Albin.

DSC_0091 (2)

I’m a bit proud of myself since I’ve known for over four weeks that this little guy, now named Albin, would move here today πŸ™‚ He’s an Amstaff born not too far from here but it all started with another dog. I had seen an ad on the net about a smaller dog who needed a new home and his problem was that he was afraid of almost everything and needed a home where it was rather quiet and I thought this most likely is one of the most quite place there is πŸ™‚ So I called and it was then I was told it was a dog adoption organisation who had placed the ad.

 

DSC_0092 (2)

DSC_0093 (2)

DSC_0094 (1)

We had really thick fog here this morning butthe sun broke through early and the fog vanished within a few minutes.
We had really thick fog here this morning but the sun broke through early and the fog vanished within a few minutes.

They had conveniently forgotten to write that this organisation brought dogs to Sweden from Spain. Now You might wonder why I don’t like this, well it is because the vets in especially Spain and Rumania have stacks of ready written papers about all kind of examinations and shots that they have given these dog but in reality nothing has been done at all. It is so bad that swedish insurance companies now don’t accept any veterinarian papers from veterinarians from abroad, the dogs must go through a thorough examination here before they accept it. This has also led to us getting some nasty diseases to this country that we didn’t have before and luckily enough some of them are only spread by the right mosquito and we don’t have them yet. Climate change however will soon make them move north.

 

DSC_0033 (14)

DSC_0037 (14)

DSC_0038 (15)

DSC_0039 (14)

I thought however that since the dog already was here and the damage done I just as well could bring him here. A few days before I was supposed to meet him a family showed interest too and I said that if they wanted him and the adoption organisation thought it was a good match I would step back and so I did when they wanted him. So I started to look at ads again and found the one about Albin. It said in the ad that there was no use in calling but instead I should write an e-mail and describe how I lived and how I would do if I worked, so I did and they liked my mail but they had only one male pup left and I was just hit by the cold.

 

DSC_0041 (14)

DSC_0043 (14)

DSC_0044 (14)

DSC_0045 (15)

They saved him so that I would have a chance to meet him and decideΒ΄if I wanted to have him and here we are πŸ™‚ Nova and Sune is a bit confused because this little boy showed that he really wanted them to take it easy when they met πŸ™‚ He also likes to growl when playing so they are not sure what to do πŸ™‚ but every time he sounds worried Nova runs to him to make sure everything is ok and Sune looks at him looking a bit grumpy πŸ™‚ Guess if I now have two older dogs who are very spoiled and gets treats as soon as they are close to Albin πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0049 (13)

DSC_0052 (9)

DSC_0053 (8)

DSC_0055 (7)

We took a small walk but it is just too hot today, 28C (82,4F) and absolutely no wind what so ever so we are all exhausted after just a few meters. Instead we’ll have to go out into the garden every now and again but not for too long since I don’t want Albin getting heat stroke and the other dogs aren’t too happy about the heat either. I had bought a tiny harness for him but it is just too big πŸ™‚ My plan is to have him leashed to the older dogs, they can take turns every second time or so but I will let them walk around as they please for a long time at first, that’s how I did with both Sune and Nova.

 

DSC_0064 (4)

DSC_0065 (4)

DSC_0066 (4)

DSC_0067 (4)

It is time for me to make myself some dinner, all the animals have already gotten their. By the way, Bertil seems to like Albin a lot but Teo just looked at him and went outside again πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0068 (3)

DSC_0069 (2)

DSC_0071 (3)

DSC_0072 (3)

Have a great day!

 

27

62

79

16 thoughts on “Albin.

  1. Hi Christer,
    You kept that secret well. Did he come with the name Albin?
    What a cutie with his pink and black nose. He’ll need sunblock. πŸ™‚
    I’m glad Bertil seems to like Albin. Turning into a nice cat has its rewards.

    It’s hot here, too. There’s a pretty stiff breeze blowing but it doesn’t help much unless one is in the shade. It’s fine in the house so far but I’ll turn the AC on later. It’s supposed to get to the mid 90’s F and the humidity is up. Thunder storms are predicted. We’ll see. We’re under an increased fire hazard warning because there’s been no appreciable rain for a very long time and everything is dry as a bone.

    The dogs didn’t want to take me for a walk this morning. They turned back at the end of the church driveway and headed for home. They are both asleep next to me on the couch as I type.

    Enjoy the new puppy and the rest of the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I really did πŸ™‚
      No Albin is something I gave him, I think I heard them call him Dexter πŸ™‚

      I do like his pink nose and I think all his pads are pink too πŸ™‚ I have actually wondered if he does need sunblock, does he? I had a cat once with a light pink nose and she always burned it when summer came. The first thin Bertil did when he saw Albin was to run to him and lick him on the nose πŸ™‚

      It has cooled down some but not enough for a walk but we have been outside and all tentions are loosening up nowTeodor accepts him but that’s it πŸ™‚ They say the risk of fires are high here too now but I’m not syre they mean this particular one since the grass is green and the ground still is moist. It is a very long time since You mentioned that it had rained where You live, perhaps a few thunder showers would be good to get.

