I do wonder what it was that made all that noise.

The sky look worse than it was.
The sky look worse than it was.

I woke up just before the alarm was set to start by a sound I really can’t say what it was. It was really loud and could be anything from a military plane to a car with a broken muffler. I doubt that it was a car since the sound came from the forest and passed by towards the village and very few cars drive around here before 5 am πŸ™‚ What ever it was had passed before I really was awake though so I’ll never know what it was I guess.

 

DSC_0045 (11)

DSC_0047 (8)

DSC_0048 (10)

We call these cherries Bird Berries. The berries are rather small but quite often very sweet. I'm surprised that I actually got a chance to eat some and I did save the kernels :-)
We call these cherries Bird Berries. The berries are rather small but quite often very sweet. I’m surprised that I actually got a chance to eat some and I did save the kernels πŸ™‚

Why did I set the alarm You might wonder, well every six months I need to wash the paint box with stronger stuff than distilled water which I do once every week (the box is made from some kind of plastic and the powder paint has a hard time sticking to it) and I had long ago decided today was the day I was going to use stronger stuff since there isn’t any production going on there for three weeks now. Lots of maintenanceΒ work is done though so I wasn’t alone in the factory. Normally I use methylated spirit but this time I wanted to try something much stronger, Thinner.

 

DSC_0021 (11)

DSC_0022 (11)

DSC_0024 (11)

Cikoria, can be used as lettuce and the dried rosted root were often used as a coffee surrogate during WW2.
Cikoria, can be used as lettuce and the dried rosted root were often used as a coffee surrogate during WW2.

I’ve never used that before so I just tried it in a few rather big spots and I won’t know the result until we start working in three weeks. I could however see a huge difference in how clean the places became, so my guess is that I’ll use only thinner the next time I’ll clean the box sometime around Christmas. The thinner smells a lot though so no one else can really work in the painting department while I’m doing it. I wasn’t at work for long, three hours or slightly less but instead of having five vacation days left to use I now have six πŸ™‚

 

Theseeds to  Redberried elderberry tree I sowed years ago (coming from Ussuria in southern Siberia) is slightly different from the ones growing wild here. The umbels are bigger and the berries are smaller. This one is also said to not be poisonous.
The seeds to Redberried elderberry tree I sowed years ago (coming from Ussuri in southern Siberia) is slightly different from the ones growing wild here. The umbels are bigger and the berries are smaller. This one is also said to not be poisonous.
This one in the forest is poisonous though. I've never tried the berries on my trees though :-)
This one in the forest is poisonous though. I’ve never tried the berries on my trees though πŸ™‚
The first Toadstool.
The first Toadstool.

DSC_0034 (9)

I can feel that the cold hasn’t left my body at all, cleaning the paint box is anything but hard but I sweated something awful and now my entire body aches πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I do feel much better otherwise though so it is going the right way. I just learned that I had given this cold to a work friend too, he had just come back from a discΒ surgery, where he almost bled to death. One can say a lot about me but I always share what I have to others πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0028 (11)

DSC_0031 (10)

DSC_0032 (9)

DSC_0033 (10)

We’ve had a rather nice day here, lots of clouds in the sky but also lots of cracks between them where the sun has been able to shine down to the earth. A slightly too weak wind has also been blowing so a few flies have found us and annoyed us on our walks. Still it could have been worse, the humidity has been very low today.

 

DSC_0036 (10)

DSC_0038 (11)

DSC_0050 (8)

DSC_0052 (6)

I can already now feel that it’ll be an early night and I won’t do much until I’ll go to bed.

Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “I do wonder what it was that made all that noise.

  1. Christer,
    Humidity saps your strength. If I am outside when it is really humid, I sweat and get exhausted quickly. Today has a lower temperature but it is humid. Supposedly the weather will get better in the next couple of days.

    I haven’t seen anyone playing the new Pokemon game, but there are lots of players in the city. They are chasing animated creatures which don’t resemble anything alive if that helps you know they aren’t killing real animals. The worry is that players will walk into the road or hurt themselves in other ways by not paying attention.

    That is one stubborn cold you have. It might have been more than a cold for it to hang around so long. Maybe it is a virus.

    I’m glad you have that extra day!

    Have a wonderful afternoon.

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      It does but I can’t blame humidity today since it was rather low πŸ™‚ We’ll have this nice weather for at least a week they say and I’ll believe it when it happens πŸ™‚

      What I don’t like with this game is how it glorifies animal abuse, it realy doesn’t matter if they are animated or aren’t looking like anything living today.

