Guess what?

No photos taken today but as long as there's no sunshine in them they look like they should today :-)
No photos taken today but since there’s no sunshine in them they look like they should today 🙂

First of all, sorry about no post yesterday!

Snow fell here in southern Sweden yesterday, not here in the county I live in though and some  places also got so much hail that it didn’t melt away until this morning. We here however had to scrape our car windows early this morning. I was a bit surprised about having to do that because my thermometer showed that we were a bit above freezing point but I guess it is the high hedge that kept the coldest air outside my garden. I’m not sure but it does look like all plants survived the night though.

 

DSC_0023 (7)

DSC_0024 (8)

DSC_0026 (6)

I wish I could say it was a foggy photo but it was misty rain instead. It eats its way through the clothes in minutes.
I wish I could say it was a foggy photo but it was misty rain instead. It eats its way through the clothes in minutes.

I drove to the pharmacy on my way home today because we were at the vet yesterday evening to check Nova’s ear and it isn’t good even though the worst pain is gone. I brought them all with me and I have to say that three rather small dogs can create chaos in a very small examination room 🙂 The vet just laughed though 🙂 He also gave Albin the second vaccination shot so now we don’t have to think about that until next year. I checked for something like Benadryl but couldn’t find any unfortunately.

 

DSC_0028 (8)

DSC_0029 (6)

DSC_0033 (7)

DSC_0035 (6)

After that I drove to the petrol station to fill one of the tires with some air. While I was doing tat a fly flew close to my ear so I whisked it away, well I thought I whisked away a fly until the damned wasp stung me in the palm of my hand!!! I rushed in to the petrol station because they also sell headache pills, bought some and made a paste and drove home with it in my hand all the way home. If it helped I don’t know but the steering wheel is kind of sticky now 🙂 🙂 I guess we’ll know tomorrow since the arm didn’t swell until a day after the sting.

 

DSC_0037 (6)

DSC_0038 (7)

DSC_0041 (5)

DSC_0044 (7)

They did predict rain for this evening so I did get a bit annoyed when it started pouring down on my way home from Falköping. Well I guess I should be happy that they at least managed to predict that we would get rain at all today 🙂  I also bought some plants for the aquarium when I was in Falköping, the aquarium is more or less empty right now since the goldfish I have are out in the water barrels. I’m thinking of having them in the cold cellar this winter and to have some tropical fish in the aquarium instead. Goldfish are beautiful but they do prefer a chilly winter instead of a warm one in the aquarium.

 

DSC_0046 (7)

DSC_0047 (7)

DSC_0049 (6)

DSC_0050 (7)

DSC_0052 (7)

DSC_0053 (4)

It looks like it has stopped raining so I should take the dogs for a walk. Albin does not like rain, last time he just sat down and shivered, even though it was rather warm, until we started walking homewards again 🙂 My hand is aching some so I guess that pill paste didn’t work that good after all. Who knows, I might not be able to work if my hand swells enough 🙂

 

four photos taken with the Zeiss here in the village.
Four photos taken with the Zeiss here in the village.

A19677_009

A19677_010

Not a bright idea to photograph poppies towars the grass with B&W film :-)
Not a bright idea to photograph poppies towards the grass with B&W film 🙂

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Guess what?

  1. Hi Christer! I can’t believe you got stung again!!! I will send you some antihistamines through the mail. You need to have some on hand!! I wonder if I can send those? I best check with customs first…

    I wish Nova’s ear to get better. That can’t be fun for her. But what a cacophony in the vet’s 🙂 🙂 All in good fun. I bet the dogs thought that the best day ever!

    We had some storms and tornadoes yesterday south and east of us. Not much rain fell in the city and I wished it would have. We are due a bit cooler temps but snow!!!! Not quite yet here. How strange the weather!

    I am glad its Friday. One more week until my holidays and I can’t wait. My body is telling me that I am quickly burning out. I am just so tired!

    I hope you have a good Friday evening!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      It didn’t sound like a wasp so I just raised my hand to whisk it away and did I get surprised 🙂 I’ll go to the bigger pharmacy in Skara next time, I’m pretty sure they’ll have what I need.

      I wish that too, her ear is much better but still rather bad so we’ll continue to treat her till it is gone, no matter how long it’ll take. I am however not sure the dogs thought fun was the word for it 🙂 🙂 They did get lots of treats though so it wasn’t all bad 🙂

      It’ll get warmer here again thankfully, it is a bit too early for frost to be honest. I do hope this isn’t the beginning of a nasty cold winter 🙂

      We were all happy it si Friday at work, the first wekk after vacation has passed and we all survived 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. another sting! what a bummer! i think i have to move to sweden. our nighttime temps are in the upper 70’s. it’s awful. it’s been like this for a solid 5 months and i hate it!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I thought to myself, while scraping away the ice, that You would have loved this morning 🙂 🙂

      I just thought it was a fly, it didn’t sound as a wasp at all. My hand feels ok at the moment but we’ll se if it swells tomorrow. I guess the itch will come no matter what.

