Again!

I didn't take many photos this morning but I have plenty to show anyway :-)
I didn’t take many photos this morning but I have plenty to show anyway 🙂

I got stung by a wasp again yesterday evening just before I was going to bed. I thought I had checked everywhere and leaned towards the floor to pick up something. I placed my arm on the seat back of a chair and I had a wooly sweater hanging on it. It was exactly where the wasp had planned to stay the night and it stung me just above the elbow on the inside of the arm. That truly hurt! I fetched an ice pack from the freezer and had it towards the sting almost half the night.

 

DSC_0050 (5)

This is the last from today.
This is the last from today.

DSC_0023 (3)

DSC_0024 (4)

 

Can’t say it helped a lot,m well as long as the ice pack was cold because the entire arm got frozen and I doubt I could feel anything then 🙂 Today it still hurts and the sting area is really red and very hot. I’ll survive but I’m starting to dislike them pretty much right now. I can’t have the kitchen door open any more since they will fly in as soon as they find a spot they can go through. There are several nests beneath the tiles and I think there’s at least two up beneath the ridge tiles. Not a good thing since they’ll inspect my chimney soon. I must call them on Monday morning and stop it for a later time because I won’t risk my life by going up on the roof fighting wasps and the waiting list at any pest control businesses are around a month long and by then they’ll all be dead anyway.

 

The first Dahlia to open up is bright yellow.
The first Dahlia to open up is bright yellow.
Not many annuals are still flowering.
Not many annuals are still flowering.
This is actually the same species od Hollyhock as the pure white You've seen here before.
This is actually the same species od Hollyhock as the pure white You’ve seen here before.
This lily was once bright white with tiny black spot towards the center. One day it looked like this but it still smells just as nice.
This lily was once bright white with tiny black spot towards the center. One day it looked like this but it still smells just as nice.
The first apples are ready, time for apple pie :-)
The first apples are ready, time for apple pie 🙂

The day will be cloudy and windy but no rain is predicted so I guess it will be nice to take walks since the wind will blow away the flies. I’ll have plenty to do so no napping today even though I might be able to take one after writing this if it is a short one and I never know if it will be since I have a tendency to turn off the alarm when I set it and just keep on sleeping 🙂

 

DSC_0037 (4)

DSC_0038 (4)

DSC_0040 (3)

DSC_0043 (4)

I always have time for a pot of tea though so I think I’ll make tea and skip the nap. Great now it started to itch around the sting. life is so wonderful 🙂

 

Do You remember when I got my new insoles at the hospital in Lidköping and after that my new glasses in Falköping? I brought two cameras with me. The B&W photos are taken with my old Zeiss Ikon Ikonta 531. I also brought the Hasselblad camera but I'm still waiting for those photos to be developed. This photo is taken down by the marina in Lidköping. The Lake is Vänerne, swedens biggest and Europes third biggest lake.
Do You remember when I got my new insoles at the hospital in Lidköping and after that my new glasses in Falköping? I brought two cameras with me. The B&W photos are taken with my old Zeiss Ikon Ikonta 531. I also brought the Hasselblad camera but I’m still waiting for those photos to be developed. This photo is taken down by the marina in Lidköping. The Lake is Vänern, Sweden’s biggest and Europe’s third biggest lake.

A19676_010

It was an absolute still morning. The roof of the big building in the back look odd but I think it is because it reflected the little sunshine there was. It almost looks as if the roof was double exposed but notthe rest :-)
It was an absolute still morning. The roof of the big building in the back look odd but I think it is because it reflected the little sunshine there was. It almost looks as if the roof was double exposed but not the rest of the photo 🙂

A19676_012

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0045 (5)

6 thoughts on “Again!

  1. Hi Christer,
    That last photo is such a lovely portrait of Albin. It’s a keeper.

    The black and white photo of the building and tower on the lake is beautiful. It looks misty and mysterious. It reminds me of some of the photos of the ruined castle on Loch Ness. I can imagine the Vänern Monster cruising through the waters near that tower.

