Just when the sun was about to shine.

DSC_0041 (3)

I now have a swelling on my upper arm which is 15 x 15cm (4 x 4 inches) big. It is bright red, hot and itch insanely 🙂 It is like having a huge mosquito bite 🙂 I think it helped that I woke up several times during the night when scratching it. I place an ice pack over it every now and again but it only helps as long as I keep it there and to be honest, the cold makes it hurt instead 🙂 This is what normally happened back in the days directly after I was stung, not three days later!

 

DSC_0043 (5) DSC_0044 (6)

DSC_0049 (5)

DSC_0050 (6)

 

There were some clouds in the sky when we went out on our morning walk but I could see that the clouds were flying in the right direction so we would get plenty of sunshine for most of our walk. Just as the clouds were going to let the sun shine new clouds on much lower heights flew in and covered the sun so we never saw it! Turns out it was fog clouds so it became a rather nice walk anyway 🙂 It got rather thick for a short while but mostly it was just enough. I managed to get some foggy photos with my Hasselblad camera too because the fog stayed a few minutes after we had come home too. Now the sun shines and a wind blows nicely.

 

Bertil just don't have the same pateins Teodor has. I didn't interfere since Albin needs to know where the line goes but I wouldnhave if I thought there had been any danger to any of them.
Bertil just don’t have the same patience Teodor has. I didn’t interfere since Albin needs to know where the line goes but I would’ve if I thought there had been any danger to any of them.

DSC_0046 (6)

Claws out.
Claws out.
Sune finally stops it all.
Sune finally stops it all.

I have the kitchen door open and the electric tennis racket by my side. Every time a wasp comes close to the door I start practicing my tennis swings 🙂 I’m not sure the electricity does much damage to them but my swing certainly do 🙂 The wasps were three weeks early this year so I wonder if they’ll die out three weeks early too or just keep on going until it’s too cold to continue? The flies didn’t seem to bother that they started too early so I doubt the wasps will either.

 

The sheep we met when they had escaped the pasture some time ago.
The sheep we met when they had escaped the pasture some time ago.

DSC_0054 (4)

DSC_0061 (2)

DSC_0062 (2)

I cleaned out the dog yard yesterday and today it’s time to do the garage. I bought some extra warm blankets to the dogs since they tend tobe more in the garage than in the dog house or dog yard. There’s no use in buying the kind of dog bed that is like a small cave, I hope You understand what I mean. The dogs will only chew them to pieces anyway. So I was thinking if I could find some wooden boxes that I can line with fabric so it gets cozy in there. I know they weren’t in the warm dog house last winter when it was as coldest so this could at least keep them reasonable warm if they used what I’ll make them. They will of course chew these beds to pieces too but it will at least take longer before they’ll be successful 🙂

 

DSC_0061 (2)

This is Albin saying:"It'll be a cold day in hell before I come when You call". :-)
This is Albin saying:”It’ll be a cold day in hell before I come when You call”. 🙂

DSC_0065 (2)

DSC_0066 (2)

It is time for a pot of tea, I’ve filled one of the dog toys with treats so now they’ll be occupied for a few minutes. Sune still really doesn’t get it, he usually tries to bring the thing out into the garden where he puts it on the lawn and looks at it 🙂 He is however really fast in stealing bits and pieces that Albin gets out of the toy so both are quite happy anyway 🙂

 

Four photographs taken with the Zeiss. This is here in the forest.
Four photographs taken with the Zeiss. This is here in the forest.
The water tower in Lidköping.
The water tower in Lidköping.

A19676_014

Unfortunately I was too early so the café wasn't open.
Unfortunately I was too early so the patisserie wasn’t open.

 

Have a great day!

9 thoughts on “Just when the sun was about to shine.

  1. Hi Christer,
    So Albin has decided that being glued to your side is no longer the cool thing to do? They get to that phase so fast. Just like kids. 🙂

    That part of the arm is particularly sensitive to things like wasp stings but yours sounds like what is called a large local reaction. Benadryl (diphenhydramine), if you can take it, would help. So will time and ice and an oatmeal soak. 🙂

    Maybe you could make the dog beds out of cement. 🙂 Rocky’s toys used to be in a heavy woven twig basket. He ate it. I should have known that he would because he loves sticks and here was a whole collection of sticks in one convenient and comfy place. 🙂 Now their toys are in a small crate made of pine slats. Slats don’t look like sticks and they’re painted. So far it remains unchewed.