      It is beyond stubborn πŸ™‚ It would most likely been over by now if I had gotten it in winter, sumer colds are long lived I’m afraid. Then again I do have time to take it easy now πŸ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    We call that blue flower Chickory. It grows abundantly in all the vacant areas along side roads and in empty lots. It would be another good plant for the sun-baked piece of ground in front of my house. It’s particularly good because it’s such a lovely blue that would go well with my yellow and white house.

    There are bird cherries here, too. I used to call them bird berries. They’re the ones I usually see bopped onto my car hood and windshield. They’re from pin cherry or choke cherry trees. I don’t know what they taste like but they’re probably not sweet. And they’re mostly seed.

    Today it is very hot. It’s 94ΒΊF now. I did get to keep the windows opened last night which was nice. As soon as I woke up and put the dogs out, I closed up the house and turned on the AC. It was already uncomfortable outside.
    The dogs are wicked bored. We go outside and five minutes later they want to go inside. Ten minutes after that they want out again. And I thought cats were the kings of always being on the wrong side of the door. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I used the scientiffic name because I was too lasy to find the English one πŸ™‚ We here however do call it cikoria. Not that common out here in the countryside butI have seen it in towns. I do like that pale blue color and I might sow some inmyu garden too, both beautiful and tasty πŸ™‚

      These were actually quite tasty, wild cherries aren’t that all the time πŸ™‚ but rather small unfortunately, one need lots of them if one wants to make jam πŸ™‚ I am however surprised that I actually get the chance to eat any, normally the irds eat them just before they ripen πŸ™‚

      Really nice here so I have the kitchen door open so te dogs can go in and out as they please, unfortunately so do the flies :-)Still Sune is a bit bored because Nova doesn’t want to play as much as he does. I’ve also noticed that dogs can be just as annoying with that as cats are πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Well, if I would have heard that noise I would have immediately assumed it was aliens. πŸ™‚ Barring that perhaps some farm equipment? But I still would think aliens. πŸ™‚ I stayed home today – didn’t have the best sleep and was so stuffy all night. Now I am sneezing my head off and my face is itchy. Always something! I like the toadstool picture! Are those poisonous? We have mushroom around here, but I wouldn’t know what is safe and what isn’t. So I buy mine from a store, in a can πŸ™‚ I am not fussy on fresh mushrooms. Prefer the canned. I hope that cold just really goes away now. My grandfather used to have a saying – if it doesn’t pay rent, kick it out. πŸ™‚ Time to kick that cold out…

    Have a good evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      But aren’t aliens in films mostly quiet? I would have suspected them if it had been more of a swooshing sound πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It could have been one of te tractors they use up at the castle, I don’t think it ever has had a muffler πŸ™‚ but then the sound wouldn’t have come from that direction but it is still a good candidate for that noise πŸ™‚

      I think almost all but one toadstool is deadly. One is edible and quite tasty and another one is edible and tasty up to a certain point. Its poisons are stored in the internal organs and one day You’ve eaten one too many of them and then You’ll die πŸ™‚ So it is always best not to try any of them πŸ™‚

      I know quite a lot of mushrooms so I hope for a good mushroom year.

      I’ve really tried it to pay rent and it is really hard to evict it πŸ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. hi christer! we have chickory here too. people still drink it mixed with coffee in new orleans. we had rain for about 5 minutes and that is it for the week. it’s going to be near 100 degrees too so my plants will suffer. all i do is water!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I think I still can buy chickory coffee in health care stores and I think it’s pretty expensive too. I think I’ll stay withg the real thing πŸ™‚

      So You didn’t get more rain! 100!!!! I think I’ll stop complaining about our cool and rainy weather πŸ™‚ Yes everything suffers in those temperatures!

      Have a great day despite that nasty heat!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. It’s going to be 95 to 100 this week in Kansas too and no rain. NOT my favorite time of year. We have chickory along the road west of us but none down on our end. I think we have too much shade.

    Hope you wake up tomorrow with your cold or virus completely gone so you can enjoy the rest of your vacation.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce F!

      95 to 100 is just nasty!I thought it was awful when we for once reached 87 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Like I said to Joyce, I think I’ll stop complaining about our cool and rainy weather now πŸ™‚

      The chickory isn’t that common in the wild here where I live but I’ve seen it in towns and cities. Love to eat it though so perhaps I should sow some here in my garden next spring.

      LKittle cghanse on that I’m afraid, this cold will fight till the bitter end πŸ™‚ but it does force me to take it easy and rest a lot πŸ™‚

      Have a great day despite that heat!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