    Sorry the wasps have struck again. I hope no one gets stung again but if they do, try putting a cotton ball or a cloth soaked in apple cider vinegar on the sting and tape it there for awhile. The vinegar is supposed to help neutralize the effect of the poison in the sting.
    Those temporary magnetic door screens work well keeping bugs out. You just walk through the middle of them (like a curtain) and the magnets close the opening back up. Of course, some dogs won’t want to push through the middle of the screen even after training. (I’m looking at you, Rocky.)

    Today is starting out lovely and cool. The temperature’s heading for the high 80’s today and tomorrow. Maybe some thunderstorms today, too.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi caryn!

      It is and I have another one where he looks slightly towards left too.

      Strangely enough we’ve never had a monster in that lake 🙂 We do have Storsjöodjuret in a lake rather far north and they say we have one in our next biggest lake Vättern too 🙂

      I’ll get some apple cider vinegar next time I’ll go to the store. I don’t use that much but I normally have a bottle at home but I can’t remember if I used it all or if I have a bottle somewhere but just can’t remember where 🙂

      I would have to make one of those doors myself because I’ve never seen any for sale here. Great idea though so I might do one later, if I can find any mosquito nets, they were sold out long before summer arrived this year. It is easier to live in a big city because one can always find anything all year round there. Orvar would have refused to walk out door like that 🙂 He would just had sat there waiting for me to open them 🙂

      Very windy, rather warm and sometimes I can see sunshine for a few seconds 🙂 No rain predicted but both my neighbor and I have felt a few drops today. Hard to enjoy the day while weeding out the dog yard 🙂 The garage is probably worse but I can at least stay away from the flies in there 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Amazon is your friend. 🙂 I don’t even try to find seasonal items in the season I would use them nor do I try to find weird stuff like the Magnetic Screen in local shops. They won’t have it. Well, a couple of years ago the screen would be in the “As Seen On TV” department of the local Walgreens. But I go right to Amazon.com first. I know Amazon has the magnetic door screens. Here’s the listing on Amazon US.

        https://smile.amazon.com/Magnetic-Screen-Frame-Velcro-Openings/dp/B00KZNOHTW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470498932&sr=8-1&keywords=temporary+screen+door

        Don’t know if it’s available in Sweden. I can’t get to that website from here. I saw mosquito netting by the bolt on Amazon US site. Maybe you’ll be lucky and your Amazon will have it, too.

        Like

      2. I don’t think we really have Amazon here in sweden because when I go in to that site all prices are in US dollars and all text is in English. I just cxhecked and no we don’t have amazon here and most recommend Amazon UK.

        It is however the kind of screen I would like to have.

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! I can’t believe again!! Do you keep an antihistamine like Bendaryl in the house? I am not sure if its true for all humans but the more you get stung, the more you are likely to have an allergic reaction. Might be a good thing to keep on hand, just in case!!!

    Lovely photos today. I just love hollyhocks but am never successful in growing them. Same with gladiolas. My mom could, but I am not lucky with those.

    And the pictures from your town visit – how lovely!!! Love them in black and white.

    Today is a pleasant day. All windows are open and its about 25 degrees but no humidity so we are not unhappy. My brother and his family are coming for a BBQ this evening. I have the chicken pieces marinating, smokie sausages for the kids, corn will also go on the BBQ and he’s bringing a salad. I made brownies with an orange icing for dessert, and there are Popsicles for the kids! That’s the menu! 🙂 The kids will likely be staying over tonight – they love sleeping at Auntie’s 🙂

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I really got surprised since I thought I really had checked that there was none in the kitchen 🙂 Now it itches and a big area is very red 🙂 I’ll see what they have in the pharmacy. This is however the first times I’ve been stung in over twenty years I think. They do normally behave well but this in an exceptionel wasp year, my neighbor has severalk nests beneath his tiles too and can’t do anything close to the nests.

      Hollyhocks can be really tricky, they usually get attacked by different funguses so I try to have the ones I know are resistant to fungus. More photos will come from both this town and Falköping and around here in the village.

      The day wasn’t that bad over here but not really good either 🙂 That menue sounds rather delicious 🙂 Too late to make any food here now though 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

