He’s not an autumn dog :-)

dsc_0086-2

It isn’t especially nice today either but it is slightly warmer and so far not a single snowflake mixed in the rain. The wind is slightly weaker and has changed direction just a little bit so it doesn’t hit my cottage any more. I’m not used to the wind hitting my home so when it does it feels rather chilly indoors.

 

It looks much nicer than it was :-)
It looks much nicer than it was 🙂

dsc_0059-7

dsc_0060-6

It took quite some time to convince Albin that it would be a good idea to take a walk in this weather, I actually had to drag him through the entrance 🙂 He had been outside for a few minutes earlier in the morning and that was enough for him to decide hibernation is the way to go during winter 🙂

 

dsc_0062-6

They have left the broken tree as it is because owls use it as a nesting place.
They have left the broken tree as it is because owls use it as a nesting place.

dsc_0065-6

We hadn’t come far after I had unleashed them before he just sat down and wanted to go back home again 🙂 Eventually he did come when I called for him but I decided it was better to turn homewards again, the hunters were out in the forest so we had to turn back soon anyway.

 

It took some time but he finally came running to us after refusing to walk a single footstep more :-)
It took some time but he finally came running to us after refusing to walk a single footstep more 🙂

dsc_0069-6

dsc_0070-6

dsc_0071-7

He wasn’t happy when we came indoors either, he had realised that the weather would be exactly the same even if I opened the kitchen door 🙂 Thankfully I had three raw-hide bones so that has kept him occupied for a while. He is definitely not an autumn dog 🙂  Perhaps he will like snow better, some dogs do love snow but hate rain.

 

dsc_0066-7

dsc_0073-6

dsc_0074-7

I’ll have lots of rose-hip soup today and with it I’ll have some sandwiches made from bread I baked yesterday. I used the electric oven, something I’m not used to but it worked just fine 🙂 I almost never follow recipes when baking bread but I normally have half a litre of some kind of milk, can be anything from normal milk to sour milk or yoghurt or perhaps quark mixed with some water. The flour I use is a mix between wheat flour (around 60%) and rye flour (40%) but the amount can vary between the different brands so it could also be 50/50.

 

dsc_0077-5

dsc_0079-5

dsc_0080-6

This time I tossed in lots of rosemary and oregano too plus a big chunk of cheese that I had and it turned out quite delicious 🙂 Naturally I ate too much of it so I’m not sure I’ll have enough till tomorrow morning 🙂

 

dsc_0081-4

dsc_0083-2

dsc_0084-3

It is time to start making that rose-hip soup and enjoy it in front of the tv 🙂

Have a great day!

 

Three photos from the MInolta 7000.
Three photos from the Minolta 7000.

a19937_034 a19937_035

10 thoughts on “He’s not an autumn dog :-)

    1. Hi Joyce!

      It contains rose-hips that has been grinded to a powder, a little potato flour and some sugar. Do You want a recipe?

      Yers I think he does so I better find some for him. He’s still growing so I better start with one small I think.

      I would have liked this weather if it hadn’t rained.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  1. Hi Christer,
    Albin’s definitely not an autumn dog. At least, not a rainy day in autumn dog. Can’t blame him for looking for the door into summer.
    My dogs don’t like rain or snow if it’s blowing too hard at them and wearing a coat doesn’t fix that. They don’t mind at all if it’s just falling straight.

    I always use recipes for bread and other baked goods because I don’t bake enough to know what’s supposed to go in it and how much. 🙂 In baking, those things are important. Not so much with other kinds of cooking and I rarely use recipes for that. Sometimes the results are great, sometimes meh, very rarely inedible, though. And if I get a great result, I usually forget how I got it. 😦

    Last night the wind came up strong. All night long walnuts were falling off the tree and hitting the roof. It was worse than usual because the wind was whipping the branches so much that the walnuts were being thrown off instead of just dropping nicely. It’s still blowing hard out and the walnuts are still crashing down. I’m not going anywhere near the drip line of those trees. I don’t want get beaned on the head.
    Otherwise, it’s sunny and cold.

    Enjoy the rose hip soup with herbed bread as well as the rest of the day.

