The mosquito hat is on.

They said we were going to have sunny mornings and cloudy afternoons so I’m not at all surprised that we’ve had cloudy mornings and somewhat sunny afternoons 🙂 I’m not sure for how long it will last though because I have already heard the thunder and I can see on the live lightning map that more might be on its way here. I wouldn’t mind if we finally got some thunder because the flies are behaving just nasty now. I posted an old video on the top showing how much flies that flies around my head but in reality there are lots more flies right now.

 

We met Teodor on our walk and he kept on looking behind him and wasn't at all interested in greeting us.
We met Teodor on our walk and he kept on looking behind him and wasn’t at all interested in greeting us.

DSC_0025 (9)

DSC_0027 (8)

It looks healthy.
It looks healthy.

I had to go to Falköping this morning, I ordered a tiny bush, a honeysuckle with edible berries (Lonicera caerulea var.camtschatica, we call it blueberry lornicea). I already have two but they never give any berries even if they have loads of flowers and lots of bumblebees fly to it. So I was thinking it could be like that because they are the same variety, like apples You know. So I bought the wild species instead and hope that this will solve the berry problem. I did bring my camera and stopped a few times to take photos.

 

DSC_0032 (7)

Nova playing with Sune. He's hiding behind the bushes :-)
Nova playing with Sune. He’s hiding behind the bushes 🙂

DSC_0035 (8)

The redberried Elderberry trees I have are looking beautiful now. I think I need to cut down one though, they spread happily so I now have several in my garden.
The redberried Elderberry trees I have are looking beautiful now. I think I need to cut downa few though, they spread happily so I now have several in my garden.

We now have so many flies that they are driving me insane, especially since the mornings have been warm and the flies have been ready when we’re passing by. Still very few biting ones though so I guess I at least should be happy for that. I had to wear the mosquito hat while mowing the lawn yesterday, I wouldn’t mind that much if they only flew around my head but I just can’t stand it when tey’¨re trying to get in to my nose and ears. Even the farmers and those working in the forest, who all are rather used to lots of flies, think it is a bit too much now. The dogs only react to them when we’re indoors oddly enough, they really don’t like it when the flies walk on their paws and nose when they are sleeping 🙂

 

It was quite foggy in many places up on the mountain.
It was quite foggy in many places up on the mountain.

DSC_0043 (7)

I stopped a few minutes at the Monestary ruins.
I stopped a few minutes at the Monastery ruins.

DSC_0044 (8)

Besides the flies it’s a rather nice day, the wind has finally started to blow, the sun is shining every now and again and my cold seems to have given up. It is still there but I can feel that it is losing the battle. Very few birds are still singing, I did hear a larch this morning and some Chaffinch are still going on as well. The rest just chirp like they do all winter. The grasshoppers play their music but I’m still waiting for the first Katydids to start, they sound just like grasshoppers but are much, much louder. Of course that will also mean autumn isn’t far away. Another sign that autumn is coming is that I saw two campers down by the lake. There will not be as many as there are in spring though.

 

DSC_0047 (5)

DSC_0048 (7)

DSC_0049 (7)

DSC_0050 (6)

DSC_0046 (8)

DSC_0045 (8)

It is time to make a pot of tea and perhaps something to eat. I don’t know why but I bought sausages and meatballs when I picked up the package, can’t say that I longed for either though 🙂 So I might use them when doing a sandwich or two, the dogs know they’ll get some too so they’ll be happy 🙂

 

I also stopped a while down by the lake.
I also stopped a while down by the lake.

DSC_0064 (2)

DSC_0065 (2)

DSC_0071 (1)

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0073 (1)

DSC_0076 (1)

10 thoughts on “The mosquito hat is on.

    1. Hi Joyce!

      It is the bog that makes this a paradise for flies and the forest helps the flies to stay when the winds are strong. This will soon be over thankfully and we’ll have a few weeks before the moose flies come but thay usually stays close to the bog, I’m so glad I can walk in the fields then 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  1. Hi Christer! Nothing like having to wear a mosquito hat when mowing the lawn. I detest mosquitoes – they are such a pain in the butt. Last night we went to one of our most favorite provincial parks – Birds Hill Park – and took Karma for a swim. Turned out they were fishing where you are allowed dogs to swim so we couldn’t do that but we walked for an hour through the paths and it was such a lovely night. Even the mosquitoes who have been rather bad due to all the rain we have had were decent. Karma thought it was the best night ever.

    We could not take Tucker because he gets car sick and he just ate supper, so that would have been a disaster waiting to happen. He’s happier at home where there is no movement. He goes for a haircut tomorrow so that is his outing 🙂

    Love the pictures of the ruins!! So incredibly lovely!

