I’ll soon have new potatoes :-)

DSC_0037 (6)

The weather is a bit crappy, grey and dull, rather low temperature and rain almost all the time. Sometimes showers but mostly misty rain, You know the kind that eat its way through the clothes in a few minutes and then continues all the way in to the bones so You feel like You’re freezing from within. I really don’t need to turn on the heat because of the chilly weather but I still have one radiator working to keep the dampness out of the cottage.

 

DSC_0038 (6)

DSC_0039 (6)

DSC_0040 (7)

They say e might not get rain tomorrow and I hope they’re right for once so I can start mowing the lawn. It will still be rather wet but it would need several days with sunshine and hard winds to dry that grass up and no weather site predicts anything like that I’m afraid, after all I do have vacation so why should we have nice weather 🙂 I really need to win the lottery so I too will get the chance to experience nice weather and not have to work when we have it 🙂

 

DSC_0042 (6)

DSC_0048 (5)

DSC_0050 (4)

It is a good berry and fruit year this year, I’m already eating lots of raspberries when we’re out walking, the red and black currants are giving me lots of berries and so does the gooseberry bushes. There are lots of apples in the trees and this must be a record year for Rowan berries. I’ve never seen this many Rowan berries before but I don’t think we’ll get a cold winter because of that, it does however show that the spring was fantastic for all plants this year.

 

 

DSC_0052 (2)

DSC_0053 (2)
Not many photos taken this morning, so the rest are from yesterday afternoon.

My potatoes have just started to flower so I can son have my first own potatoes as dinner 🙂 I think the ones I have are old varieties so with a bit of luck I’ll get some, what I call potato tomatoes. They are seeds capsules that look very much like small tomatoes but are very poisonous so never try to eat them. Inside however there are lots of seeds and they ca be sown next year. The potatoes those seed plants will give can look very odd and taste anything from delicious to quite plain.

 

We have lots of butterflies here now and the ones I show are just a few, they were the easiest ones to photograph :-) I think this might be a Cabbage butterfly, the greenish color is a bit wrong though.
We have lots of butterflies here now and the ones I show are just a few, they were the easiest ones to photograph 🙂 I think this might be a Cabbage butterfly, the greenish color is a bit wrong though  Could be a female Lemon butterfly but then the black dot should be red.
We have two butterflies looking like this. This is the smaller one.
We have two butterflies looking like this. This is the smaller one.
This is the bigger one and it is twice the size.
This is the bigger one and it is twice the size.

They can also look very different, I’ve read about a man who once got one huge potato that was pitch black inside 🙂 It was edible but not something he wanted to continue with. There’s one problem though, the seed sown potatoes might be vulnerable for some of the worst potato diseases there is the Potato wart disease (or black scab disease) ! If one gets that You can’t grow potatoes anywhere near again for at least a decade (there are new varieties that are immune to most of these nasty diseases and those can of course grow there anyway) and it can move to other close relatives to the potato too. So it is always best to plants sown potatoes in pots with no contact with the ground what so ever.

 

DSC_0027 (6)

DSC_0029 (7)

This is one of my absolute favorite amongst butterflies.
This is one of my absolute favorite amongst butterflies.

Sune is bored, he wants to go outside to play and I have the kitchen door open but Nova refuse to go outside in this weather and I’m just not as fun as she is 🙂 So I’m hoping for more wind and less rain so we can take a few more walks today. I think I’m slowly winning the war against my cold, I slept all night, the throat is better and I’m just a little bit hoarse today. I won’t say Hurrah until I know it is over though 🙂

 

DSC_0022 (6)
The Himalayan Impatiens, an annual weed that suffocates all plants growing close to it, even stinging nettles and those are hard to get rid of 🙂
This flower only grwos where it is as dryest, no other plant can compete with it there.
This flower only grows where it is as dryest, no other plant can compete with it there.

Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “I’ll soon have new potatoes :-)

  1. HI Christer! Glad to hear that things are clearing up on the cold front. Hopefully this will be the last few days of it. My son has caught something, he came home yesterday sniffling and coughing so its just a matter of time before he shares the virus. 🙂 We had thunder and rain in the night, today is not much better they are still calling for rain so we will have to wait and see. I won’t complain, free water from the sky is better than me paying for it from the tap. 🙂 Lovely photos today – the green butterfly on the purple flower is just great!! I too have flowers on my potatoes. I have 4 bags of potatoes growing. I hope I get a good harvest this year. Something has eaten my swiss chard and something still is picking all the heads off my marigolds. I am sure its the grackles. We have tons in our yard. Also, everyday when I go out to the garden, I have lovely colored marbles in my veg trug just for contrast and a bit of whimsy, and everyday the marbles have been tossed out of the trug and onto the ground. Being cheeky is what that is!!! I am sure its the birds, they like shiny thing. Have a good day!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I’m better but it still iosn’t over. I vacuumed all floors and scrubbed them and was totally exhausted after and this is a very small cottage 🙂

      >No thunder here but lots of rain, so far we’ve managed to be outside inbwteen showers 🙂 I have my owen well so I really feel water from above is unnecessary 🙂

      Birds can be a pain in the a.. sometimes 🙂 Here it’s the magpie and You have grackles 🙂 I’ve noticed that almost everything likes to eat swiss chard but mostly it’s slugs. We have thankfully not the spanish one here, it is enough with the native ones as it is 🙂

      I put down two ki,os of two different kinds of potatoes and a few that I missed last year survived our mild winter so I’ll have three kinds of potatoes this year 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. hi christer! so, how do i know when my potatoes are ready to harvest? mine have been flowering for a while. they are in a bag with a small door to open to get to the potatoes. does this mean that i can pick some and others will continue to grow? this is my first year growing them this way.

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      You can start to harvest now. I normally wait a week or so after they have started to flower but they will not be as big as they can be if You take them now, they’ll be a bit smaller.
      Yes You can take a few potatoes and lket the other grow a while longer. I think that’s one of the smarter inventions they’ve had in a long time! I’ve just read about them but I think they started to sell those bags here this year, a great thing if one wants to try and sow ones on potato seeds!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

      1. I hope You’ll get plenty! Sometimes however some potatoes only grow leafs, I really don’t know why but I think that it has to do with the soil and if it is nutritious. Too much nutritions and they won’t produce potatoes I think.

        Christer.

        Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    Lovely butterfly photos today. Did you mean the green color was wrong for a cabbage butterfly or the green color was wrong in the photo because the light was reflecting through leaves? Our cabbage moth (really a butterfly), Pieris rabbae, is white with the dark colored spots. It originally comes from Europe but was accidentally imported here. There are a lot of them and their caterpillars are an agricultural pest. I like the butterflies, though.

    Glad to hear you are clawing your way back to health. Sorry that your vacation weather so far has sucked. It sounds like the weather we just got rid of here. Now it’s sunny and warm with a slight breeze. The nasty humidity and high heat are heading here in the next couple of days.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      The cabbage butterfly (the one I mean is Pieris brassicae) is pure white so it shouldn’t be greenish like that one is, at the same time the female lemon butterfly is greenish but the black dot is wrong, it should be red 🙂 I think however there are a few butterflies that looks much like the cabbage one so it could be one of those. The cabbage butterfly is a pest over here too and it loves to eat nasturtium and all my broccoli plants 🙂 Still I like the butterflies too so I usually tries just to move the catepillars to wild flowers in the brassica family 🙂

      I think it is Your weather we’re having 🙂 It comes from southwest and that usually means New England weather 🙂 but we’re used to it, June july and August are the rainiest months in the year here.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Glad to read that you are feeling better, Christer, even if housework is the least favorite thing I would want to do when feeling poorly. Still, it must get done and the pets are no help in that chore.
    We tried growing potatoes years ago in Va when we had a garden and sadly never even had one grow. We had much better luck with zucchini, but TOO much success as we could never eat it fast enough and the same for cucumbers.
    The butterflies are beautiful coloration and even more so on an overcast day. I do miss seeing them because here living on the 5th floor there is not much chance of seeing any outside the window 😦

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      I actually got my voice back this morning 🙂 I almost sound like myself now 🙂 I thought that vacuuming and scrubbing floors stil,l was fairly easy to do and it was very much needed 🙂

      Some potatoes just grow leafs, I think there’s just too much nutrients in the soil when they do like that. I also think the varieties are important, the ones growing up here would most likely not do well that far south and I think the ones You can grow that south wouldn’t make it at all here.
      Zucchini are like that 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is impossible to eat it all and after a while friends and family just refuse to take any more 🙂 🙂

      I’m so glad I live where we have lots of butterflies but still even here there are fewer tha there used to be.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  5. Det är verkligen på tiden att du blir helt frisk! Kan ju inte precis vara ett nöje att känna sig lite sjuk även om man är på bättringsvägen. 😦
    Eftersom jag inte längre fått någon mailpåminnelse om dina inlägg, så har jag anmält mig som följare igen. Jag gjorde det direkt när du böt, men som vanligt för mig när det gäller det elektroniska så blev det väl nåt fel! *fniss* 😦 😦
    Alltså var jag tvungen att läsa tillbaka lite – och bästa bilden på Nova var headern till förra inlägget – helt fantastiskt bra!
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. Hejsan Susie!