      I can’t even pretend that I liked the ice on the car windows this morning but I’d rather have that than in the upper 70’s at night!

      Have a great day despite the heat!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Another wasp! They seem to be abundant around here too but I have managed to avoid them till the other day. I went to take the hummingbird feeder down to clean and refill and I wasn’t paying attention. Got stung near my elbow. It hurt at first but it didn’t swell and now I am just dealing with the itching.

    I can’t say that I am ready for frost but sure would like some cooler weather, evenings and nights at least. That will come eventually.

    We have our son’s puppy today and he is walking around all over sniffing looking for whatever may have fallen on the floor. He is so much fun to have around. Not very big but runs super fast. Loves to play fetch. I get tired before he does.

    Have a good weekend.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      They had huge problems with wasps at the petrol station. The wasps were attrackted to the sweets and hot dogs they had in there so they were on contsant wasp alert. The swelling isn’t that bad after all but the itching is 🙂 I can just imagine how my hand will feel in a day or two 🙂

      I must admit that I wasn’t prepared for frost either but i must admit tht it is better than that awful heat, at least I can make it warm enough in my cottage, it is harder to make it cooler since I don’t have an ac.

      Albin never seems to sleep now 🙂 He’sd a pest for the old dogs and cats here but I kmnow it won’t take long until he calmes down. We all are longing for his real teeth to come now 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Hi Christer,
    Again again? 🙂 You and wasps have a prickly relationship. BTW, the active ingredient in Benadryl is called Diphenhydramine HCL so if you can’t find the brand name, you can look for an antihistamine with that in it.

    I can tell you that two small dogs in the vet’s office can make quite a stir, too. Piki Dog got upset and started barking because everyone was paying attention to Rocky and no one was paying attention to him. Then, when it was his turn to have attention paid to him, he shrieked horribly. The most recent visit was better. Nobody paid any attention to Rocky because the appointment was shots for Piki Dog. Piki didn’t shriek this time. Instead he used his nasty, small dog growl that sounds like he intends to bite off a finger or two. But he got a cartoon sticker for being a good dog and not removing fingers or shrieking. Pretty sure the vet would rather he didn’t shriek. The waiting room is right outside the exam room.

    Snow. Bummer. I’d like it to be cooler but not cool enough for snow or iced up car windows in August.
    Yesterday at 6:30am it was 76ºF and so humid that I really felt I needed scuba gear to walk the dogs. Weather Widget says it’s 99ºF here right now. Clouds are moving in fast so I guess we’re going to get some weather. Or maybe not.

    I hope Nova’s ear clears up quickly. It must be very uncomfortable.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Yes prickly indeed 🙂 and it hit when I least expected it to happen. My guard was down since I wasn’t at home. I’ll write that down so I can check at the pharmacy, they only had things for hay fever and runny noses where I was.

      I think it might be about small dogs 🙂 I always brought all four big dogs to the vet back in the days and they never behaved especially bad, well it didn’t go too well when old Viran got Senile but thankfully she just got friendlier but chaos is chaos anyway 🙂 This place is so small that it’s the same there, the waiting room is just outside so shrieking would not have been a good thing 🙂

      I would have gone in to a deep depression if snow had fallen here 🙂 Frost I can take but snow would be a bit too much 🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever experiensed frost this early before and I do hope this was a signal to all flies and wasps that their season is over now but I doubt it 🙂 No more frost here and they say it will be warmer again from now on but it sure feels like autumn has startred.

      I do hope that ear will get better soon but the question is for how long it will last.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Christer,
    I can’t believe you’re still tangling with wasps. They seem to seek you out. I was once bitten by a bee, but that’s it.

    I’m still sitting in my air conditioned house wishing it was cooler so I could go out and enjoy the air, but I’m not ready for ice on my windshield. When I worked, I always had to scrape the windshield before I could leave. It was one of my least favorite things to do.

    My animals are so old they seldom get rowdy at the vets though the cats meow as they hate to go.

    I hope you have a lovely day.

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      It was several years since I was stung by a wasp before this year and now it has happened too often. The hand hasn’t swollen yest but oh how it itch 🙂

      I must admit that I got really surprised to see ice on the car this early but still I rather have that than the awful heat. I am however really glad we never got the snow 🙂 That would have broken me totaly 🙂

      Even though none of my dogs ever have had a bad experience at a vet they still get very stressed whe going there. I can understand Nova since they always go deep down her ear to see if it is better, that must hurt a lot.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

