He jumped in the puddles.

A (1)

It is hot today, Scandinavian hot that is πŸ™‚ 29,4C (84,9F) and it keeps getting warmer. It is the last day of this heat wave and even if I have loved to finally getting real summer during a vacation (very rare) I still won’t complain about the cooler and possible wetter weather we’ll get instead. This isn’t good for an eight weeks old puppy and Even Nova seems to think it is a bit much now. I just had to close the kitchen door on the south side of the cottage because the heat was just rolling in.

 

A (1)

A (2)

A (3)

A (4)

I left the dogs alone in the cottage for the first time this morning, well the first time with Albin here. I never like to do that when I have a new puppy in the home but I really needed to go to the grocery store. Sune is very, very slowly falling for Albin’s charm but it is still a bit to go. I think he will like him better the day that Albin is fast enough to chase him through the garden. He tried to do that this morning and Sune really liked it even if Albin had no chance what so ever to follow him πŸ™‚

 

A (5)
He follows Sune everywhere, something Sune isn’t too happy about πŸ™‚ All my dogs are used to walk alone as they please so this is something new to Sune.

A (7)

A (8)

A (10)

There was no use in worrying things would go wrong, they were all waiting by the entrance door and Albin was sleeping so hard he barely noticed me opening the door πŸ™‚ I must go out to the dog yard and clean out all the Himalayan Impatiens plants before I can try him there. It is a jungle right now so not even Orvar would have been able to walk around there πŸ™‚ I also need to clean the garage since they now see it as a natural indoor part of the dog yard πŸ™‚ Nova and Sune have really made a mess in there and I need to see that there’s nothing Albin might want to try and eat πŸ™‚

 

A (11)

A (13)

A (14)

A (16)

A (15)

We almost had thunder here yesterday afternoon, I could hear the rumble for several hours but it never reached us. So we went out for a walk when it had stopped and almost made it home before the sky opened up. It sure was thunder showers but without the thunder πŸ™‚ Once again the old stable saved up but I had to pick up Albin and run the last hundred meters (much the same in yards) πŸ™‚ We stood there for twenty minutes until it calmed down so much that we could continue home. I was a bit worried since I had two windows open and the kitchen door πŸ™‚ Luckily enough the rain come from a direction so it only hit the outside of those open windows and the door so no water came in to the cottage.

 

A (16)

A (17)

A (20)

A (21)

The temperature dropped 10 degrees centigrade or twenty degrees fahrenheit during the shower and it stayed that way until we went to bed. The morning was soo cool and nice, too bad I slept until after 5am because it looked like it had been a foggy morning. Albin walked unleashed and was never further away than 10cm (four inches) from me unless I tricked him so I could get a photo πŸ™‚ I will leash him to the older dogs again the day I notice that he thinks the wildlife is interesting.

 

We managed to get to the stable just before the heavy raining started.
We managed to get to the stable just before the heavy raining started.

Z (14)

Suddenly it rained even more :-)
Suddenly it rained even more πŸ™‚ Sune seems to love rain and water, he jumped in the puddles outside the kitchen door πŸ™‚

Z (16)

It is time for something cold to drink and perhaps a sandwich or two. All the animals are sleeping but as soon as they hear me open the refrigerator they’ll wake up and stand by my side πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0050 (13)

DSC_0054 (8)

DSC_0055 (8)

DSC_0057 (6)

DSC_0056 (7)

Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “He jumped in the puddles.

  1. Hi Christer,
    I bet Sune doesn’t remember gluing himself to one of the older dogs when he was a puppy. πŸ™‚
    It looks like Albin found himself a buffalo chip. Not likely, though.
    I love when dogs lie with their back legs stretched out like that. Someone told me that only terriers can do that but I’m pretty sure I’ve seen other breeds do it too.

    The rain in the photos looks like snow. NO! πŸ™‚ But I wouldn’t mind several days of a nice soaking rain right now. Everything is crispy. We went to the lake yesterday and the only really green area was in a swale that is usually swampy wet. I knew enough not to walk there. If that grass was still green, it was probably still somewhat squishy.

    Today is starting out sunny. It was comfortable enough for our early morning walk but I could feel the humidity starting to rise.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I doubt he is or is surpressing it really well πŸ™‚

      I have no idea what it is he found, most likely some kind of poop or perhaps parts of a dead rat πŸ™‚
      I know for a fact that Chow Chow’s also can lie like that, Joyce have shown photos in her blog when her TΓ©ddy has her lehs like that πŸ™‚

      We just got a few drops from the sky and the wind started to blow rather hard. We have thunder north of us and it feels like we might get it too. That rain yesterday did look like snow in the real too πŸ™‚ but it was totally unfrozen water πŸ™‚ A bit early but one never knows with the weather πŸ™‚ It looked like we got lots of rain yesterday but it is more or less just as dry in most places as it was before. I don’t mind if it means the grass won’t grow and perhaps it is too dry for the fly larvae to survive πŸ™‚

      It will cool down here, I hope I’ll get my chilly mornings back tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Poop or dead rat. What a choice. πŸ˜€
        Reminds me of my old dog Tegan. When she was maybe four or five months old, I took her on a long walk around town. Usually she was out in front of me pulling on the lead but at one point as we were walking along a main road, she was behind me and dragging on the leash. I noticed that people driving by in cars were staring. I turned around and there was Tegan trotting along with a really dead, flattened, desiccated woodchuck in her mouth. The thing was almost as big as she was. Bits of it were falling off as she trotted. She looked so damn proud of herself for bagging this prize. I almost fell over laughing.
        But then I had to try to pry it out of her mouth which was not so funny. :p

        Like

      2. Hi Caryn!

        Thankfully he lets go if I sound a bit angry, that won’t last for long but I’m happy for as long as it does πŸ™‚

        It must have looked hilarious πŸ™‚ they have mighty jaws already at that age and the smell :-):-) πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!

