beside Sune all the time. Well he didn’t want to go our way at first and it took around 5 minutes to make him see that it was best if we all went the same way, after that there were no problems on what direction we should take πŸ™‚ It was absolutely quiet, not a bird sang but once I could hear a lorry passing the village on the big road far away. I could also hear some cranes when we were almost at home again.

 

DSC_0046 (10)

DSC_0047 (10)

DSC_0048 (10)

DSC_0049 (9)

We had our breakfast and after that I drove to FalkΓΆping to buy worm pills for the dogs and aquarium fish for me and I brought the Zeiss with me too. Even I got surprised over how few people that were out in the town. The pharmacy opens at 9:30 and beside those putting up their stalls for the little market they were going to have today I think we only were about five people in the town square and even fewer on the roads around it. I found a new vintage store in the town and they were putting out things they were selling in front of the entrance and it looked so nice. I took a few photographs of that and the rest of the town square with the old camera.

 

DSC_0050 (9)

DSC_0053 (6)

DSC_0054 (7)

DSC_0055 (7)

I went in to the pet store as soon as it opened at 10 and I had a clear picture of what I was going to buy and of course I bought nothing of that πŸ™‚ Instead I bought 5 Ram cichlids, 10 Neon tetra and 3 guppy. Later I’ll buy an algae eating cat-fish, there aren’t enough algae in the aquarium right now to have one. I also bought lots of dog treats, I use plenty now when Albin is learning what is right and what is wrong πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0057 (6)

DSC_0058 (5)

DSC_0061 (4)

DSC_0063 (4)

I’ve realised that the electrifying tennis racket doesn’t kill wasps. I thought I killed one this morning because it smelled burned and didn’t move, suddenly it was gone and I found it on the floor between my feet and Albin. So I electrified it again and now it smoked after I was finished, guess if I got surprised when it started to walk again!! I don’t mind killing them but torturing them is to go too far. So every time another one flies in to my kitchen I use the fly killer as a tennis racket. It doesn’t kill them but they don’t stand a chance. I’ve realised that I have a pretty good backhand πŸ™‚ I missed one and it flew up to a window upstairs and when I finally killed it I found at least seven dead ones on the window sill!!! I’ve never even noticed that they have come inside the cottage!

 

DSC_0064 (4)

DSC_0066 (4)

DSC_0067 (2)

 

DSC_0069 (2)

 

It is time for another walk and after that a nap I think. I’ve been sleeping badly the last week and I guess it can have something to do with the full moon. I didn’t know it was a full moon week until they told me at work.

 

DSC_0073 (1)

DSC_0074 (1)

DSC_0076

DSC_0077 (1)

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I didn’t follow my plan :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    That cleaning thing is never a good idea. Yes, everything is in its place but who can remember where that place is after I’ve put everything in it? I resist the urge as long as possible.

    I see that the Wow trees are just Ow trees today. πŸ™‚

    Smoking but still living wasps doesn’t sound very pleasant or kind. Smack them with the racket and then step on them. Assuming you have shoes on, of course.

    I have to stay away from second hand shops. I have a fondness for old things but not enough room or money to indulge it. πŸ™‚ Second hand shop would be another place I couldn’t work along with bookstores and yarn shops. I’d just be handing my paycheck back to the shop owner every week. πŸ™‚

    The weather is so-so. It’s warm and overcast with bouts of brightness. It might rain but probably not here. The grass hasn’t had to be mowed since the beginning of July.

    Today’s errand, post office and pet store. You reminded me that I need dog food and treats. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I know, it’s just stupid but sometimes I just follow an idea I get πŸ™‚ I still have no idea where I’ve put it πŸ™‚

      Yes but it was foggy enough to get a wow I think πŸ™‚

      So far I’ve been lucky to make them fly out with the help of my backhand πŸ™‚ If one should remain in the kitchen it will die fast! I just hit a big one and it got stuck in between the wires. It won’t fly any more πŸ™‚

      They are dangerous those shops but we have now a huge problem with bed bugsoften brought along when travelling so it isn’t that hard to resist buying things any longer πŸ™‚ If I bought something I would have to have it in quartanteen for three months and outdoors covered with something and it’s just not worth all that trouble to buy anything.

      It is still warm here but cloudy and a almost stupidly weak shower just passed by, not even Albin went indoors and he really don’t like rain πŸ™‚ They say we’ll get rain during the night but they’ve said that so many times and no rain has fallen so I doubt it πŸ™‚

      At least the treats are very important to have at home πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Foiled on today’s errand. I made the post office okay. I forgot that today was Festival Italia and Main St would be closed to traffic. I tried to get near the pet store but nope. Closest I could get was a couple of blocks. I don’t mind walking but not if it’s wicked hot and I have to lug a giant bag of dog kibble. They can eat chicken. They won’t mind much. πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! The wasps are starting to get bad here too. And the fruit flies. I am not sure what is worse!! Those fruit flies drive me bonkers so I make a concoction of apple cider vinegar and dish soap and I capture them that way.

    Sounds like your day was productive! Ours was busy yesterday. We had to go buy a new couch because on Friday Karma thought it a good idea to eat ours 😞😞 so she has lost her roaming the house privilege when we are out. I am still shocked!

    Love the pictures today! 😊😊

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Ate Your clothes! That’s a new one. My dogs have eaten a lot of things when I’ve been away but never clothes πŸ™‚ The first doghouse/ yard I built was because of an eating dog πŸ™‚ She ate everything but clothes πŸ™‚ and destroyed three refrigerators πŸ™‚

      I spray every single wasp I see with poison now, if they try to even get close to the open door they’ll die! No problems with fruit flies yet though, they usually don’t show up until later in autumn. I save all fruit peels and rests of vegetables in a milk carton before I toss it all in the big compost and they tend to come from that. Yes they can certainly be annoying πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. The yellow tinge in many of these photos added a wonderfully vintage feel to them, Christer. I believe that the only “good” wasp is a very dead one, so no argument there. Never heard of using an electrified tennis racket, only a fly swatter in our home.
    Fruit flies are less of a nuisance here than when we were living in VA, but once in awhile we still find them around, possibly from produce brought in from the grocery store.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I do like how the sun colors the air yellow, sometimes it almost look like the sky is sick πŸ™‚ Don’t last for long though.

      At least now in early autumn I agree with You, they are good if they are dead πŸ™‚ I do like my tennis racket πŸ™‚ but it works best on smaller flies it seems.

      I think it is impossible not to have fruit flies no matter where one lives πŸ™‚ It is enough to have an old banana peel to get them so I think You’re right about getting them from the grocery store.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

