It has cooled down considerable.

DSC_0039 (19)

We had a thunderstorm passing to the south of us yesterday afternoon, it didn’t make a lot of noise but it did give us plenty of rain and a much cooler temperature. It was so nice when we started our walk but pretty soon the temperature rose again and all the rain became steam, it was like walking in a steam bath. The night was nasty warm and it hadn’t sunk below 17C (62,6F) all night and that is quite uncommon here.

 

DSC_0040 (19)

DSC_0041 (18)

DSC_0042 (19)

DSC_0048 (17)

So all the flies were already prepared to meet us when we went out, I thought their time would be over by now since they started so early this year. I did notice something about dogs and flies though, dark furred dogs attract much more flies than the light furred. I saw it all those years ago when I had my golden mix, she never had many flies annoying her but the big black dog I had attracted loads. It is the same now, both Sune and Nova have clouds of flies around them but Albin have almost none.

 

There were a few holes in the clouds that the sun managed to shine through but not for long.
There were a few holes in the clouds that the sun managed to shine through but not for long.

DSC_0050 (14)

DSC_0052 (12)

DSC_0053 (11)

Albin is very cute but he’s also very, very stubborn 🙂 If he doesn’t want to walk he just won’t and nothing can change that. I have managed to make him understand that we don’t chew on cords but I can’t for my life stop him from chewing on stones 🙂 I don’t know what it is he loves about stones but as soon as he find one in the right size he starts chewing on it. Could it be that they are salty? I’ll see if I can find anything about it on the net.

 

He walks so much better unleashed.
He walks so much better unleashed.

DSC_0022 (21)

DSC_0023 (19)

DSC_0025 (20)

It is getting darker and darker outside, a cold front with lots of rain will pass so I guess it’s just a matter of time until it starts falling. I’ll keep windows and the kitchen door open for as long as possible though, I really need to get that cool air into my cottage because it is very much warmer indoors than outdoors right now. I’ll take a nap as soon as the rain starts and they say it might be some thunder to expect as well. I never sleep as good as I do when it rains and the thunder rumbles nearby.

 

DSC_0029 (20)

DSC_0030 (20)

DSC_0033 (20)

DSC_0037 (19)

It is time to make a pot of tea and just wait for that rain to arrive.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0028 (20)

10 thoughts on “It has cooled down considerable.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Rocky used to chew rocks when he was a puppy. I don’t know whether it was because he was teething or because, as a street dog, rocks and sticks were the only toys he had. The rocks he picked were about the size of his dog food pellets so that could be it, too. He didn’t eat them, though.
    He has lots of chew toys now but sticks are still his favorite thing. He doesn’t chew rocks anymore but he will go over to a rock of the correct size and sniff it. Could be food, might be a toy.

    You need some fans to help pull the air through. I have two tower fans. I like them because they move a lot of air even on the lowest setting and they’re quiet. There’s one in front of the kitchen window on the east side and another one in the living room on the west side. I keep them running even when the AC is on because they move the cooled air around the downstairs which means I can run the AC on the lowest setting.

    Time to take the dogs out for their morning walk. Probably the only long walk of the day because it’s still wicked hot and humid here. Bleh.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Albin chews on them if they are the right size, that culd be a problem if it continues. Orvar could do that too and his teeth had been grinded down quite a lot when he got old 🙂 Thankfully he also chew on sticks so I’m trying to make those moreintersting 🙂 I’ll see if I can find some good chew toys next time I go to town, we have very few here since Nova has a tendency to destroy them within the hour 🙂

      It seems they only order fans once every year, when they are sold out they don’t order any more until next year, very odd!!! I did find one but it was big as a propeller and besides being nasty expensive I think it had blown out everything in the cottage. Perhaps a good thing since things are a bit worn out now days 🙂

      Cool and nice here (still above 68 though) and there’s a strog wind helping to cool things down and to keep flies calm 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I have to buy dog toys that have no stuffing in them at all. Rocky pulls all the stuffing out as soon as possible. Just when I think he’s removed it all there’s another load.
        Deer, elk and moose antlers work well as chew toys. They come in different lengths. You could ask the horse and cattle owners to keep hoof trimmings for you. Dogs love those stinky things. And antlers and hooves don’t splinter like sticks. Piki Dog loves antlers and will chew them down to nubbins. Rocky likes them too but he usually waits for Piki Dog to chew it to a comfortable size and then he steals it.