    Well, today my throat feels like it is getting sore. I am waiting to see if its something or nothing. Could be from the air conditioning at work or it could be the summer cold that is going around. I hope not but will have to surrender to whatever comes my way 🙂

    The cats looks happy to be outside doing cat things! Do they ever get anxious when the wildlife shows up? I hope your evening is pleasant with no mosquitoes 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      But I didn’t wear it because of mosquitos but because of flies 🙂 The mosquitos I can handle, they are slower and usually don’t care about trying to see how it olooks inside my ears and nose 🙂

      The lightning just hit a bit over a kilometer (around a mile) away in the bog, I wouldn’t mind if it continued for a while so the flies calms down.

      Too bad that she couldn’t take a bath! Dogs who loves to bathe really loves it 🙂 Still as long as she was happy that’s the important thing.I have thankfully never had a dog who got car sick and it would be a disaster if supper has been served just before 🙂

      I do hope it’s just the air conditioning! This is not the time to get a cold, better wait with that until late autumn 🙂

      I do like to walk around in those ruins, there’s a calmness in there which is hard to find elsewhere.

      Teodor was anxcious this morning since there was a fox so close, he was chased up a tree by a fox when he was rather young. Bertil however, the small one is never afraid of anything. He has chased foxes away instead 🙂

      Very little mosquitos around but if the rain keep on falling we’ll soon have plenty.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Christer,
    Those flies in your video would have driven me mad. The only major encounter I had was walking the dog as well. I spent most of my time keeping them off her while I was getting attacked. I was in tears by the time I got back to the car.

    I loved the monastery pictures. The stonework is amazing. When was the monastery built?

    You have so many plants and flowering bushes around where you live. The flowers I see are mostly in peoples’ gardens. I do have three wild rose bushes around my house. My landscaper wants to cut them down, but I won’t let him. They are all over the cape, and I am happy to have some in my yard.

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Still, we have lots more flies now than in that video. Thankfully it’s just the annoying kind and not the biting ones. If they just had left my ears and nostrils alnow I would have ignored them. From now on the mosquito hat will come along on all walks.

      I know that the queen Katarina Sunesdotter gave the the nuns this place at 1250 but the builkding is older than that. Even though the monastery was plundered by the Swedish King Gustav Vasa the building stood for several years after that but burnt down later on.

      Well this is the countryside so lots of flowers are expected I guess but still, we have lots fewer than normal here, the ground has just too little nutrition and is very wet since most of it once was either a lake or big swamps. Here we see very few flowers in the garden though, farmers usually only had what could be useful, like berry bushes and fruit trees. Flowers were considered an unnecessary luxury and that still hangs around here.

      I normally only have wild roses since they are hardy and beautiful but I do actually ahve two “garden” roses too even if they are very picky 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    The fox looks very healthy and rather well fed, too. Is that a cat in the field way off to the left side of the first fox photo? I zoomed and it looks like a black cat but I still couldn’t tell for sure.

    The birds here sing or chatter all the time. English sparrows mostly. But I hear the cardinals and American robins singing in the morning along with the nuthatch and chickadees and some tiny wren that lives in the brush piles. The crows are always talking to each other, too.

    Piki Dog gets irritated by flies. There’s one that buzzes his butt while he’s in the side yard looking for the perfect place to poop. Piki spends a lot of time leaping about trying to snap at it. Rocky doesn’t care about flies. He just walks away. The number of flies in your video would bug me a lot. 🙂 I’d have to wear the bee hat, too.

    Today was hot, humid and sunny. It’s about 92ºF here now. The air conditioner has been coming on frequently all day even though I have it set on the warm side of comfortable. I was doing errands this morning and it was nasty warm. Same for the weekend, I think. Bleh.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I must admit that I didn’t see that cat before You wrote about it here 🙂 Yes it is a cat and I think it is Salmiak 🙂 I don’t think the fox saw him either 🙂

      No bird song here just the usual chatter. Autumn is closing in so most birds prepare to fly south and to just make sure their young ones will be ready too. I haven’t heard a wren in several weeks now, they are easier to hear later when all other birds have moved 🙂

      Still there are more flies around now than in that video 🙂 I wouldn’t care if they just left my nose and ears alone, why do they have to go in there??!! At least we still only have a few biting ones.-

      We did get thunder yesterday, the lightning hit once in the bog a mile away and then it was over 🙂 Didn’t make much use with the flies tjough. We’ll have this weather for at least one more week.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Great photos1
    Love the fox.
    I see that Bertil is still angry at life.
    Those flies make me think of some horror movie!
    I couldn’t handle that. Even a random one or two drives me nuts.

    Like

    1. Hi Cindi!

      But Bertil has a very different personality now. After Orvar died he was so lost that he refused to leave the cottage and suddenly became nice!! He’s so nice now that no one can stand him 🙂 🙂 🙂 I do feel so sorry for him because Orvar was much of his life.

      One could think that one would get used tothe flies but no one doesn’t 🙂 I just hate them!!!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

