One could think frost would show them it’s time to DIE!

DSC_0054 (5)

Much warmer last night and that’s because it was cloudy and rainy. One could think that a frosty night would show both flies and wasps that it is time to DIE but they don’t seem to get the message at all 🙂 The wasps do however seem to be rather aggressive so I guess the queens now have left the nests and the workers have to survive on their own now. I can only hope they give up quickly.

 

DSC_0057 (4)

DSC_0058 (3)

DSC_0059 (4)

DSC_0060 (2)

My hand itch something nasty but so far it hasn’t swollen up especially much but the day is still young 🙂 I have the entrance door open today instead of the kitchen one, there are no wasps and very few flies on that side since it is mostly shady until late afternoon. The old dogs are caught in their old ways because they rather go to the kitchen door even if the other one is wide open 🙂 Albin however just walks straight out 🙂 I need to get something that will hold that door still even if the wind should blow, as it is now it can start moving in high speed and break the windows if I’m unlucky.

 

DSC_0069 (1)

DSC_0070 (1)

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

My aquarium actually looks really nice now, without any fish but with plants in it 🙂 Goldfish tends to eat all the plants so I rarely have any in it when they spend winter there but this year I’ve decided to have the goldfish in my cool cellar instead. I’ll let the plants get a chance to grow before I buy any fish this time so I have plenty of time to figure out what kind of fish I want in it.

 

DSC_0062 (3)

DSC_0064 (3)

DSC_0065 (3)

DSC_0066 (3)

It isn’t an especially big aquarium, only 105 liters (27,7 gallons US) so no big fish in it. I once had a 585 liter (154,5 gallon US) aquarium and it does look really nice to have such a big one. It is however not especially nice if it breaks 🙂 If it does it is at least ten times more water in it 🙂 To be honest, I’m not sure this old cottage’s floor would be able to carry that weight 🙂

 

Four photos taken with the Hasselblad 500C at the Marina in Lidköping by the lake Värnern.
Four photos taken with the Hasselblad 500C at the Marina in Lidköping by the lake Vänern.

A19710_003

A19710_004

A19710_009

We’re expecting more rain but the sun is actually shining at the moment so I better take the dogs for a walk, Albin is not a big fan of even the slightest rain falling from the sky 🙂

 

Four photos taken with the Agfa Ambi Silette.
Four photos taken with the Agfa Ambi Silette.
A19711_003
They say this is White Skunk Cabbage and it shouldn’t be growing here in the creek. It has spread all over the nature reserve now 🙂

A19711_004

A19711_005

Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “One could think frost would show them it’s time to DIE!

  1. Hi Christer! 🙂 Happy Saturday! You could always use a can of soup or something for a temporary doorstop until you find a nice rock on your walks or another alternative 🙂 I have rocks from various locations that I “borrowed” and use those for door stops. It helps when the windows are open and the wind is blowing – the doors can really slam hard and not only does it shave a few years off your life with the slam but I am sure it protects the frame somewhat.

    Today is a mixed bag of sun and cloud. I am waiting for it to smarten up, I want to go wash my Cube. We have a funeral today – my cousin. Sad day but he was suffering greatly so this is a blessing in disguise.

    Laundry is on, windows are open (for now) and I hope for a decent day to celebrate my cousin.

    Last night we went out late (10:30 p.m.) to see if we could catch any Perseid meteors. Nothing! Not a single one! Apparently they were to peak last night but not sure where they were peaking – certainly not in Manitoba! 🙂 I did however get a nice glimpse of Mars and Saturn and of course the Moon was rising in all her bright glory. The mosquitoes were bad enough that we only stayed out about half an hour. They weren’t biting me, but my husband was apparently delicious 🙂

    Hope your day is going well and your evening is good too!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      It is a bit too narrow between the stairs and the door so it is hard to find something that would fit well. I’ll see if I can find one of those door stops made from rubber or just put up a hasp or something like that. The season to have any door open is over soon anyway so I’m in no hurry. I’ll be prepared with lots of wasp poison next spring, I won’t give them a chanse to start building nests anywhere!