        Like

      2. It is the same with both Nobva and Sune, they pull out everything 🙂 I could never buy a toy that squeeked when chewed on when I had the old boys, the moment it squeeked they thought they were hurting something and naver came close to it again 🙂 I think I’ll stay away from those toys now too, I just can’t stand that sound 🙂

        The horse owners already have a dog which they give those too and I have never seen they do anything to the cattles, they walkj around all the time and their feet look quite alright. I used to buy goat hoofs back in the days but haven’t seen any since I moved up here.I do however have two deer antlers, I’ll need one more before I give them any 🙂

        Christer.

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! I can’t speak about rocks but I sure can talk about wood and sticks! But that is not helpful. I would just watch in case he swallows any. That will be an expensive vet bill! As for the stubbornness – that I can talk about too! Karma is incredibly stubborn. Not sure if its a bull mastiff thing but it drives me bonkers. She’s incredibly independent and what she wants, she wants. So if Albin follows any sort of bull terrier/mastiff traits, we can compare notes! 🙂 I am actually still thinking of putting her in classes. She’s a challenge to me – and I have had dogs all my life. But she is so darn cute I can hardly stand it! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    We are hot again today, but less humidity. I can honestly say that I really just don’t like summer. Well, July is my least favorite month followed by January. Too hot and disgusting. We will see temps rise again and this weekend is a long one for us, Civic holiday. They are predicting highs of 31. We are toggling with the idea of going to the lake but not sure if I want to when its this hot. No fun for the dogs.

    Have a good day!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I know both bull mastiffs and bullterriers are stubborn so I know what’s ahead of me 🙂 I am glad that I have let almost all gravel paths in my garden become overgrown with grass 🙂 Yes it looks nice but it is nasty to walk on barefoot and even worse to keep clean from weeds. It would have been impossible to keep an eye on him if those still were around 🙂 Nova and Sune helps a lot with raising this one, sounds terrible sometimes but he needs to know where the limis are. Not that he seems to care though 🙂 🙂

      So nice and cool here today with a rather strong wind so I can’t complain. I wish we lived close to a lake where they could take a bath hot days but the ones around here are quite muddy. I was going to buy a pool for Sune but haven’t found a goodone, perhaps I’ll fine one when the sales starts.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Our temperature has cooled down 10 degrees or so but with the humidity and no breeze it is miserable outside especially if you are doing anything. I was out at 7:00 a.m. trimming branches off a couple trees so I wouldn’t get beheaded when mowing around them with the riding lawn mower. Also dug a few hills of potatoes. Our potatoes are a disappointment this year; lovely vines (which have now died) but small potatoes. Maybe next year we’ll try a different planting method.

    An indestructible dog toy is a “Kong”. Our Lab had a big one and chewed on it a lot and we used it to play fetch and I don’t think there is a tooth mark on it. I bought a Kong look alike for our son’s puppy to play with when he is over here. He ignores it. It has a hole to put treats in or some people put peanut butter but don’t want peanut butter on the carpet! His favorite toy is a knotted cotton rope with what looks like a small tennis ball strung on it. We play fetch with it, and when he gets tired of that he lays down and chews on it for a long time. Not sure if your bigger dogs could destroy that or not. Puppy also likes a small bone shaped stuffed toy with a squeaker in it. He can really get the squeaker going but I expect that toy will be destroyed before long. One of our cats loves that toy too! Puppy walks much better on a leash. Our son lives in town so he has to keep him on one when he is out of the fenced yard and I do out here because I’m afraid he would run into the corn field and get lost. Nice that you are home with Albin these first few weeks.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      It is so nice and cool here now, the sun is shining though so I guess it’ll be a bit warmer later today. I haven’t checked my potatoes yet, I think I’ll do that this weekend. I do hope it isn’t just lots of green but no potatoes 🙂 I also want a few of the potato tomatoes so I can sow some of the seeds next year in pots. Well buckets are a better word I guess 🙂

      I did go to the super market this morning but I couldn’t find andy good toys, I’ll go to the pet store next time to see what they have. I have heard about Kong though andonly good things about it as well.
      I won’t buy any squeeking things though, I just can’t stand that sound 🙂 Since I moved here I’ve always started without a leash, except for the first weeks. So all of my dogs have walked really good without it but rather poorly with it 🙂 In the city things were of course very different so a leash was a must there.

      I had hoped to have all four weeks with him but he wasn’t eight weeks old until the 22nd.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. hmm, I never noticed that about flies.
    a few years back, flies liked to sit on Blue’s ears and bit him.
    I had to buy special lotion just for that!
    So, American flies must like white dogs too.

    Like

    1. Hi Cindi!

      I’ve heard that (over here) if one wears white clothes flies don’t bother to pest us but mosquitoes will love us. If we wear black clothes flies will attack us as soon as we get outside but mosquitoes won’t come at all. So light blue or grey, do thet attract both or repell both?? 🙂 🙂

      I guess it all has to do with the species of flies.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