      Det går åt rätt håll i alla fall, idag fick jag tillbaka en normal röst igen 🙂 Lite mörkare just nu men hesheten är borta 🙂 Dessutom orkade jag klippa hlava gräsmattan nu på morgonen, gräset var så högt att man nog kan säga att jag klippte dubbelt så mycket som hela trädgården 🙂 Som tur var kom en skur och stoppade vidare arbete 🙂 nu har jag den torraste och bästa delen kvar bara, den kommer att gå i ett nafs om det bara slutade regna.

      Det är nog inte bara du som haft problem med att WP inte skickar ut mail, jag hoppas verkligen att det börjar fungera nu!

      Visst är hon vacker damen min 🙂

      ha det gott!

      Christer.

      Like

  6. Jag läste och tittade tillbaka så mycket att jag helt glömde bort det viktigaste jag skulle fråga dig! (Måste vara åldern! *fniss*) 🙂
    Eftersom vi ska till fastlandet i år på semester och då – som hastigast, du behöver inte oroa dig – ska åka förbi Falköping så letade jag efter nått kul ställe att äta lunch på. Det jag hittade då var Ållebergs naturreservat med Ållebergs Café. Det ser riktigt intressant ut och när jag sen såg utsikten från matstället så föll jag pladask. 🙂 🙂
    Med tanke på att man har hund som det är trevligt att ta en prommis med i vackra området så tror jag att det kan vara ett perfekt lunchstopp. Alternativet är att åka in i Falköping, inte så kul för Santos. Eller vad säger du? För jag antar att du har varit på Ålleberg (om inte bör du väl kanske åka dit) och kan tipsa mig. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    Like

    1. 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Faktum är att jag inte varit där 🙂 Det ligger lite åt fel håll för mig, oftast åker jag mot Vara/ Lidköping/ Skarahållet. Däremot har jag varit på Mösseberg, där finns det ju promenadvägar, en yttepytte liten djurpark och dessutom en restaurang med en fantastisk utsikt mot Ålleberg 🙂 Inga problem med hundar där heller men kan ju vara lite ljudligt eftersom det finns många barn där.
      Så Åker du till Ålleberg måste du berätta om jag skall åka dit 🙂

      Ha det!

      Christer.

      Like

  7. Christer,
    They have declared drought conditions in most of Massachusetts. The only two spots not part of the drought are the western part of the state and Cape Cod. I’ve been thinking it is really dry here so I can’t imagine what the drought conditions look like.

    Some of the flowers in my front garden attract butterflies. I see them when I go to the car. I should bring my camera, but it is already loaded with pictures even from all winter.

    It is hot again today. It is also quite humid. The air conditioner is on so the house is nice and comfortable. All three pets are sleeping in the cool house. I have to go out and do some errands so I’ll have to face the heat.

    I always figure it is nice to have great weather on a vacation, but any vacation day is good enough!

    Have a great day!!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      I had hoped for more draught like conditions here but no such luck 🙂 but to be honest, it does rain for long periods but most of it is misty rain and that doesn’t give a lot of water. I wouldn’t mind more sunshine just to make things dry up better.

      You really should have a Buddleia, butterflies just love those flowers and I thinm hummingbirds would like it too. It is too cold here a normal winter otherwise I would have several. I’ll buy seeds for more butterfly attrackting flowers till next year.

      We didn’t reach 68F but it wasn’t that bad anyway. Strong winds kept the flies away so all in all the day was quite good 🙂 I must go tothe super market tomorrow, I’ll go early so it’ll be over fast.

      Yes any vacation day is a good day but it would be nice to be able to take longer walks, I never know if we’ll make it home as it is now 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Cindi!

      It isn’t too bad but I’ve just noticed that one can’t click on the photo to mnake it bigger as I know many wants to do. So I’ll keep on looking for a new background but am in no hurry 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