    I think it’s supposed to be a lovely summer day here. Mid 80’s and not so humid. Looks good from in here but I haven’t been outside yet.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Well, he’s 90% with me and the rest with Sune. He had walked with Sune when I called for them to come to me to get leashed again but he simply refused to go back 🙂 So I’m still quite cool 🙂

      They don’t sell Benadryl here or at least not by that name but I’ll go to the pharmacy to get something similar. Too bad I don’t have oatmeal, I prefer r444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444444e (that was Teodor writing a message to You 🙂 ) barley. Taste much the same but the porridge gets less slimy 🙂

      That would be a good alternative 🙂 I once bought such a twig basket for my dogs and that didn’t last long 🙂 So besides cement Inthink wooden boxes might be the best alternative 🙂

      We’ve had a rather nice day here, lots of sunshine and around 70’s. I cleaned out the garage and it took its time 🙂 Albin has now tried it for an hour and hadn’t my neighbor gotten visitors I doubt I would have heard any of the dogs whie they were there.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. It looks like Albin has fit right into the family. Bertil probably enjoys the interaction even if he doesn’t have patience. Have you tried a paste of baking soda and water on your wasp sting? Sometimes that helps the itch a bit if you don’t have/don’t want to take Benadryl.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!He does even if he annoyes the older ones when biting too hard.
      I think You’re right because Bertil does go to Albin even if it still is a bit too much every now and again 🙂

      Naturally I didn’t have any baking soda, all I had was an empty box 🙂 I’ll write it down so I can buy some tomorrow. Even if this stops itching tonight it is good to have some at home just in case (or if IU want to bake scones 🙂 ).

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Late chiming in today – a busy one! Well, that sting sounds incredibly painful. I have seen them like that when they react – too bad you don’t have benadryl or something of the sort. I wonder if putting vinegar on the sting would help with the itch like a mosquito bite? Sometimes if I have a mosquito bite I use vinegar if I don’t have my magic lotion. I hope it goes away quickly.

    You mean Albin thinks the exact same thing as Karma? A cold day indeed. She will not come when called – ever. Its incredibly frustrating. She used to but then something changed and now she’s incredibly independent. I hope this lessens as she gets older. She is in her “teen” years and boy does it show! 🙂

    We have started giving the dogs run of the house while we are at work with baby gates at certain parts of the main floor of the house. Quality control so to speak 🙂 So far its been good. I have to clean the main front windows almost every day because of millions of nose prints but that’s ok. I’d rather do that then kennel them during the day. Makes me happier and them I am sure.

    Right now they are both zonked out. Having my brother’s kids for a sleep over last night really tired them out. Which is a good thing 🙂

    Have a good Monday!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      It didn’t hurt that long but the itching is nasty, it has continued all day long today.

      I’m pretty sure vinegar would help if one put it one as soon as possible. I must b´get some till next time I get stung. I do hope this was the last time for this eyar though and I thinkthe wetaher is helping, rainy, chilly and windy.

      Oh yes the dogs teens, the joy of dogs sure they know better than we do 🙂 He normally does come though, especially if I say goodbye to him 🙂 This time however he wanted to continue home, not going back just because I wante dto put the harness on him 🙂

      If there hadn’t already been a dog yard here when I moved to this place I would have had them in the cottage and built a dog yard outside the kitchen door. Easy to do so here since very few live here and if they would bark it wouldn’t disturb anyone.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Christer,
    The fog pictures are great. I miss the fog as I am not up early enough to see it over the river.

    A puppy lives in its own world. They love to play and commands always go unheeded. Gracie was trained with treats, and she still expects them. That is, of course, my fault.

    I used to take black and white pictures, and I still like them for certain scenes.

    That its sounds awful. Take good care of it so it doesn’t get any worse.

    Enjoy your day!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I was surprised that we got fog that day because it came really late!

      I do the same, treats go a long way 🙂 but thankfully my dogs are happy if they get them every now and again 🙂

      B&W photos can be really fantastic but it is really difficult. So much easier with color photos since all the colors tend to be what people see 🙂

      It is better now thankfully, just a little itching left but it comes in waves 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