    Like

    1. Hi Caryn!

      I can’t blame him either 🙂 I think it mostly is the rain he dislikes and not the cold air so much. This is only the beginning though so he might come to dislike the cold too 🙂

      I can actually follow recipes if it is the first time I make some kind of bread, like the time I had millet in the bread 🙂 or the first time I made a kind of corn bread. Otherwise I bake so much bread that I know more or less how much I want of each thing I put in 🙂 and like You I tend to forget how I did it the last time I made something really yummy 🙂

      Until my walnut tree is big enough and gives nuts I don’tr have any tree near enough to throw anything on my cottage. So I guess it’ll take quite some time till that happens 🙂 I do understand that You don’t want to go close to the trees though, I remember how hard those nuts were 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  2. Hi Christer! Today is a beautiful day here. We are sitting at 10 degrees and its only 2:30 in the afternoon.Everything is drying out after last night’s rain.

    I made bread today too! I used 00 flour. I was given a 50 pound bag of this flour by my boss. He’s fascinated with bread making all of a sudden and he knows that I am the “bread queen” as he puts it, he decided to buy me some. 50 pounds worth!!! 🙂 I have alot of bread and pizza crusts in my future.

    I love the rose hip soup – with vanilla frozen yogurt for sure!!! 🙂 Such a good combo. Tart and sweet. 🙂

    I just took Karma for a long walk and we played in the park across the street from us. She’s really tired now so she will sleep and have more energy for the evening! 🙂

    I am also going to make chili for supper along with cornbread I cook in my cast iron pan. A perfect meal for a fall day!

    Have a good evening!!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dianna!

      I have absolutely no idea what 00 flour is 🙂 🙂 but to get a 50 pound bag is never wrong 🙂 Some people who never really cared about bread or baking can suddenly become more or less obcessed by it, especially if they are true hipsters 🙂 🙂 🙂 I however have baked bread since I was a kid, sometimes because I liked to do it and sometimes because it was cheaper than to buy 🙂

      The rose -hip soup is a favorite of mine but I’m usually too lazy to do it from scratch myself 🙂 It is good as bought powder but really amazing if one make it from fresh rose-hips.

      We took a too short walk today so Albin isn’t happy at all but it was almost pitch black when we came home. He can go outside in the garden any time he so wants so I don’t feel especially sorry for him 🙂

      Too long since I made chilli, I really should do that soon!

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  3. Albin has a strong personality! He really is a beauty,, we have rain snow mix here, too early, but its a good day for soup and bread and your bread and soup sound wonderful,, I have rose hips drying at this moment!

    Like

    1. Hi Laurie!

      He sure has and he’s very stubborn 🙂
      7Normally we should have had at least one big snow storm here by now but time and weather changes but it’s so chilly and nasty outside that it really is soup and bread weather 🙂

      I really should pick all the rose-hipos I have in my garden but the birds love to eat them so I think I won’t.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

  4. Hi Christer,
    The pictures are wonderful, so filled with color. The shots of Albin running are fun with his ears flopping. He does remind me in some ways of Gracie. She, however, will go out in the rain as long as it isn’t torrential. She likes snow, but I have to be careful and make sure the back steps are shoveled. She fell last winter and rolled down the driveway. It scared the heck out of me, but she was fine, just dizzy.

    We also had rain on Sunday, but it cleared by the afternoon. I only knew because Gracie’s coat was damp when she came back inside.

    I’m glad you are getting warmer than expected weather.

    Have a great evening!

    Like

    1. Hi Kat!

      Sometimes when I look at Albin I think Boxer 🙂 His nose is a bit too long though but the rest could be a boxer 🙂 It will be fun to see how he reacts to snow 🙂 Most dogs do like it but one never knows, it could be along winter for him if he doesn’t 🙂 I’m so glad that Nova isn’t older than 7 yet, if she slips and fall she will most likely just rise up and continue to walk.

      The same weather today but with less rian. Everything is still wet though so especially Sune is too when we come back home after a walk.

      We have toi be happy for the smaller things, like warmer than usual 🙂

      have a great day!

      Christer.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.