I did think they were a bit loud.

It is much more pink the second day it's open. It close forever at the end of that second day. I doubt this pink Dandelion ever would become a weed here, it gives few flowers and they only stay open for two days. A good thing for us who collects seeds are that they flower now when the rest of the normal dandelions don't, no cross breeding.
It is much more pink the second day it’s open. It close forever at the end of that second day. I doubt this pink Dandelion ever would become a weed here, it gives few flowers and they only stay open for two days. A good thing for us who collects seeds are that they flower now when the rest of the normal dandelions don’t, no cross breeding.

I woke up way too late to get a chance to see if there was any fog this morning, the sun had already risen high in the sky and it was above 10C (50F) so any eventual fog would have evaporated up in the sky long before I woke up. Still the walk was quite pleasant since the wind was strong enough to keep the flies away. Today will be mostly cloudy with some rain falling later in the day but at the moment I can see the sunshine outside my kitchen door.

 

DSC_0041 (4)

DSC_0042 (4)
Too bad the roof is about to collapse.

DSC_0044 (5)

DSC_0045 (5)

Yesterday I sat here in the kitchen playing mahjong on the laptop when I thought the insects were very loud and it sounded like there were millions of them just beside the kitchen door. So I took a look and realised that there’s a wasp net in the fuse box just to the right of the door πŸ™‚ So I sprayed lots of insecticides towards the fuse box so that the wasps outside would fly away and when they were gone I tried to get lots of it inside the fuse box too, without having to open the side of it. Instead I tried to get it inside the same way the wasps went in and out. I didn’t see a single wasps the entire day after that.

 

DSC_0046 (4)

DSC_0048 (3)

DSC_0049 (3)

We don't cut down the flowers by the roads until they have let go of their seeds. A lot of our more rare flowers love that area and have huge problems living in other places.
We don’t cut down the flowers by the roads until they have let go of their seeds. A lot of our more rare flowers love that area and have huge problems living in other places.

To be sure I’ve managed to kill them I knocked hard on the box and kt turns out there still was plenty of them inside. So I had another go with the poison and in a while I’ll try to get even more of it inside the box. I normally leave all wasps where they are, wasps eats loads of insects so they are truly needed in this area. These ones however had started Β to become a bit aggressive though so they have to go.

 

DSC_0051 (2)

DSC_0052 (1)

DSC_0054 (1)

DSC_0055 (1)

After that we went out for a walk and I was thinking of going dow to the creek, my neighbor the farmer has made a new sheep pasture down there where a friend of his has some of his sheep. We started to get close to the pasture but I did start to wonder how many sheep there might be because they were really loud. I was just walking up a small slope and when we reached the top I realised why I could hear them so well, they had all broken out of the pasture and was now on the way to the village πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ As soon as they saw my dogs and I they turned around and started to walk back to the pasture.

 

DSC_0056 (1)

DSC_0057 (1)

There they were looking for freedome :-)
There they were looking for freedom πŸ™‚
But freedome wasn't that appealing when they saw me and the dogs :-)
But freedom wasn’t that appealing when they saw me and the dogs πŸ™‚

I rarely have my mobile phone with me when I’m out walking, unless I know I’ll walk where it can be hard to reach anyone if something goes bad so I hurried back so I could tell the farmer and by the sound of it those sheep turned around again too πŸ™‚ Everything went well and It sounded as if they were where they are supposed to be this morning.

 

A relative to the American Stink bugs. Not as bad here thankfully but we do call one of the species for Berry farts, they do smell nasty if one happens to pick one when picking berries.
A relative to the American Stink bugs. Not as bad here thankfully but we do call one of the species for Berry farts, they do smell nasty if one happens to pick one when picking berries.

DSC_0023 (4)

DSC_0024 (5)

DSC_0026 (4)

I might actually start mowing the lawn today, the worst parts at least. I’m still too tired by this cold but I can mow my lawn in sections until I’m done with it. Thankfully it will be a strong wind blowing all day otherwise I wouldn’t even consider to do it, those flies would drive me insane before I even had started the mower πŸ™‚ There aren’t lots of flies but the ones that are drives us all insane fast πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0027 (4)

DSC_0032 (4)

DSC_0035 (5)

DSC_0036 (5)

Have a great day!

8 thoughts on “I did think they were a bit loud.

  1. Love your blog. Gives me a peek into another country and escape the politics of my country. The countryside and dogs are beautiful. I think you need to see a doctor if you get so sick again tho’. It might turn into something like pneumonia or strep.

    Like

    1. Hi Joy Atwood and welcome to my blog!

      That’s the great thing with the internet and all our blogs!

