He sleeps like a log.

DSC_0020 (14)

Albin sleeps like a log, something I’m not used to when it comes to puppies ๐Ÿ™‚ I had to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night and he thought it was a rather bad idea and tried to stay where he was but I know that as soon as I’ve walked away he would most likely had followed and newly awaken puppies wants to pee. So up he went and outside as well. I was however in a hurry so I brought him inside a bit too early and he punished me for waking him up by pooping twice in the cottage ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0021 (16)

DSC_0024 (16)

DSC_0025 (16)

DSC_0027 (16)

I don’t think they have trained him at all with becoming housebroken but he’s getting it rather quickly but my experience with boy puppies is that they are more difficult to get housebroken than the girls. Sune is very torn when it comes to Albin, he can play with him a lot but suddenly he really can’t stand him ๐Ÿ™‚ Treats go a long way though so I’m not especially worried. Nova is very concerned though. If Albin sounds worried she’s the first one there but every time she wants to play with him Sune sort of takes over and plays with her instead.

 

DSC_0029 (16)

DSC_0031 (15)

He's leading but he aint happy :-)
He’s leading but he aint happy ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0034 (13)

The morning was quite pleasant, it wasn’t as cool as I had hoped but 10C (50F) was just enough to keep the flies calm. The sun shone and the air was absolutely still, it feels like the humidity is high but it isn’t, it is actually very low ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess it’s the absence of wind that makes it feel like that. The temperature is rising and we’ll get it just as hot today as we had yesterday they say. Clouds cover the sky at the moment but as soon as they fly away it will become a bit nasty.

 

The camera too this by itself and since it doesn't take a photo unless it is focused I have started to think I might need to buy a new lens :-)
The camera too this by itself and since it doesn’t take a photo unless it is focused I have started to think I might need to buy a new lens ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0036 (15)

So much happier now :-)
So much happier now ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0038 (16)

We walked our usual route and after a while I connected Albin’s leash to Sunes harness. I can’t say that Sune seemed to love it but he did walk slower and made sure Albin had a chance to smell the surroundings too. Next walk I’ll connect Albin to Nova instead and see how that works. I had bought Albin a tiny harness too but it still was too big ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m guessing that it will fit in two weeks or so but it would be great if it fitted earlier. I’ve never really liked to have a collar around the neck because if the dog pulls or the owner would pull the leash a bit too hard the neck can get injured. No risk of that yet though, he’s not strong enough and I like to walk a bit slow ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Flowers in my garden right now. This is Illiamna remota.
Flowers in my garden right now. This is Illiamna remota.
Perhaps a Clarkia?
Perhaps a Clarkia?

DSC_0042 (16)

No idea, came with a mixed seed package.
No idea, came with a mixed seed package.
White Musk mallow.
White Musk mallow.
Some clematis.
Some clematis.
Hollyhock but I can't remember what species.
Hollyhock but I can’t remember what species.
Rosa rugosa, very hardy.
Rosa rugosa, very hardy and weedy.

It is time to take a walk again before the sun starts to shine through the clouds and it will be too hot for a small puppy to walk around. After that I’ll make a big pot of tea with lots of honey and ginger, my throat is sour again, oh the joy of having a summer cold ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0050 (12)

DSC_0051 (12)

DSC_0052 (10)

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “He sleeps like a log.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Oh, the joy of housebreaking puppies. At least poo is somewhat easier to clean up than pee unless there’s a digestive problem.
    I’ve only ever housebroken one puppy. A female. I crate trained her and that was the easiest way. She did learn quickly.
    Rocky and Piki Dog were more or less house trained when they came. They just had to learn the access code to get the door to open. Rocky thought it was sit quietly by the door until someone notices you or you can’t hold it anymore. Piki Dog thought it was throw yourself at the human until she figures out that you don’t need cookies but you’ll take them anyway thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚ Now I have official dog bells on the door. Before those were available, I had horse harness bells which were kind of large for a door handle decoration.

    Sune does not look happy at having the baby sitting gig. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s cramping his style. I wonder if he remembers being tethered to Hector and Orvar.

    It did not rain or anything last night. It stayed hot. It was warm enough that the air conditioner ran a lot last night even though it was set at 75ยบF. Same thing at 6AM this morning which was unusual. It was very warm and humid outside for our morning walk. The dogs did all their business at the end of the dirt road and headed back home again. I was all for that.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      So far so good but then again he’s only lived here for two days now ๐Ÿ™‚ There are so many other things I have managed to surpress, like how good they are in finding things they can but shouldn’t eat ๐Ÿ™‚ Sune was surprisingly easy but Orvar was incontinent until he was two years old, he peed in his sleep or where ever he was at the moment.
      None of my dogs have understood the bells ๐Ÿ™‚ So I’m hoping for a break through with Albin ๐Ÿ™‚ Well Nove understand it but she can always wait until we’re going out. She did use them once when Orvar really needed to go outside. He was just like Piki Dog, he leaned towards the door hoping that I would notice it ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I did wonder if Sune ans Nova remembered, perhaps they did because they did seem to understand to walk slower even if Nova’s slower still was pretty fast ๐Ÿ™‚
      I do wonder what Bertil is thinking ๐Ÿ™‚

      We reached 89,8F for a very short moment and after that it dropped to balmy 82F ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      Low humidity all day here but way too hot to take walks with a puppy. I’ll see what the thermometer says now at 6:30pm, if it has cooled down enough to take a walk again.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Yes, I had forgotten the finding of edible inedibles. My old dog Tegan was a star at that. The memories still gross me out. :b
        With the bells, the human has to remember to ring them now and then when opening the door just to reinforce the whole idea. Rocky gets it. Piki Dog not so much.

        Like

  2. Christer,
    My hollyhocks haven’t bloomed yet. I can see the buds, but they aren’t close to blooming.

    Gracie uses a harness when she walks. When we go in the car, a leash is enough. She is always happy to be heading to the car. This time of year she is disappointed as it is too hot to take her.

    Gracie trained quickly. I had poochie bells attached to the door know and she learned to use this right away. Even now when the door is closed because of the AC she still rings her bells. To come inside she flaps the dog door.

    That puppy is just so darn cute!!

    Have a great evening!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I have two of this pale species they are perennial but it looks like they will give up this year. I’ll see if I can get some seeds but I’ll also buy seeds from other species.

      Yes harness is much better when being out on a walk, if they pull there’s no risk of injuring their necks.

      I’ll see if Albin gets the poochie bells and actually will use them ๐Ÿ™‚ So much easier if they need to go outside during the night.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Oh the fun of puppyhood! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sure Albin will pick up things quick since Sune and Nova will teach him. They pick up stuff pretty quick when they have good patient teachers. Was rather unwell yesterday so just catching up now. Sinus troubles and it made me feel so gross. Better today! Off to read today’s post.

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      It seems he now understands that chewing on electric cords are wrong ๐Ÿ™‚ but he’s very far from housetrained yet ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nothing worse than getting sick in summer! I do hope Your problems goes away quickly!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. most my dogs were adults but My Maddie and Blue were puppies and they both were super easy to train.
    one a female and one a male
    so I can’t say either is easier.

    Like

    1. Hi Cindi!

      Most of my dogs have been born in my home ๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s usually easier to house train a girl since she pees in one place and that’s it, boys pees several times when going out so one never knows when they are finished ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

