Some areas are just scary :-)

The pink Dandelion has given me a second flower.
The pink Dandelion has given me a second flower.

It is finally here, vacation πŸ™‚ Four weeks of it and I know it will pass way too fast and I’ll be just as tired when it is over as I am now πŸ™‚ I do however hope this nasty cold finally has given up but one never knows when it hits in summer. I thought for a while we had a foggy morning again but as soon as I opened the door for the dogs I realised it was misty rain and lots of it. I didn’t mind because I start working earlier on Fridays so I wouldn’t have had time to take a walk anyway.

 

DSC_0001 (2)

DSC_0002 (2)

DSC_0003 (2)

DSC_0004 (2)

I’m always extra careful when driving to work on the last day before vacation, it is too easy to relax and forget to look out for animals beside the road and it is a good thing I am because today several deers stood there just waiting for a car to come along so they could jump out right in front of it πŸ™‚ This summer I’ve been driving another road to work, it goes just beside the bog and is actually shorter than the other one I take normally but one can’t drive especially fast on this road. It is so narrow that it ‘s a pain to meet other cars on it. Normally I meet only two or three cars but sometimes I meet up to five cars and that’s just annoying πŸ™‚ I’ve realised that people with very tiny cars are the ones that refuse to drive as close to the road edge as they can, it seems they think they are driving a lorry πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0005 (2)

It is a ladybug year this year.
It is a ladybug year this year.

DSC_0008 (2)

Blackberries or as we call them Bear berries. This year we'll get planty ripe ones since they are so early.
Blackberries or as we call them Bear berries. This year we’ll get planty ripe ones since they are so early.

I can feel how people are looking behind their curtains when I drive there, sometimes when they are out talking close to the road I can see how they stop talking and just look at me while I pass, it is a bit X-Files feeling driving there even though the properties along the road is in excellentΒ shape. There is a few places in this county however that is a bit scary to drive through πŸ™‚ It is like X-Files on steroids and every time I have to drive there I hope that the car won’t break down. I don’t think I would get out alive if it did break down πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The homes are in bad shape and there are lost of rusty broken down cars and pickup trucks in many of the properties. I wonder how some areas get like that?

 

DSC_0010 (2)

DSC_0011 (2)

DSC_0012 (2)

They were delicious :-)
They were delicious πŸ™‚

It is time to give all the animals their food and after that I’ll take a nap, after all it is Vacation time πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0017 (2)

The redberried elderberrybush. They are said to not be poisonous but I won't try them :-)
The redberried elderberrybush. They are said to not be poisonous but I won’t try them πŸ™‚
I've finally gotten more poppies but they are all very small.
I’ve finally gotten more poppies but they are all very small.
The Japanese rose.
The Japanese rose.
8 thoughts on “Some areas are just scary :-)

  1. Hi Christer,
    Yay for vacation!
    Boo for deer that like to stand on the side of the road and leap in front of cars. πŸ™‚ They do that here, too. So do moose.
    The worst critters for that are squirrels and chipmunks. In times past, squirrels did this weird thing where they would run across the road in front of a car and then, just to be sure that they had made it safely across, they turned around and ran back. Many got killed that way. One morning, on the way to work, I stopped to let one of these squirrels cross in front of my car. He got to the side of the road, turned and ran back and got hit by a car coming the other way. Another time, I was traveling really fast on a major 4 lane highway when a squirrel suddenly shot out from the median strip and ran across all four lanes. Safely. During rush hour. And the astonishing thing was that he had already crossed 4 lanes on the southbound side which was even heavier traffic.
    Chipmunks stick their tails straight up in the air like the posts on a tram car and run hell bent for leather across the road without looking or stopping. All you see is a tiny brown streak. If they time it right, they live and mostly they do.
    I’ve noticed lately that the squirrels seem to have adopted some of the chipmunk strategy. They still hop and pause to look too much but not many of them are turning around and running back over ground already covered. The cars may have selected out the squirrels with that gene. πŸ™‚

    Cute, tiny, green car. It has a happy expression on its grill. πŸ™‚

    Today is cool, damp and cloudy. It rained some over night which is good. It might rain some more which would be even better as we are in an official drought situation now.