      I think this cold finally is calming down πŸ™‚ I could once again sleep all night and haven’t coughed at all today. I agree though, if it comes back one more time I do need to see the doctor otherwise it will kill me one way or the other πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer,
    Great livestock photos this morning. Cows. Horses. Sheep in the meadow more or less. πŸ™‚ And you almost got to be a shepherd with sheep dogs, too.
    I love how the sheep are so casual about escaping. They’re just moseying out the gate like they didn’t even realize it was open. Good thing you caught them. A sheep stampede through the village on a Sunday morning would be most inconvenient.

    Your stink bugs are more attractive than ours. Ours are plain, pale brown.

    I read an article about fireflies that said you shouldn’t mow the lawn for a couple of weeks in early summer so they will have a chance to breed and lay eggs. It’s great when science gives me yet another reason not to mow. πŸ™‚ I’m going to put up a sign that says “Firefly Reclamation Project” and let the grass grow for a bit. πŸ™‚

    We pretty much let the wildflowers go on secondary roadsides, too. At least in those areas that are not privately owned. They actually sow wildflower seeds along the highways where it’s difficult to mow because of the terrain. They sow them here and there in the median strips as well. I love it when those are all in bloom. Those areas are pretty much like the useless pieces of grass in the front of my house. Constant sun and heat reflected from pavement and structures and not a lot of water. I need some of their wildflower seed mix.

    It’s another cool and dull day. The weather person says it’s foggy but here it is only murky. It did rain some last night: about 1/4 of an inch. It’s officially a severe drought here so it can rain some more and I won’t mind.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      Nova is half border collie so who knows, she could actually be good at being a sheep dog πŸ™‚

      We have several of stink bug relatives and some are actually quite beautiful but they have now found one from Asia here in Sweden and it can destroy huge amounts of fruit and berries if more comes along.

      Too bad we don’t have fireflies here πŸ™‚ and I have never seen any of our glowworms either, they are more common in the most southern parts of Sweden. I guess however the same advice would go for them. Still it would be too much daylight here so we wouldn’t see them anyway unless we were out around am πŸ™‚

      They usually let the flowers grow as they please until late this month or early next unless it is a heavily trafficed road just in case animals hide there and just run out in the road in front of the traffic. I guess they suppose we drive slower on all other roads πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think that seed mix would be great here too since I only have sand in the ground here πŸ™‚

      They say we’ll get rain later today and the flies behave insanely so I guess thunder might come along as well. No need for rain here though.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

    1. Hi Cindi!

      I did wonder how many they were since I could hear them so well πŸ™‚ I know they had problems with the wires for the electric fence so my guess is that they didn’t lead any electricity at all and sheep are no fools, no electric no problems to get out πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The wasp nest is now dead but there are plenty of confused and angry waps ladies out there so I’ll leave it for the time being.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Hi Christer! Another busy day for us today. One more load of river stone and putting down patio stones and putting together a fire pit. Then I made dough which turned into pizza for supper and now I am tired!
    I LOVE Mahjong! Its the only game I play rather well but I could only imagine your surprise at the wasps. We had one attached to our motor home last week but luckily it was just a little one starting. They weren’t happy with us as we knocked it to the ground and then we put it in the fire once all the wasps flew away. I am sure they are building it back as we speak! πŸ™‚
    Look at you and the dogs saving the village from stampeding sheeps! πŸ™‚ Well done!

    Today we were very humid and off and on sun. More cloud really. Once again they are predicting storms but who knows. We got nothing yesterday and my husband went chasing tornadoes again yesterday into the evening but everything petered out. Now they are predicting rain until Wednesday. Who knows!

    All I know is that I have to go back to work this week as I did not win the lottery. Bummer πŸ™‚

    I had a good giggle at Caryn’s statement of putting up a firefly reclamation site. That’s funny! πŸ™‚ We have fireflies here but mostly up at the cottage. They are very sweet and whimsical to watch at night. I like being able to see them.

    Have a good Monday!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      Too long since I had pizza, I eat it once or twice a year, I really like pizza but never comes around to eat it :-). Come to think of it I haven’t had pizza in over two years now so it is time now to have one I think πŸ™‚

      The wasp nest is now dead but there are plenty of pissed wasp ladies who have nowhere to go so I’ll leave it where it is for a while. I’ve seen it and it is semi big and I’ll take a photo of it before I remove it.

      I do like mahjong but it is such a long time since I played it with someone else that I’ve started to forget how it is done in reallife πŸ™‚ I play it often on the laptop though πŸ™‚

      Yes stampeeding sheep is something we want to avoid πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can hear that the farmer drives his fourwheeler down there several times a day now πŸ™‚

      The showers comes and goes here now, heavy thunder showers without the thunder at the moment. It is a bit tricky to guess when the beat time for a walk might be πŸ™‚ High humidity as well so it is a bit nasty outside at the moment.

      We have glowworms and it looks much the same as fireflies but I’ve never seen any around here, perhaps I should try to find some and move them here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