      Very mixed weather here too, mostly cloudy with some showers every now and again but also some sunshine and it has been fairly warm too 🙂 So sorry about Your cousin!

      It was cloudy here so I couldn’t see a thing, they said it would be fairly good tonight as well but it is just as cloudy today. It’
      s like that every time we get meteorite showers here 🙂 We have very few mosquitos here though! I love when we’re having a longer period with draught 🙂

      So far so good 🙂

      have a great day despite the funeral.

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    I had to look up white skunk cabbage. Pretty flower. Like a spathyphyllum. I bet it looks lovely when a whole raft of them are in bloom. It’s listed as invasive, though, even though it also has a Royal Horticultural Society golden something or other award.

    The spider in the web photo is lovely. It looks like she has a tiny spotlight on her very pretty legs. 🙂

    Dogs are creatures of habit. When I first got Rocky the hallway from the kitchen to the front door was blocked off. He learned to go through the living room to get to the door. He still goes that way even though the hall is open now. Piki Dog takes the straight route up the hallway because that’s all he’s known.

    Your hornets might be like my friend’s bee hive that lived for almost 2 months without a queen and didn’t do badly. We decided they were small “r” republican bees and didn’t need no stinkin’ queen. 🙂 It eventually succumbed to attrition. No new little bees were being produced. I guess they forgot about that part.

    In the second picture of Albin, he reminds me of a clydesdale horse. Sturdy legs and big feet. 🙂

    It’s seasonable today. We get a one day break from the heat and humidity. My windows are open to change the air in the house and get new allergy laden air inside. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      To be honest, I’m not quite sure this is white skunk cabbage, the green leafs doesn’t look exactly right but I must admit these kind of plants are outside my area of knowledge. I like it though and the white one doesn’t smell bad at all. I wonder if the ones making the bog a nature reserve will do anything about it, they tend to create these reserves and then not taking care of it at all or making decisions that are opposite to their plans for the area 🙂

      I do like these spider web photos.

      Yes they are, cats however aren’t. They always go to the door that isn’t open and shouts until one open it for them even if they just as well could have walked out the open door 🙂

      Thankfully wasps aren’t like that but they can hang around for a couple of weeks and they are usually quite angry during that time.

      Very mixed weather here today, it rains here at the moment but I’m hoping for a cloud free morning but the chanses of that are slim to none I’m afraid 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    I’m still in the shut house even though it is a bit cooler outside that it has been. I guess I’ve enjoyed the cold house so much even a little bit of heat is too much.

    We had some rain yesterday, but it only rained for about 15 minutes, not in any way enough. Luckily the Cape isn’t as bad off as some parts of the state which are in drought conditions. Rain is predicted for today, but, as always, I am skeptical.

    Gracie is the first dog I’ve had who doesn’t mind some rain. She’ll not go out in a downpour but lesser rain is just fine with her.

    With the air on, I have to keep the doors shut. Gracie learned to ring bells hanging off the doorknobs when she was young. That way she let me know she wanted to go out. Now she does the same. Letting her out is easy, but I have to keep checking to see if she wants to come inside.

    I’ve been watching Doctor Who on the BBC channel. They had several Christmas programs, and it was good to see past Doctors.

    I hope you have a wonderful day!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I’ve noticed that I can take cold weather better than hot now days, especially since I started working beside the huge oven and washing machine. It works well in winter but during summer it can be just awful there.

      The rain comes and goes here. I don’t think it is especially much we get because there’s still no water in the creeks and ditches here. It is mostly the misty rain we get or “heavy” drizzle., The grass get wet but not the ground.

      I just took Albin outside in the rain and thev first thing he did was to take cover in the lilac hedge 🙂 He really dislike water from the sky 🙂 He seems to be a smart dog so I hope he will learn how to use the bells I have on the door.

      I do miss Doctor Who!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