      Sune got too hot for a walk but Nova could have continued for hours, she really likes hot weather, even sleeps in the sunligyt on the kitchen stairs when it is as hottest πŸ™‚

      I am πŸ™‚ Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. Albin is much better than Dexter.

        It sounds like Bertil thinks you got him a surprise puppy.
        Or maybe Bertil recognizes an old friend returned?

        Yes, you should put sun block on him. Only use pet specific sun block or sun block approved for use on infants. Don’t use anything with Zinc Oxide, Octyl Salicylate, Homosalate and/or Ethylhexyl Salicylate in it. Those are all toxic to dogs and especially so to cats.
        There’s only one FDA approved pet sunblock in the US and it’s called Epi-Pet. It’s only for dogs. Nothing for cats yet because most of the active ingredients in sun block turn into aspirin in a cat’s body and aspirin is toxic to cats. You might have more choice in Sweden.

        Like

      2. Yes it is, I liked that series but I’m not sure if one should name a puppy after a fictional mass murderer πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I’ll see what I can find in the pet store when I go there next time. We quite often follow the FDA so I’m not sure if we have anything else but I’ll see what I can find.

        Like

  2. Hi Christer! OMG he’s precious!!!! πŸ™‚ Of course I am a big fan of having as many animals as possible so welcome, welcome Albin!!! He is totally adorable. Such pretty markings too. I am sure by the end of the weekend everyone will be getting along just right! I would have never been able to keep quiet that long, good for you! πŸ™‚ We are hot again today. Not as bad as Wednesday, but hot enough that you can’t walk the dogs. I am scared they will get heat stroke. Rain tomorrow so they say. Of course it will rain, its the weekend πŸ™‚ Lovely photos today – my favorites are the fog. Have a lovely evening!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      He sure is πŸ™‚ even his pads are light pink πŸ™‚

      The tentions have already started to losen up now πŸ™‚ Sune even played with Albin for a while in the garden and Nove gets worried as soon as Albin makes a sound πŸ™‚

      We’ll have high temperatures for at least four more days, the sunny weather will continue but cooler air will flow in over us. I don’t dare taking any walks today, just too warm but we’ll have a nice walk again tomorrow morning. I do hope it cools down a lot again during the night.

      Foggy photos are always nice to look at πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Welcome Albin! Looks very loveable. We have been without a dog for awhile (have 4 cats). Our son’s miniature Australian shepherd puppy stays with us some. I’m not a big fan of miniature anything, but this one has stolen our hearts, as Albin will as we get to know him better. Your temperatures sound cool compared to ours!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      I’m not a big fan of miniatures either but that’s mostly because owners to miniature dogs tend not to raise them well or at all but if they are raised well that can be just as lovekly as bigger dogs.

      Yes when I write that we have a heat wave here I mean a Scandinavian heat wave πŸ™‚ Our really hot days here are like rather cool where You live πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. awww – what a cute story and what a cute puppy. congratulations on the addition to your family. he has already fit in so easily it seems, and the others are so wonderfully accepting and protective. –suz in ohio

    Like

    1. Hi suz!

      He sure is cute πŸ™‚
      Sune is however still a bit confused about this little one but they did play yesterday so give it a few days and he’ll be fine too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. what a surprise! and what a cute pup! he is so lucky he found you!!! this will be exciting to follow. unless of course i melt in this freaking killer heat we are having. it’s even too hot for the boys to go to the baseball games and nothing ever stops that from happening. the heat index is in the low 100’s. yuck!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      He sure is cute πŸ™‚ Nova doesn’t mind that he’s here but Sune isn’t quite that sure about having him here though πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure he will be more popular as soon as he stop chewing on us πŸ™‚

      It’s already over 82,4F here and it’s not even 11am. I’m so glad we don’t get Your temperatures up here πŸ™‚
      A bgood thing they don’t go to baseball if the heat indwex is over 100!

      Have a great day despite the heat!

      Chister.

      Like

  6. Christer,
    How wonderful you have a new puppy. It resembles Gracie a bit with his brindle coloring. I remember Nova being attached by her leash and being taught to mind. I’m glad all of the other animals are mostly good with the new baby.

    I so love all the pictures you’ve posted. It will be fun watching him grow!!

    Happy new puppy!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      He’s a nice little guy πŸ™‚ and Nova doesn’t care if he’s around but it will take some time for Sune to fully accept him. Sune is a bit jelaous but treats does help a lot πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