        Christer.

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! Oh boy is he ever cute!!! Makes me want to get another puppy….almost! I am sure my husband would have something to say about that.. πŸ™‚ We are heating up today – humidity will also happen. I am just done with this. So glad I don’t live in this all year round….I need my different seasons. Except when its -40 in winter. Never a happy medium! Looks like we will be sunny and hot all week. I can’t wait for Autumn! I love it when a new puppy attaches themselves to an older one…Karma tried that with Willow but the unfortunate event of Willow not surviving very long into Karma’s joining the family. But now she and Tucker get along rather well, even if Tucker is an old guy now he still tries his best to play. She’s just so massive that she can send him tumbling if they really get going so I have to monitor their playing. I hope the rest of your day goes well. Keep those pictures coming!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I think this will be the last puppy, if I get another dog I’ll try to get a rescue. From what I know we don’t have more than one dog pound in this country so one has to know where to find them.

      It was nasty here for a while and then the thunder came. The temperature dropped for a while and then it rose again. Not good since it was like walking in a steam bath πŸ™‚ I think however we would get used to temperatures like these if we lived in it all year round, 20 degrees would feel like winter πŸ™‚

      Albin sure tries and it looks like Sune slowly is giving up πŸ™‚ It takes a couple of bites in his ears before he reacts now πŸ™‚ I know it will be much better rather soon but wouldn’t it be nice if things worked out directly for once πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    The rain almost looks like snow. It was certainly coming down. No wonder you raced to the old barn. Gracie is the only dog I’ve had who really doesn’t mind rain.

    I think 84˚ is hot. It is a temperature we get here on the cape on the hottest days. WE don’t hit 90˚ unless it is in August.

    Great pictures of Albin. He is quite cute. He also looks so little next to the bigger dogs. It must seem a bit strange not to have a black dog for a change.Gracie is a brindle boxer. I grew up with one but I always had fawn boxers before her.

    Stay cool and have a great evening1

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      It did but it was pure rain, the water drops were just that big! Sune wanted to run around in it and it looked like Albin wanted it too. I think I might have two water loving dogs now πŸ™‚

      We’ll have cool weather from now on even if it didn’t feel like it early this morning, warm and high humidity with lots of flies. Thankfully it won’t be much warmer during the day though so then it will feel cool instead πŸ™‚

      I think Albin is rather small for his age. It was only him and two siblings left when I came to bring him home and one of the siblings was almost twice his size. The other sibling had almost died at birth so she was very tiny even compared to Albin.

      I only saw fawn boxers when I grew up and the first bridle dog I saw was a greyhound. I think I’ve only seen two brindle boxers in my entire life.I have however seen a few white ones which is odd because they are veryrare πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. albin is sooo cute. yep, teddy is laying on the wooden floor with her back legs out right now. no wonder…it’s her attempt to stay cool in this horrible heat. she is also in front of a fan. she’s smart!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      He is πŸ™‚ and stubborn like few πŸ™‚

      As soon as I saw Albin lying like that I started to think of Teddy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      No need for fans today, it has cooled down considerable and I’m so enjoying it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Our son’s puppy lays with his back legs out like that. Puppy pictures are so cute!
    We had rain last night and till about noon today and only in the 80’s but walked outside and it was worse than when it was in the high 90’s. No breeze at all. Water just poured off of us when we were outside – dripping onto our glasses. It’s supposed to be 80’s all this week; I hope the humidity goes down and/or we have a breeze.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      Yes they are πŸ™‚ Puppies and kittens fill the internet πŸ™‚

      We had a rather nice thunderstorm passing us to the south, it rained a lot but it cooled down so much that life felt really nice again πŸ™‚ Not afterwards though because the heat came back and the rain became steam, it was like living in a steam bath πŸ™‚

      We’re down to around 68F or below for the rest of the week and I am anjoying it to the fullest right now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  6. I can’t hardly stand how cute he is!
    With his little legs out behind him!

    84 is Hot?
    They said yesterday it would cool down…. to 87 degrees.
    :p
    Actually, i only mind when i’m working, when I’m home it can be as hot as Hell for all I care.

    Like

    1. Hi Cindi!

      You should see him run πŸ™‚

      Well You have to understand that it is very hot for us up here in Scandinavia, we are usualy lucky if we reach 71 πŸ™‚ I do live very far north compared to You so the arctic winds are never far away. You would hate my work place πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It is always hot where I work, I don’t mind during winter but when the outside heat is added to our normal heat it is just awful. I’ve noticed that I now am more sensitive to heat than cold and I think it all has to do with working in a hot place.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