    Napping on vacation is a law, I’m pretty sure.

    Enjoy the day.

    Like

    1. And a weird thing just happened. There was a white background with a nice blue-grey text which I commented on. When I clicked post, it hung for a bit and came back black background with white type. Did I catch you in the act of changing? πŸ™‚

      Like

    2. Hi Caryn!

      Yes Yay for vacation πŸ™‚

      We also have the moose and the wild hogs too but the hogs are usually out of vision and just run straight out into the road. Not so many squirrels on our roads here and the ones I do see usually run all the way and stays there. I think the road kills have cleaned out the squirrels dna here too because I think I’ve only seen one dead squirrels in the 16 years I’ve lived here. We don’t have chipmunks here but I do see the occasional mouse trying to cross the road and they can just turn around like You describe the squirrels do.

      Really nice weather here right now and I hope for a foggy morning tomorrow becayse it looks like the night will be chilly and the morning sunny. So I do hope I wake up early so I can see if there’s fog or not. If there is I’ll take a walk, if not I’ll go back to bed πŸ™‚

      Yes I think it is πŸ™‚ and who wants to break the law πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! Welcome to 4 weeks of bliss! πŸ™‚ I hope it goes really, really slow for you and that you catch up on rest. I get 5 weeks of holidays but cannot take all in one bunch unless I get special permission. I like to break it up during the year, gives me something to look forward to. I just love the X-Files!! One of my most favorite shows of all time!! I am so glad Netflix has the old ones, nothing better than watching a bunch of those! Today we are a mix of sun and cloud and although its humid out its still fairly cool. Such strange weather! Now they are predicting storms for tomorrow night. One will just have to wait and see! I hope to go and pick some strawberries this weekend but who knows with the weather. My tomatoes are growing and I saw this morning lots and lots of raspberries on the bushes. Now if I can only get to them before the birds. Have a good evening! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I’m not sure about bliss but I’ll take anything but work πŸ™‚

      The factory close three weeks every summer but if there are jobs we can do anyway we can take our vacation as we please as long as the factory owner agrees to it and he usually does. I normally take four weeks in the summer and one during christmas. If christmas comes in the middle of the week that week of vacation can be stretched out to last three weeks πŸ™‚ This year however is crappy that way since christmas is on a weekend.

      I did like X-Files but didn’t have the right chanel now when they showed the new episodes and I don’t have netflix either so if I want to see those old episodes again I’ll have to buy the dvd’s. I never missed a single episode back in the days πŸ™‚

      I’ll finally get red currants πŸ™‚ I moved some really old bushes two years ago and cut them down almost entirely. I got five berries last summer and this year I might get almost half a liter πŸ™‚ It is a great raspberry year, even the ones I have in my garden will give berries this summer, they aren’t too yummy though so I rather go out and pick the wild ones, can’t remember when I saw this many before.

      I’ve now eaten my secoind tomato and several more are on the way πŸ™‚ No blueberries though, it was just too dry in my garden when they flowered.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Christer,
    How lucky to have a whole month of vacation. You get to do whatever you want or even do nothing.

    Your route reminded me of the Twilight Zone even more than the X-Files. In the Files you know something weird is going to happen or you’ll meet a person who isn’t a person. In The Twilight Zone what seems real sometimes isn’t. It is far scarier.

    What is odd about that different road is that the people watch you. I’d find that a bit creepy.

    Have a great start to your vacation!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      It is now actually law in the EU that every worker must have at least four weeks of paid vacation. We have five and France has six weeks. Too bad I’m not living in France πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We do however have very few holidays here in Sweden so I think we deserve lots of weeks πŸ™‚

      Yes the Twillight Zone! I had forgotten about that show. They did show it back in the days and they have even showed some of the later productions too but for a reason I can’t understand it never got big here, I liked it a lot though!

      I have to confess that we do the same here, whenever someone new drives around in the village we all look who it is and some even write down the license plates on teh cars, just in case something would happen later on. It is a bit creepy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I still have that cold so it can only get better πŸ™‚

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

