It’ll be a calm day.

Sleeping Beauty :-)
Sleeping Beauty ๐Ÿ™‚

So this is the first day of my vacation and it starts with strong winds, cloudy skies, high humidity and heavy showers every now and again, just like it always does ๐Ÿ™‚ To be honest though, the sun does show itself for a few seconds every now and again too. I don’t mind that much, this forces me to take it easy so this damned cold will leave me. No coughing toning but sour throat an a voice so hoarse that I couldn’t understand what I was saying to the dogs and cats ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0043 (4)

DSC_0039 (5)

DSC_0042 (5)

I’m much better now though but I know it isn’t over yet. It was still almost cool when we went out for our morning walk but just enough warm for the flies to be able to annoy me a lot, the wind didn’t start until after our walk. Not many horse flies around though and they should be flying around right now, I’m not complaining about it though ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, the annoying flies started so early this year that their season should end early too so I’m hoping we’ll soon see a declining number of those too but I guess I’m not that lucky ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0047 (3)

DSC_0048 (4)

Not many photos taken this morning, so the rest was taken yesterday.
Not many photos taken this morning, so the rest was taken yesterday.

The wasp nest is now completely dead and I did take a look at it yesterday, it is semi big and I’ll leave it there for a while because there are plenty of angry wasp ladies that now have no home to goto but still are prepared to attack anyone trying to damage the home they once had. Too bad I had to kill them because wasps are fantastic fly eaters, something we desperately need out here by the bog. They also eat lots of other pests so having lots of wasps around usually means less pests on fruits and berries and one shouldn’t forget that they also pollinate flowers, a good thing to know now when honeybees are dying out. We need all pollinators we can get or we won’t have anything to eat.

 

Some of the wildflowers we have here. This one also grows in my garden :-)
Some of the wildflowers we have here. This one also grows in my garden ๐Ÿ™‚

DSC_0024 (6)

DSC_0025 (6)

I went to the super market after our morning walk, it is a prefect time to go that early because no one else is ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I walked around there for half an hour and still I was the only one when I wanted to pay and leave. Today I bought two packages of ordinary poppy seeds and one package of Iceland poppy seeds (we call it Siberian poppy). These seeds will be sown in late September or early October (I will remind You Caryn ๐Ÿ™‚ ). The common poppy is an annual but the Iceland poppy is a perennial. Both like much the same conditions and both usually spreads quite a lot. I’ll buy more seeds later but now I know that I at least have a few packages if I should forget ๐Ÿ™‚

 

The Guelderrose will soon have red berries.
The Guelderrose will soon have red berries.

DSC_0029 (6)

They say it is a record year when it comes to wild berries. I believe them, so far this year I've seen three Bilberries and one Blueberry and that is more than I've seen in sixteen years here :-)
They say it is a record year when it comes to wild berries. I believe them, so far this year I’ve seen three Bilberries and one Blueberry and that is more than I’ve seen in total those sixteen years I’ve lived here ๐Ÿ™‚

I also bought a dvd, Deadpool. I’ve heard that it is good so I’m looking forward to see it, possibly already today. It is time for a pot of tea and then a nap, I will rest to death just to win over this cold ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0034 (5)

DSC_0036 (6)

DSC_0038 (5)

 

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “It’ll be a calm day.

  1. that is the funniest pic of sleeping beauty! i finally found you on wordpress. are you staying here now? we have weather i the 90’s with high humidity for as long as i can see. but, i saw the first back to school add today so fall is on the way!

    Like

    1. Hi Joyce!

      I just laughed out lood when I looked at her and thankfully I had my mobile phone close so I could take a photo of her ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes here I’ll stay for around one and a half year, that’s usually the time it takes for me to use all free space. I can’t get blogger to accept my new address tough and I have no idea how to do it! I’ll keep on trying and I’ll put my new address at the end of all my comments on Your blog until I can figure out how to get blogger to accept it.

      I can’t say I like the weather we’rehaving but I have toadmit that it is better than 90F and high humidity ๐Ÿ™‚ I sure hope it will cool down a lot where You live!

      No such adds here yet but autumn is closer than one think.

      Have a great day despite the heat and humidity!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! I laughed out loud when I saw the picture of Nova! Sleeping beauty indeed! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I am sorry to hear that you are still fighting that nasty cold. There is something going around here now too. I had one of my doctors call in sick today – you know its bad when they do!! Today we have very high humidity and threatening skies. It was raining slightly when I woke up but now its just cloudy out. And humid. Welcome to July! I still can’t see an option to read older posts now – can you send me an email to my address to let me know how I can go back? I always like to read your comments but can’t find them anymore! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you had a well rested day….

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I just had to take a photo of her ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so glad I had my phne beside me ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think I’ll have this cold for several more weeks since IO got it in the summer but as long as I don’t cough I won’t complain too much ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yes doctors are never sick accorsing to themselves ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve mailed You!

      High humidity here and fairky warm so it is not especially nice outside and in between a shower passes by. Lots of thunder further north but nothing here so far.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer,
    Thanks in advance for reminding me to plant poppy seeds in September. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll have to look around for seeds. Can I plant wild carrot then too? I can get plenty of those seeds off the plants growing wild on the side of the road. In fact, I remember that I collected a lot last year but I don’t remember where I put them. Figures.

    I love the photo of Sleeping Beauty Nova. So sweet.
    Rocky usually spreads out like that when he sleeps especially if it’s hot. Piki Dog usually curls up in a tight little ball regardless of temperature.

    Happy first day of vacation. Nap all you want and sleep that cold bug into submission. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I’ll tell You when I sow my seeds and I think You can do it at the same time or even later since Your summer is longer. The wild flowers will drop their seeds soon though so I doubt it matters that much when one does it.

      Yes You can sow those seeds at the same time too. They will most likely not flower the first summer because they usually live two years and the first year they grow roots and the second one they flower.

      I just had to take a photo of her sleeping like that ๐Ÿ™‚ Sune can curl up like Piki Dog but he tends to vary how he sleeps, he can spread out like Nova too ๐Ÿ™‚

      I slept so nicely when the phone woke me up because I had gotten a text message, it was impossible to fall asleep again after that. I think I got ten minutes sleep ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. It’s not a very nice way to start a vacation — a cold and rainy day — but then you should have time to relax and watch the Deadpool DVD. The library here was showing the film this spring as part of the Tues night free movie night, but I did not want to see it. I watched a couple of trailers and despite Ryan Reynolds sarcastic remarks, it is a gory movie in many parts and not one I would enjoy.

    Like

    1. Hi Beatrice!

      No it isn’t but at least it helps with this weather. It has been so bad that I wouldnรค’t have been able to do much anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes the movie is gross in many way, fun in many ways and rather odd in lots of ways ๐Ÿ™‚ but I have to admit that I liked it a lot.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

